Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > All Things Apple

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2012, 08:07 PM   #1
TangoJuliet
Diamond Member
 
TangoJuliet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,367
Default Command & Conquer for iOS/Mac?

I got a craving to play some Generals....did they ever make any of the games for mac? I tried the app store and steam but neither had any results. Played C&C:3 a long time ago and wouldnt mind playing it again.
TangoJuliet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 12:46 PM   #2
Syrome
Member
 
Syrome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 105
Default

I dont believe they made it for Mac but you can always run bootcamp or parallels to play the game. I personally loved that game and still have the old discs.
Syrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 01:28 PM   #3
TangoJuliet
Diamond Member
 
TangoJuliet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syrome View Post
I dont believe they made it for Mac but you can always run bootcamp or parallels to play the game. I personally loved that game and still have the old discs.
I had both installed years ago but dumped them and haven't looked back. Don't really want to install either again just to play a game from time to time.

Oh well
TangoJuliet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:47 PM   #4
slashbinslashbash
Golden Member
 
slashbinslashbash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TangoJuliet View Post
I had both installed years ago but dumped them and haven't looked back. Don't really want to install either again just to play a game from time to time.

Oh well
For oldschool, non-intensive gaming like that, it might be less of a hassle to just buy an old PC laptop running XP. I know I've got several old Windows machines that I keep around for gaming (even though I do have Parallels on my MBP). You could probably pick one up for $100-$200 that will be plenty powerful enough to play Generals and such.

I love those games too.... I played the crap out of RA and RA2 back in the day. Now I've got the "First Decade" collection with like 10 games/addon packs for $20. Great deal, and apparently they're coming out with another collection with even more games.
__________________
MacBook Pro|2.2GHz Quad-Core i7|Radeon 6750 1GB|16GB|750GB|Parallels|Win7HP
Mac Pro|2xXeon 5150|12GB|128GB 840 + 2x1.5TB|Radeon 5770|Dell 2407WFP+2007FP
ASUS P5B|E6550|2GB|1.5TB|Radeon 280X|Win7HP
Canon 5D|40D|17-40L|24-105L|70-200L|50/1.4|85/1.8|100/2.8 Macro|580EX|430EX|AlienBees

The Left is not merely gauche; it is downright sinister.
slashbinslashbash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:10 AM   #5
TangoJuliet
Diamond Member
 
TangoJuliet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,367
Default

Is there anything similar that is on OSX that I can try out? I'd prefer to buy directly from the mac app store.

Thanks
TangoJuliet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:32 AM   #6
radioouman
Diamond Member
 
radioouman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8,628
Default

Since you mentioned iOS in the subject, you can get Red Alert for iOS. Tough to play on the phone but kind of fun on an iPad.
radioouman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:35 AM   #7
Tyranicus
Senior Member
 
Tyranicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Default

There were Mac versions of Command & Conquer 3 and Red Alert 3 for Mac, but it seems they are no longer available. There was a Mac version of Generals as well, but it was PPC-only.
__________________
MacBook Pro - 2.6GHz i7 - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 768GB SSD - GT 650M 1GB - 15.4" 2880x1800 Screen - OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1

Desktop - Gigabyte X58A-UD3R - 3.1GHz i7 950 - 12GB (6x2GB) DDR3 1600 - 17.25TB Combined HDD - GTX 670 4GB - OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1 - Gateway FHD2400 24" 1920x1200 Display - Razer Black Widow Mechanical Keyboard - Logitech Performance MX Mouse

Last edited by Tyranicus; 11-20-2012 at 10:46 AM.
Tyranicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:45 AM   #8
TangoJuliet
Diamond Member
 
TangoJuliet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyranicus View Post
There were Mac versions of Command & Conquer 3 and Red Alert 3 for Mac, but it seems they are no longer made. There was a Mac version of Generals as well, but it was PPC-only.
Where can I get C&C3?? I looked on ebay, amazon, etc and it sells for like $200
TangoJuliet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:45 AM   #9
TangoJuliet
Diamond Member
 
TangoJuliet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radioouman View Post
Since you mentioned iOS in the subject, you can get Red Alert for iOS. Tough to play on the phone but kind of fun on an iPad.
Wasn't really a big fan of the RA games
TangoJuliet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:46 AM   #10
Tyranicus
Senior Member
 
Tyranicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TangoJuliet View Post
Where can I get C&C3?? I looked on ebay, amazon, etc and it sells for like $200
I don't think you can get it legally anywhere. EA's Origin store is supposedly coming to the Mac soon, so it may be available when that happens.
__________________
MacBook Pro - 2.6GHz i7 - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 768GB SSD - GT 650M 1GB - 15.4" 2880x1800 Screen - OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1

Desktop - Gigabyte X58A-UD3R - 3.1GHz i7 950 - 12GB (6x2GB) DDR3 1600 - 17.25TB Combined HDD - GTX 670 4GB - OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1 - Gateway FHD2400 24" 1920x1200 Display - Razer Black Widow Mechanical Keyboard - Logitech Performance MX Mouse
Tyranicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:12 PM   #11
bearxor
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 6,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TangoJuliet View Post
Where can I get C&C3?? I looked on ebay, amazon, etc and it sells for like $200
I found pc versions for like two bucks. Mac versions for about $45. You got me excited there for a minute. I was really about to list my c&c3!

EA is also selling a new C&C bundle for $50 that you can get for like $45 off amazon. Maybe one day someone will include an updated sole survivor in these collections.

Honestly, I'd just load up a XP VM and play it that way.
__________________
This post paid for by the committee to re-invade Vietnam.
bearxor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:13 PM   #12
bearxor
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 6,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TangoJuliet View Post
Wasn't really a big fan of the RA games
I think RA2 was the best C&C game. RA3 really jumped the shark though.
__________________
This post paid for by the committee to re-invade Vietnam.
bearxor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:15 PM   #13
dawks
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 5,029
Default

These games a simple enough you could easily run them in a Windows XP VM with Fusion or Parallels.
dawks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:25 PM   #14
TangoJuliet
Diamond Member
 
TangoJuliet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bearxor View Post
I found pc versions for like two bucks. Mac versions for about $45. You got me excited there for a minute. I was really about to list my c&c3!

EA is also selling a new C&C bundle for $50 that you can get for like $45 off amazon. Maybe one day someone will include an updated sole survivor in these collections.

Honestly, I'd just load up a XP VM and play it that way.
Yeah the PC version is cheap. Its the mac version that I saw used $50 and new for $200.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bearxor View Post
I think RA2 was the best C&C game. RA3 really jumped the shark though.
what? with the aliens at the end? or with the mighty fine acting by ironsides?
TangoJuliet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:18 PM   #15
bearxor
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 6,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TangoJuliet View Post
what? with the aliens at the end? or with the mighty fine acting by ironsides?
I think you're thinking about C&C 3: Tiberium Wars.

But I'm speaking more from the gameplay perspective. Red Alert 2 was awesome. C&C3 was really good too. Red Alert 3 was just... There are no words...
__________________
This post paid for by the committee to re-invade Vietnam.
bearxor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 07:07 AM   #16
TheStu
Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Posts: 11,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bearxor View Post
I think you're thinking about C&C 3: Tiberium Wars.

But I'm speaking more from the gameplay perspective. Red Alert 2 was awesome. C&C3 was really good too. Red Alert 3 was just... There are no words...
Red Alert 3 was definitely weird after the greatness that was Red Alert 2. As for C&C3. It was pretty good, definitely felt more like RA2 than C&C2 did to me. Wish that there was more of a market for RTSs, Age of Empires, Warcraft 2, Empire Earth, Rise of Nations, Red Alert and C&C... those were my jams growing up.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
The 6770M can play Crysis 2, for suitably small values of play
TheStu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 07:49 AM   #17
bearxor
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 6,343
Default

C&C2 is another weird one... Tiberian Sun is probably the worst C&C RTS, IMO. RA3 is bad, but it kind of becomes so over the top that it's somewhat enjoyable.

The cycle of releases were just kind of off. C&C was groundbreaking, but then RA came out and refined it even further. Then they tried a bunch of new stuff in TS that wasn't implemented very well and super-refined it in RA2 and it was awesome. C&C3 was more of a further refinement of RA2 gameplay-wise.

