Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2015
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2012, 02:24 PM   #1
BTRY B 529th FA BN
Lifer
 
BTRY B 529th FA BN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 14,077
Default The purpose of this utility?

Can anyone explain the purpose of this utility?

EVGA SPD utility
__________________
Rig1: Xeon X5690, Asrock X58, Geforce 210 0db, 120Hz 27" 2ms Asus, Cherry MX Blacks, Samsung 128Gb 840 Pro, Vertex2 100Gb, 8x1TB Samsung F3 on a Lian Li HDD Power Controller.
Rig2: Xeon W3690 @ 4.33GHz HT off,
QPI Link 4.0GHz, Uncore 3.6GHz, 1804MHz cl8.8.8.21 tRFC 60 1T, HK 3.0, Swiftech MCR320 Drive Rev3, EVGA 760 Classified, GTX 670, 144Hz 24" 1ms Asus, Cherry MX Reds, Samsung 840 Evo 120Gb, Vertex LE 100Gb, Creative Zx


BTRY B 529th FA BN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 02:45 PM   #2
Elixer
Diamond Member
 
Elixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 7,078
Default

It is so you can alter the SPD of the DIMMs, in case your BIOS don't have a manual way of setting these, it can be done via SPD so the BIOS will autodetect the settings from the SPD.
__________________
The truth is incontrovertible, malice may attack it, ignorance may deride it, but in the end; there it is.

The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter.
Elixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:27 PM   #3
Carson Dyle
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 5,057
Default

I didn't know that could be done. Does it work with all DIMMs? Are there any other (better) utilities for accomplishing this?

I have an ASUS Z77 motherboard and G.SKILL 2x8GB DDR-3 1866 that I run at non-SPD timings. Every time I upgrade the BIOS (which has been almost monthly) the speed is reset to 1333 MHz and the timings all reset to Auto. I'd love to not have to deal with that any more.
Carson Dyle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:59 PM   #4
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 32,789
Default

according to the directions, it does NOT flash the actual spd on the dimms.

however, I have read that is possible to do this, with a different utility.
__________________
Acer CloudBook AO1-131 | Intel Celeron N3050 "Cherry Trail" dual | 2GB DDR3L | 32GB eMMC | Intel HD graphics
Gigabyte Brix J1900 (3x) | Intel Celeron J1900 "Bay Trail" quad | GSkill 8GB DDR3L-1600 CAS9 | 300GB Intel 320 Series SSD | Intel HD graphics
ASRock Z170 Pro4S ATX (2x) | Intel Pentium G4400 "Skylake" @ 4.455Ghz | 2x4GB Avexir DDR4-2400 | Samsung SM951 128GB M.2 AHCI SSD | AMD Radeon HD 7950 3GB
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:04 PM   #5
razel
Golden Member
 
razel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sunny Los Angeles
Posts: 1,726
Default

In the laptop world where the majority of BIOS's don't allow you to choose memory timings and just use SPD, the popular ones are: Thaiphoon Burner and SPDTool. Most use Thaiphoon (a paid app) to read and grab the SPD data then use SPDTool (a free app) to write it to the DIMM.

So far it works on every laptop DIMM I used. However, it's not just the DIMM, but also a question of whether it'll work on your computer as well. The best way to answer is to simply run the program yourself and see if you can read. You are not forced to write.

If you are interested, check the 'SO-DIMMs Extreme' thread on the notebookreview forum. In the desktop world, especially self made PCs, where the BIOSs often allow you to choose timings, changing the SPD is not as necessary.

Last edited by razel; 11-17-2012 at 04:10 PM.
razel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:20 PM   #6
Carson Dyle
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 5,057
Default

I downloaded SPDTool, but it hasn't been updated since 2007 and wasn't able to see the DIMMs.
Carson Dyle is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.