Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Cases & Cooling

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2012, 02:51 PM   #1
exier591
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5
Default Cpu_0_rpm

Hi all. I kinda need some help with my new CPU cooler.
I recently bought the Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVO and installed 2 Corsair SP 120 fans for push pull config and it works great, it keeps my CPU cool and the airflow is great. Now my problem is that the motherboard and some other software I use to monitor the fan speed says I don't have fans for the CPU or not spinning at all but I can hear them running wild and loud at 100%. I disabled the CPU fan monitoring on the BIOS since it wont let me onto windows if I don't turn it off.



This is my first computer build so please go easy on me (:
exier591 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 04:26 PM   #2
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

You need to plug one of the fans into the fan header labeled "CPU" on the motherboard.
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 04:30 AM   #3
exier591
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zap View Post
You need to plug one of the fans into the fan header labeled "CPU" on the motherboard.
Aye I already did that. The fan is running, I'm sure of that, I even stick my finger into it to make it stop and run again - but the board/monitoring software still don't see any fan or says its not spinning at all.
exier591 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:51 AM   #4
dawp
Diamond Member
 
dawp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: here until I move again
Posts: 6,686
Default

what motherboard?
__________________
We Have Met The Enemy and He Is Us

ASUS p8z77 v, i7 3770k, crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB, XFX HD7970 Black Edition
dawp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 09:45 AM   #5
SpeedTester
Senior Member
 
SpeedTester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: South Kingstown, RI
Posts: 995
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by exier591 View Post
Hi all. I kinda need some help with my new CPU cooler.
I recently bought the Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVO and installed 2 Corsair SP 120 fans for push pull config and it works great, it keeps my CPU cool and the airflow is great. Now my problem is that the motherboard and some other software I use to monitor the fan speed says I don't have fans for the CPU or not spinning at all but I can hear them running wild and loud at 100%. I disabled the CPU fan monitoring on the BIOS since it wont let me onto windows if I don't turn it off.



This is my first computer build so please go easy on me (:
Are you sure you have the fan connected to the right header? It should have a little label
next to the fan header called cpu0 or something like that. its most likely a 4 pin connector that you can plug a 3 pin fan into. I'm thinking you overlooked the header and although all fans are running you don't have one attached to the main cpu header. let us know your motherboard model and we can narrow it down.
__________________
-Tonestire

CPU's: i7 2600k @ 4.8Ghz, i7 3770k@ 4.6Ghz, i7 4770k @4.5Ghz
Video: Evga 670 @ 1150, Evga 560TI 448, Evga 560Ti
Storage: Crucial M4 256Gb X 2, Crucial M4 128GB, Crucial M4 64Gb, WD Black 1TB x 8
Cases: Antec 182 Gunmetal, Antec 300, Antec 300 V2. Noct D14, h80i's
SpeedTester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 01:02 PM   #6
exier591
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dawp View Post
what motherboard?
This one
http://usa.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD...A99FX_PRO_R20/


Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedTester View Post
Are you sure you have the fan connected to the right header? It should have a little label
next to the fan header called cpu0 or something like that. its most likely a 4 pin connector that you can plug a 3 pin fan into. I'm thinking you overlooked the header and although all fans are running you don't have one attached to the main cpu header. let us know your motherboard model and we can narrow it down.
Here is my motherboard
http://usa.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD...A99FX_PRO_R20/

And yes I am sure I have it plugged in on the CPU header.
exier591 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 01:25 PM   #7
SpeedTester
Senior Member
 
SpeedTester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: South Kingstown, RI
Posts: 995
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by exier591 View Post
This one
http://usa.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD...A99FX_PRO_R20/




Here is my motherboard
http://usa.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD...A99FX_PRO_R20/

And yes I am sure I have it plugged in on the CPU header.
Do you have another fan to test the header? Maybe your have a bum fan sensor.
__________________
-Tonestire

CPU's: i7 2600k @ 4.8Ghz, i7 3770k@ 4.6Ghz, i7 4770k @4.5Ghz
Video: Evga 670 @ 1150, Evga 560TI 448, Evga 560Ti
Storage: Crucial M4 256Gb X 2, Crucial M4 128GB, Crucial M4 64Gb, WD Black 1TB x 8
Cases: Antec 182 Gunmetal, Antec 300, Antec 300 V2. Noct D14, h80i's
SpeedTester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:24 AM   #8
dawp
Diamond Member
 
dawp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: here until I move again
Posts: 6,686
Default

I'd try the fans on different headers, such as the 2 labeled CHA_FAN1 and CHA_FAN2 by the audio jacks and see if they register fan speed in bios.

it may be an issue since the cpu fans headers are expecting pwm signals and not getting it.
__________________
We Have Met The Enemy and He Is Us

ASUS p8z77 v, i7 3770k, crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB, XFX HD7970 Black Edition
dawp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:24 PM   #9
exier591
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5
Default

I just found out that the Corsair SP 120 is not a PWM fan and only has a 3 pin connector - thats why the motherboard can't detect the RPM speed of the fan and says its not spinning. I switched back to the stock fan of the Hyper 212 Evo and its working now, I mean I'm getting fan speed and able to control it now. For now I'll stick with it until I find a decent static pressure PWM fan to replace it with.

Thanks for the help everyone
exier591 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:09 PM   #10
SpeedTester
Senior Member
 
SpeedTester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: South Kingstown, RI
Posts: 995
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by exier591 View Post
I just found out that the Corsair SP 120 is not a PWM fan and only has a 3 pin connector - thats why the motherboard can't detect the RPM speed of the fan and says its not spinning. I switched back to the stock fan of the Hyper 212 Evo and its working now, I mean I'm getting fan speed and able to control it now. For now I'll stick with it until I find a decent static pressure PWM fan to replace it with.

Thanks for the help everyone
Correct me if I'm wrong, but since the fan is a 3 wire fan the yellow wire monitors the rpms and should still report it spinning, and the blue wire on a pwn fan controls the speed, correct?
__________________
-Tonestire

CPU's: i7 2600k @ 4.8Ghz, i7 3770k@ 4.6Ghz, i7 4770k @4.5Ghz
Video: Evga 670 @ 1150, Evga 560TI 448, Evga 560Ti
Storage: Crucial M4 256Gb X 2, Crucial M4 128GB, Crucial M4 64Gb, WD Black 1TB x 8
Cases: Antec 182 Gunmetal, Antec 300, Antec 300 V2. Noct D14, h80i's
SpeedTester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 05:33 PM   #11
exier591
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedTester View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong, but since the fan is a 3 wire fan the yellow wire monitors the rpms and should still report it spinning, and the blue wire on a pwn fan controls the speed, correct?
I don't really know that much about it so I cant say. It can't read the RPMs when I connect it into any of the motherboard's [I'm talking about the Corsair SP 120 fan] 4 pin fan headers and the fans are running at full speed since I can't control their speed. ~.~

I'll stick with the stock fan of the Hyper 212 for now till I get a better 4 pin PWM fan.
exier591 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.