Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2012, 02:53 PM   #1
berryracer
Golden Member
 
berryracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 1,880
Angry GMAIL not compatible with Firefox anymore?

Recently, I've had a myriad of errors when trying to upload attachments to an email in GMAIL with Firefox, but with Chrome, it always works

When I upload any image let's say, it instantly gives me an error message saying "upload failed" but with Chrome it works flawlessly. I think Google is trying to force people to switch to Chrome
__________________
ALIENWARE 18 Laptop
CPU: Intel Core i7-4800MQ CPU @ 3.7 GHz
Memory: 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz DDR3 PC3-14900 RAM
GPU: Dual GeForce GTX 770M SLI 6 GB GDDR5 RAM
Storage: 2x Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:55 PM   #2
Chiefcrowe
Diamond Member
 
Chiefcrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,505
Default

Must be your setup, it worked fine for me, just tested it.
Chiefcrowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:56 PM   #3
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 6,706
Default

No issues here. Just tried it. Are you running the latest version? I am on 16.0.2.
__________________
Intel i5-2500k | Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Western Digital Black 1TB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:05 PM   #4
berryracer
Golden Member
 
berryracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 1,880
Default

Running the latest version always now it's 16.0.2

The only tweak I do always when I first install FF is this one
to make sure I am always looking at the latest version of a webpage not some old content that was not automatically loaded when I visit the site.

One example being, when I visit www.majorgeeks.com I usually tend to see software that is 1 or 2 days old until I hit CTRL + F5 to do a hard refresh, then I see the new content. This is bad web programming on their part but also this issue never happens with IE or Chrome
__________________
ALIENWARE 18 Laptop
CPU: Intel Core i7-4800MQ CPU @ 3.7 GHz
Memory: 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz DDR3 PC3-14900 RAM
GPU: Dual GeForce GTX 770M SLI 6 GB GDDR5 RAM
Storage: 2x Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:54 PM   #5
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 6,706
Default

Maybe removing your history would do the trick.
__________________
Intel i5-2500k | Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Western Digital Black 1TB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 03:43 PM   #6
evilspoons
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 261
Default

FWIW, uploading to Gmail used Adobe Flash in the past. I'm not sure if it still does... but it is probably worth checking and updating your version of Flash. Chrome has its own version of Flash built in, and Internet Explorer uses a separate version, so it's completely possible the one that Firefox is using is broken in some way.
evilspoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 07:42 PM   #7
MusicMax
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Default

This may not be a solution for you but have you considered setting up an email client locally using IMAP so that you can have the best of both worlds? Local and web access has its advantages and if you're using client software, there's no need for a browser unless you choose to sign into Google.

Just a thought
MusicMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.