RA was originally just supposed to be a kind of one off alternate story that provided back story for the main C&C games, but that was abandoned with RA2. It's just kind of weird to me that the RA series has (almost) always outshined the core C&C series.

Seriously, Tango, if you haven't played RA2, you should. You don't need to play RA1 because RA2 essentially breaks the story tie with the Tiberium C&C universe (unlike RA1 which is in the Tiberium timeline).
__________________
This post paid for by the committee to re-invade Vietnam.
bearxor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 08:13 AM   #18
TangoJuliet
Diamond Member
 
TangoJuliet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bearxor View Post
I think you're thinking about C&C 3: Tiberium Wars.
yeah, my bad.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bearxor View Post
Seriously, Tango, if you haven't played RA2, you should. You don't need to play RA1 because RA2 essentially breaks the story tie with the Tiberium C&C universe (unlike RA1 which is in the Tiberium timeline).
I'm at work so I can't check but is RA2 available for mac? in the app store or on steam?
TangoJuliet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 08:25 AM   #19
Tyranicus
Senior Member
 
Tyranicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TangoJuliet View Post
I'm at work so I can't check but is RA2 available for mac? in the app store or on steam?
No.
__________________
MacBook Pro - 2.6GHz i7 - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 768GB SSD - GT 650M 1GB - 15.4" 2880x1800 Screen - OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1

Desktop - Gigabyte X58A-UD3R - 3.1GHz i7 950 - 12GB (6x2GB) DDR3 1600 - 17.25TB Combined HDD - GTX 670 4GB - OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1 - Gateway FHD2400 24" 1920x1200 Display - Razer Black Widow Mechanical Keyboard - Logitech Performance MX Mouse
Tyranicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 08:42 AM   #20
TheStu
Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Posts: 11,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TangoJuliet View Post
yeah, my bad.



I'm at work so I can't check but is RA2 available for mac? in the app store or on steam?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyranicus View Post
No.
Correct ^

But there is another issue, which is that last time I tried to re-install Red Alert 2, but it wouldn't launch in Windows 7 and I don't it will work in Windows 8 either.

You might be able to run it in Crossover.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
The 6770M can play Crysis 2, for suitably small values of play
TheStu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 08:50 AM   #21
TangoJuliet
Diamond Member
 
TangoJuliet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheStu View Post
Correct ^

But there is another issue, which is that last time I tried to re-install Red Alert 2, but it wouldn't launch in Windows 7 and I don't it will work in Windows 8 either.

You might be able to run it in Crossover.
I have no plans to install bootcamp or a VM....so my only hope is that it becomes available on EA's origin.
TangoJuliet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 09:19 AM   #22
bearxor
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 6,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TangoJuliet View Post
I have no plans to install bootcamp or a VM....so my only hope is that it becomes available on EA's origin.
Yeah, I wouldn't be holding my breath.
__________________
This post paid for by the committee to re-invade Vietnam.
bearxor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 09:31 AM   #23
TheStu
Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Posts: 11,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TangoJuliet View Post
I have no plans to install bootcamp or a VM....so my only hope is that it becomes available on EA's origin.
Well, crossover isn't a VM, it is more like Wine (actually I think it basically is Wine) from Linux. A way to bundle the windows executable and supporting files and allow it to be launched on not-windows.

Because, like bearxor said, I wouldn't hold my breath for a mac port on Origin.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
The 6770M can play Crysis 2, for suitably small values of play
TheStu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 08:17 PM   #24
bearxor
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 6,343
Default

If anyone is interested, Origin has the C&C Ultimate collection for $25. This has updated all the games to be Win7 compatible.

I'm going to play me some Renegade!
__________________
This post paid for by the committee to re-invade Vietnam.
bearxor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 08:22 PM   #25
TheStu
Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Posts: 11,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bearxor View Post
If anyone is interested, Origin has the C&C Ultimate collection for $25. This has updated all the games to be Win7 compatible.

I'm going to play me some Renegade!
Damn, I'm torn between my general distaste with Origin, and my desire to play Red Alert 2 again... even if it means buying it for the third (fourth?) time.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
The 6770M can play Crysis 2, for suitably small values of play
TheStu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.