Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Mobile Devices & Gadgets

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2012, 02:49 PM   #76
Sheep
Golden Member
 
Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyo View Post
There are number of apps not working correctly on 4.2 right now. Stickmount, Diceplayer, MX player are not working. So if you like to stream movies via SMB shares using Dice or MX player, don't update to 4.2 yet. Both programs just force close. It was the same problem when JB 4.1 was released.
Ack, thanks for posting this. I was debating updating my Nexus 7 before a trip on Friday but MX Player not working is a deal-breaker. I'm pretty happy with the Paranoid Android 2.50 anyway so not a big deal, but I am curious about the new features in 4.2.
Sheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:13 PM   #77
Eug
Lifer
 
Eug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 17,234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheep View Post
Ack, thanks for posting this. I was debating updating my Nexus 7 before a trip on Friday but MX Player not working is a deal-breaker. I'm pretty happy with the Paranoid Android 2.50 anyway so not a big deal, but I am curious about the new features in 4.2.
Does it have to be MX Player? DICE Player works fine now after today's update.
__________________

OS X: 27" iMac Core i7 870 | 13" MacBook Pro C2D 2.26 P8400 + SSD | 13" MacBook C2D 2.4 T8300 + SSD
iOS: iPad 2 | iPhone 5s
Windows: X3400 Athlon II X3 435 | 11.6" 1810TZ Pentium SU4100 + SSD | Revo R3610 Atom 330 + SSD
Android: Nexus 7 (2012)
Eug is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:26 PM   #78
Red Storm
Lifer
 
Red Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 11,386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eug View Post
Does it have to be MX Player? DICE Player works fine now after today's update.
I've been using MX Player since forever. The dev usually does a good job with updates so it's just a matter of time. Tried DICE Player once, but didn't like it as much.
__________________
Heatware
Red Storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:40 PM   #79
Eug
Lifer
 
Eug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 17,234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Storm View Post
I've been using MX Player since forever. The dev usually does a good job with updates so it's just a matter of time. Tried DICE Player once, but didn't like it as much.
Yeah, but DICE Player works today, and MX Player doesn't. He's going away very soon, but he can still use 4.2 with DICE Player if MX Player isn't updated in time.
__________________

OS X: 27" iMac Core i7 870 | 13" MacBook Pro C2D 2.26 P8400 + SSD | 13" MacBook C2D 2.4 T8300 + SSD
iOS: iPad 2 | iPhone 5s
Windows: X3400 Athlon II X3 435 | 11.6" 1810TZ Pentium SU4100 + SSD | Revo R3610 Atom 330 + SSD
Android: Nexus 7 (2012)
Eug is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 04:02 PM   #80
Sheep
Golden Member
 
Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eug View Post
Yeah, but DICE Player works today, and MX Player doesn't. He's going away very soon, but he can still use 4.2 with DICE Player if MX Player isn't updated in time.
Like I said, I'm in no rush to update my current custom ROM aside from the curiosity factor--my Nexus 7 works perfectly right now. I'll probably just wait until 4.2 is incorporated by the developer community.
Sheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 04:54 PM   #81
deputc26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 509
Default

anybody benched an n7 on 4.2 vs an n7 on 4.1? It seems to me 4.2 benches worse than previous android versions and the n4 hardware is not the only thing to blame for the n4's poor benches, benching a 4.2 n7 would confirm or disconfirm this theory.
deputc26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:03 PM   #82
senttoschool
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,118
Default

Just got the update on my Galaxy Nexus GSM. So what's new?
senttoschool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 11:57 PM   #83
lopri
Elite Member
 
lopri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 9,736
Default

There is a bench tool in an app that i bought today (ROM Toolbox Pro) but I got it after the 4.2 update so I can't compare. It's a very quick test, and it says 31.234 MFlop/s @1300 MHz for my Nexus 7. (Linpack?)

I'd like to thank those who suggested DicePlayer, btw. It's just what doctor ordered, and I am impressed. It's almost like MPC-HC on Windows! I threw almost all commercial/web stuff on it and DicePlayer handled everything admirably. Only thing I did not test was those foreign/user-made clips with unusual bitrates/FPS (and real high bitrate (~50 Mbps) raw Blu-Ray files (.m2ts). Everything else just flew.

