Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2012, 03:39 PM   #1
hclarkjr
Lifer
 
hclarkjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Hostetter PA USA
Posts: 11,306
Default firefox 17 final released

ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/ni...tup%2017.0.exe
note that this is a release candidate and not the official final. that will be out November 20th
What’s New

  • NEW Click-to-play blocklisting implemented to prevent vulnerable plugin versions from running without the user's permission (see blog post)
  • NEW Mac OS X 10.8: Support for Notification Center
  • CHANGED Updated Awesome Bar experience with larger icons
  • DEVELOPER JavaScript Maps and Sets are now iterable
  • DEVELOPER SVG FillPaint and StrokePaint implemented
  • DEVELOPER Improvements that make the Web Console, Debugger and Developer Toolbar faster and easier to use
  • DEVELOPER New Markup panel in the Page Inspector allows easy editing of the DOM
  • HTML5 Sandbox attribute for iframes implemented, enabling increased security
  • FIXED Over twenty performance improvements, including fixes around the New Tab page
  • FIXED Pointer lock doesn't work in web apps (769150)
  • FIXED Page scrolling on sites with fixed headers (780345)

Known Issues

  • Unresolved If you try to start Firefox using a locked profile, it will crash (see 573369)
  • Unresolved For some users, scrolling in the main GMail window will be slower than usual (see 579260)
  • Unresolved Windows: The use of Microsoft's System Restore functionality shortly after updating Firefox may prevent future updates (see 730285)
__________________
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=2478 205-0-0
Cooler master HAF932, Dell 2408WFP, Gigabyte P67A-UD4 B3 REV. 1.1, Intel core I7 2600K, XIGMATEK SD-1283 Gaia, Intel X25-M G2 160GB,16gb G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 1600mhz,Crossfired Radeon HD6950, Pioneer BDR-205, Samsung SH-S243N 24X DVD-RW, western digital black 2TB,Antec TPQ-850 850W , windows 8.1 pro X64
hclarkjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 05:50 AM   #2
hclarkjr
Lifer
 
hclarkjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Hostetter PA USA
Posts: 11,306
Default

install went fine, only hiccup was my ad block plus quit working. it showed as working and was not disabled but it stopped blocking some ads. had to uninstall it and reinstall to get it to work. other than that no issues
__________________
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=2478 205-0-0
Cooler master HAF932, Dell 2408WFP, Gigabyte P67A-UD4 B3 REV. 1.1, Intel core I7 2600K, XIGMATEK SD-1283 Gaia, Intel X25-M G2 160GB,16gb G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 1600mhz,Crossfired Radeon HD6950, Pioneer BDR-205, Samsung SH-S243N 24X DVD-RW, western digital black 2TB,Antec TPQ-850 850W , windows 8.1 pro X64
hclarkjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:06 PM   #3
nemesismk2
Diamond Member
 
nemesismk2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,382
Default

I am always after better security so this is a good thing
nemesismk2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 05:27 PM   #4
MontyAC
Diamond Member
 
MontyAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,050
Default

Thx, no problem updating.
MontyAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 11:29 PM   #5
Lemon law
Lifer
 
Lemon law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20,991
Default

Bottom line, For the rest of us, it won't show up in automatic firefox updates for two or three days. And by then, some unanticipated defect will show up and require a 17.1 firefox update. As we are forever chasing our tails in a race for calculated obsolesce.
Lemon law is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:37 PM   #6
TJCS
Senior Member
 
TJCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 859
Default

Thanks for the heads up!
__________________
3570K @ 4.4 +.04 | Megahalem | Z77 Extreme4 | 30nm DDR3 @ 2000 | M4 256 | 850HX

TJCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:45 PM   #7
Chiefcrowe
Diamond Member
 
Chiefcrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,584
Default

Thank you.
I like how they are adding the click to play and I hope they eventually build that in for flash no matter which version you use.
Sandbox and performance improvements and security fixes are always welcome!

I wonder when the built in pdf reader will surface?
Chiefcrowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:00 PM   #8
ryrynz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Just add PDF support in yourself, I've been running it for ages.. works well.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:53 AM   #9
berryracer
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 1,884
Default

Here is the final version>>> ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.or.../en-US/Firefox Setup 17.0.exe
__________________
ALIENWARE 18 Laptop
CPU: Intel Core i7-4800MQ CPU @ 3.7 GHz
Memory: 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz DDR3 PC3-14900 RAM
GPU: Dual GeForce GTX 770M SLI 6 GB GDDR5 RAM
Storage: 2x Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:46 AM   #10
happysmiles
Senior Member
 
happysmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 344
Default

it is Nov 20th

mind = blown
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Guaraguao View Post
I do not give a happysmiles.
happysmiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:09 PM   #11
Iron Woode
Lifer
 
