Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Home Theater PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2012, 12:46 PM   #1
thestrangebrew1
Golden Member
 
thestrangebrew1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,405
Default Can I use WHS2011 as an HTPC OS?

So can I? Using my PS3 to stream and ran into Cinavia so I'd like to just use my existing server as an htpc. Will this cause problems? Looking into using xbmc as well.
__________________
Rig: i7 2700k, asrock extreme 4 gen3, 60 gb OCZ Vertex ssd, 128 gb Plextor M3 ssd, samsung spinpoint 1tb hd, 16gb gskill sniper series, EVGA GTX 670 FTW, antec hcg 750w psu

Server: Intel g630, Biostar H61, 4gb gskill ram, antec 400w eco psu
thestrangebrew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:32 PM   #2
zerogear
Diamond Member
 
zerogear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 5,330
Default

Maybe run it virtualized will minimize any impact on the server stability?
__________________
My Heatware
zerogear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:41 PM   #3
nextJin
Golden Member
 
nextJin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Korea
Posts: 1,814
Default

I actually don't know, interested to find out myself.
__________________
"The world reacts by asking: if you cannot count on international law, then you must find other ways to ensure your security. Thus a growing number of countries seek to acquire weapons of mass destruction. This is logical: if you have the bomb, no one will touch you. We are left with talk of the need to strengthen nonproliferation, when in reality this is being eroded." - Vladimir Putin
nextJin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:51 PM   #4
thestrangebrew1
Golden Member
 
thestrangebrew1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerogear View Post
Maybe run it virtualized will minimize any impact on the server stability?
I don't even know what this means lol. I may tinker around with this this wknd sometime just to see how it works. I'm pretty sure there's an xbmc add on for it, but I guess if I need to, I'll install win7. Anyone running 8 on an htpc?
__________________
Rig: i7 2700k, asrock extreme 4 gen3, 60 gb OCZ Vertex ssd, 128 gb Plextor M3 ssd, samsung spinpoint 1tb hd, 16gb gskill sniper series, EVGA GTX 670 FTW, antec hcg 750w psu

Server: Intel g630, Biostar H61, 4gb gskill ram, antec 400w eco psu
thestrangebrew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 11:00 PM   #5
stevech
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 203
Default

WHS now a days is worse that rocks in both shoes.
stevech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:36 AM   #6
assassin24
HTPC Moderator
 
assassin24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevech View Post
WHS now a days is worse that rocks in both shoes.
Why? I think WHS 2011 is a great and inexpensive OS for a server.
assassin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:14 PM   #7
el-Capitan
Senior Member
 
el-Capitan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 465
Default

WHS 2011 is great, especially when considering its only $50.

I'd be surprised if it is suitable for an HTPC though. Would expect many multimedia features not supported or lacking compatibility.

Maybe you can consider upgrading the WHS to Windows 8?
__________________
Games : Fractal Define Mini | i5-2500k@4.4 | Hyper 212+ | 6950 2GB | P8Z77-M | 8GB 1333 | Xonar DX | 840 EVO 250GB | 2TB WDC Black | Seasonic 620W | Win 8.1 WMC
HTPC : Moneual Moncaso 312S | i3-2105 | Shuriken | Z68MA-D2H-B3 | 8GB 1333 | 2x120GB SSD RAID 0 | BD-ROM | Ceton infiniTV 4 | OCZ 500W | Win 8.1 WMC
Server : Fractal Node 304 | Pentium G3220 | Asrock B85M-ITX | 8GB 1333 | Crucial 120GB SSD | 3x 2TB RAID 5 | Seasonic 330W | WS2012E.R2
el-Capitan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 07:37 PM   #8
nusyo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 97
Default

I tried WHS for my HTPC (not 2011 though) and like el-Capitan said, it lacks in multimedia features (can't install codecs, or limited support).

As far as I know when you run Win7 in a virtual environment (virtualpc) you loose hardware acceleration (GPU)
__________________
.:: ::.
nusyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 09:00 PM   #9
assassin24
HTPC Moderator
 
assassin24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 392
Default

Its often $40 with code or coupon which makes it even better for a server OS since its basically based off Win7 x64.
assassin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:31 AM   #10
thestrangebrew1
Golden Member
 
thestrangebrew1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by el-Capitan View Post
WHS 2011 is great, especially when considering its only $50.

I'd be surprised if it is suitable for an HTPC though. Would expect many multimedia features not supported or lacking compatibility.

Maybe you can consider upgrading the WHS to Windows 8?
I thought about doing this and then I realized that I have a 64bit W7 license currently not in use since I upgraded my main rig to w8. So I'll just use that to slap into an htpc build I'm considering. I'll be posting a new thread on some questions I have about some existing hardware and parts.
__________________
Rig: i7 2700k, asrock extreme 4 gen3, 60 gb OCZ Vertex ssd, 128 gb Plextor M3 ssd, samsung spinpoint 1tb hd, 16gb gskill sniper series, EVGA GTX 670 FTW, antec hcg 750w psu

Server: Intel g630, Biostar H61, 4gb gskill ram, antec 400w eco psu
thestrangebrew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.