Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2012, 10:31 PM   #1
Mars999
Senior Member
 
Mars999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 304
Default Linux(Mint) and SSD

If I install the latest Linux Mint will TRIM be enabled automatically for my SSD? I am a total noobie with Linux so any install guide for SSD/Geforce drivers ect. would be greatly appreciated!
__________________
Intel Core i7 4771 | Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UDH5 | ASUS Radeon R9 280X DCII 3GB | Noctua NH-U14S | 2x Noctua NF-A14 FLX | Noctua NF-F12 | G.SKILL Ares 32GB (4 x 8GB) 1.5v | Plextor M3S 256GB | 4x OCZ Vector 256GB | VelociRaptor 500GB 64MB | ASUS DVD Burner 24X | Pioneer 15X BD-R | COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper | SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold | Gigabyte Aivia Osmium (Brown Cherry MX) | Mad Catz Rat 7 | 2x LG 27EA63-P LED/IPS | Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
Mars999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 10:48 PM   #2
masteryoda34
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,381
Default

I believe it is not automatic and you need to add the "discard" option to your fstab.

https://***********************/ligh...orssdsonubuntu

EDIT: I can't post this link here?

Last edited by masteryoda34; 11-14-2012 at 10:50 PM. Reason: link broken
masteryoda34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 10:49 PM   #3
lxskllr
Lifer
 
lxskllr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 37,940
Default

Checkout this thread. I don't have an SSD, but the instructions here look reasonable...

http://forum.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=90&t=79503
lxskllr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:27 AM   #4
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Last I checked, which admittedly has been a while, the kernel doesn't do TRIM by default because sending a TRIM command with every delete is very inefficient and could hurt performance more than it's helping. I just setup a cron job to run the fstrim command on the filesystems on my SSD nightly to take care of it.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 09:42 AM   #5
Mars999
Senior Member
 
Mars999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 304
Default

So now I am confused... DO I get a SSD or just run a HDD for my Linux install? I don't want the SSD failing after a year due to unnecessary writes...

Thanks!
__________________
Intel Core i7 4771 | Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UDH5 | ASUS Radeon R9 280X DCII 3GB | Noctua NH-U14S | 2x Noctua NF-A14 FLX | Noctua NF-F12 | G.SKILL Ares 32GB (4 x 8GB) 1.5v | Plextor M3S 256GB | 4x OCZ Vector 256GB | VelociRaptor 500GB 64MB | ASUS DVD Burner 24X | Pioneer 15X BD-R | COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper | SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold | Gigabyte Aivia Osmium (Brown Cherry MX) | Mad Catz Rat 7 | 2x LG 27EA63-P LED/IPS | Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
Mars999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 10:00 AM   #6
Ken g6
Elite Member
 
Ken g6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 8,739
Default

I have an SSD, but my mobo doesn't have TRIM support, so I mix things up a bit:

1. My root filesystem is on the SSD.
2. /var is a partition on my HDD, to minimize SSD writes.
3. A lot of other things that either get frequent writes or have large amounts of data are either soft links to a HDD partition or bind mounts.
4. Oh, and /tmp is a ramdisk. (Programs which need lots of temp space should be using /var/tmp.)
__________________
Look for really BIG primes with TeAm AnandTech PrimeGrid!
Next race: October 4-9
Ken g6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 10:03 AM   #7
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars999 View Post
So now I am confused... DO I get a SSD or just run a HDD for my Linux install? I don't want the SSD failing after a year due to unnecessary writes...

Thanks!
I think you're being paranoid. I've been running Debian on an SSD for at least a year and the Media_Wearout_Indicator is still at 99%.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 11:02 AM   #8
lxskllr
Lifer
 
lxskllr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 37,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothinman View Post
I think you're being paranoid. I've been running Debian on an SSD for at least a year and the Media_Wearout_Indicator is still at 99%.
SSDs aren't as delicate as many think. Unless you're doing something weird, the technology will be obsolete before they wear out(barring defect).
lxskllr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.