Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2015
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2012, 12:09 PM   #1
Diamond Member
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 9,791
Default HP Multimedia PC / WinXP MCE Question

Was there a rule saying Windows XP Media Center machines had to have two hard drives to get the certification sticker? Or something similar?

I was happily chugging away with my homebrew, and the corporate boxes at work never were anything fancy, so I missed it when it was happening, and I feel left out, like I missed out on history in the making.

But I've had to deal with a few Home Media PCs (or whatever the branding was) recently, all HPs, that had two identical hard drives. (built in the 2006-2008 range). Users being users, the second hard drive was empty and unused in every case. They were not RAIDed, no backups were occurring, they were just sitting there.

Was this a thing they did? Why? Why not RAID them at the factory? Or why not a single bigger drive?
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 16GB RAM / GTX 970 / Samsung EVO 840 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05.
FreeBSD Server: SuperMicro X10SLM-F / Pentium G3250 / 16GB ECC DDR3 / 4x Toshiba DT01ACA200, 3x DT01ACA300, 1x DT01ABA200 / Fractal Node 804
dave_the_nerd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:55 PM   #2
Elite Member
Zap's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378

It was probably to hit a certain capacity point at the cheapest cost possible. For instance, right now it is probably cheaper to get two 2TB drives than it is to get one 4TB drive. Specifications such as MHz (less these days), amount of RAM, amount of VRAM and amount of HDD space are bullet points when selling a computer.
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.