Iron Woode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: London, Ontario Canada
Posts: 20,545
Default

it just auto-updated for me.

my theme was incompatible but it found an update.

everything seems to be working correctly.
__________________
My Rigs

When I was four I gave myself a needle and the whole hospital said I got shot when I was 22 and asian. I drove a black honda. - catchphrase

Compare your lives to mine and then kill yourselves
Iron Woode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:27 PM   #12
Gonad the Barbarian
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,958
Default

I updated and the add on page won't open. I click tools/add ons, tools/options/general/manage add ons, and try ctrl+shift+a but nothing happens.

Edit: Looks like Tab Mix Plus is keeping it from opening.
__________________
Say No to job-killing regulations and Yes to people-killing jobs!

Last edited by Gonad the Barbarian; 11-20-2012 at 12:38 PM.
Gonad the Barbarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:44 PM   #13
Chiefcrowe
Diamond Member
 
Chiefcrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,584
Default

Great, it is now on the firefox main download page too!
Chiefcrowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 01:36 PM   #14
nemesismk2
Diamond Member
 
nemesismk2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,382
Default

I just downloaded firefox 17 from the firefox website
nemesismk2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:15 PM   #15
bruceb
Diamond Member
 
bruceb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wayne, New Jersey
Posts: 7,160
Default

Just did the upgrade. Of course, Firefox decided that Google Toolbar is not compatible and also the Firefox 3 Theme For Firefox 4+ it say's is not compatible. I reenabled it and it is fine. Otherwise, update went fine.
bruceb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:20 PM   #16
bruceb
Diamond Member
 
bruceb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wayne, New Jersey
Posts: 7,160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gonad the Barbarian View Post
I updated and the add on page won't open. I click tools/add ons, tools/options/general/manage add ons, and try ctrl+shift+a but nothing happens.

Edit: Looks like Tab Mix Plus is keeping it from opening.
I have the same issue. Did you find a way to fix it ? ? ? Is there some option in
Tab Mix Plus we need to change and if so, which one ? ?

Thanks

Found a fix with an Update to Tab Mix Plus .. see below:

Tab Mix Plus - Version 0.4.0.4pre.120724a Installed

You can get it here: https://bitbucket.org/onemen/tabmixplus/downloads

Last edited by bruceb; 11-20-2012 at 02:33 PM.
bruceb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 03:00 PM   #17
pyonir
Lifer
 
pyonir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Omnipresent
Posts: 40,308
Default

Mine updated fine through the help menu, had zero issues with add-ons or anything else. Thanks for the heads up.
__________________
"To get back my youth I would do anything in the world, except take exercise, get up early, or be respectable." Oscar Wilde, "The Picture of Dorian Gray"

FunTrivia - Yes, I realize it's a referral, but I'd appreciate it. I get a few (useless) points if you sign up.
pyonir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 04:02 PM   #18
Gonad the Barbarian
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,958
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceb View Post
I have the same issue. Did you find a way to fix it ? ? ? Is there some option in
Tab Mix Plus we need to change and if so, which one ? ?

Thanks

Found a fix with an Update to Tab Mix Plus .. see below:

Tab Mix Plus - Version 0.4.0.4pre.120724a Installed

You can get it here: https://bitbucket.org/onemen/tabmixplus/downloads
Thanks, that fixed it for me too.
__________________
Say No to job-killing regulations and Yes to people-killing jobs!
Gonad the Barbarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 07:08 PM   #19
jjsole
Lifer
 
jjsole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Aug 2000
Posts: 27,408
Default

Firefox 18.0b1 released

I'm really liking this one with the new ionmonkey javascript engine. Noticeably quicker in java-rich environments than 17.

However it does break Tab Mix Plus (0.4.0.4pre.120724a) on one of my installs (Portable), but held up on my full install.
jjsole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 02:27 PM   #20
nemesismk2
Diamond Member
 
nemesismk2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjsole View Post
Firefox 18.0b1 released

I'm really liking this one with the new ionmonkey javascript engine. Noticeably quicker in java-rich environments than 17.

However it does break Tab Mix Plus (0.4.0.4pre.120724a) on one of my installs (Portable), but held up on my full install.
I like the sound of ion monkey myself lol
nemesismk2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 07:11 AM   #21
Marksey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Default

After the automatic translate on Firefox was stopped by Google I stopped using Firefox. I haven't went back since, and now with Chrome, though out of Interest, and wihout research - advice from you guys - is that feature back or able to replicate it with a decent addon?
Marksey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.