I don't mean to start yet another Apple bashing, but the difference in user experience is stark for things like this.
lopri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 04:35 AM   #84
windlike
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Default i just got 4.1

I can only update mine to jelly bean 4.1, and have no idea of 4.2 firmware
windlike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:42 AM   #85
bigrash
Lifer
 
bigrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Flushing, NY
Posts: 17,431
Default

Updated to 4.2 on my Nexus 7 this morning. Nice!
bigrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:48 AM   #86
RedRooster
Diamond Member
 
RedRooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 6,601
Default

Is it true that once it shows up on the images page, https://developers.google.com/android/nexus/images, that you should be getting the OTA shortly after? Dangit, thought I was so smart changing my phone to yakju.
RedRooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 02:26 PM   #87
obidamnkenobi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 470
Default

Got it! On my Play store HSPA Gnex. Looks nice so far

Is there any way to replace the clock on the first page of the lock screen? I'd rather have SMS there or something. I have a wristwatch so don't need any more clocks..

edit: found it. Got rid of the clock. Expand, then long press

Last edited by obidamnkenobi; 11-15-2012 at 02:29 PM.
obidamnkenobi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 03:02 PM   #88
Sheep
Golden Member
 
Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by obidamnkenobi View Post
Got it! On my Play store HSPA Gnex. Looks nice so far

Is there any way to replace the clock on the first page of the lock screen? I'd rather have SMS there or something. I have a wristwatch so don't need any more clocks..

edit: found it. Got rid of the clock. Expand, then long press
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...dedclockwidget

I can't vouch for how well this works but I saw it in another forum where people disliked the new lockscreen clock. Apparently the clock can be completely replaced--it's just up to developers to start creating apps to do so.

EDIT: I'm a dummy and thought you wanted to replace the odd fonts in the clock, not drop it altogether. Hope the link above helps someone else.

Last edited by Sheep; 11-15-2012 at 03:06 PM.
Sheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 03:30 PM   #89
Red Storm
Lifer
 
Red Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 11,386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eug View Post
Yeah, but DICE Player works today, and MX Player doesn't. He's going away very soon, but he can still use 4.2 with DICE Player if MX Player isn't updated in time.
Just FYI, but MX Player got updated today.
__________________
Heatware
Red Storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 03:34 PM   #90
cbrunny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 964
Default

Still nothing in Canada.. at least for me. I'm on Bell. No OTA on the Gnex yet.
cbrunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 03:55 PM   #91
obidamnkenobi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 470
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheep View Post
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...dedclockwidget

I can't vouch for how well this works but I saw it in another forum where people disliked the new lockscreen clock. Apparently the clock can be completely replaced--it's just up to developers to start creating apps to do so.

EDIT: I'm a dummy and thought you wanted to replace the odd fonts in the clock, not drop it altogether. Hope the link above helps someone else.
Thanks anyway
Yeah I just wanted to get rid of it, or move it. Which was no problem. I'm not Petraeus so think I'm ok with having my email and SMS on the lock screen.. We'll see.

Another kinda neat thing I noticed; Set it to "daydream" when charging, which it does on my desk for most of the day, and I only have to touch the screen to get the lock screen instead of pushing the side button. Pretty handy.
obidamnkenobi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 11:19 AM   #92
ponyo
Lifer
 
ponyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 12,329
Default

I like the new clock. Finally it has a timer and stopwatch built in so I don't have to use 3rd party app for cooking timer. As for the widget lock screen, it's pretty useless right now but I'm sure it will get better as third party widgets are incorporated. I just put "what's that song widget?" since that's faster than firing up app like Soundhound to identify the song.
ponyo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 11:23 AM   #93
ElFenix
Super Moderator
Off Topic
 
ElFenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 93,895
Default

got it on my N7 last night. seems a little slow compared to 4.1, which strikes me as odd.
__________________
I killed and ate the Fun Mod with some jellybeans and a little Chianti.

AnandTech Mean Moderator
ElFenix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 12:19 PM   #94
Sid59
Lifer
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,830
Default

not a fan of the default lockscreen widgets.
I hope google updates or adds:
- the ability to have multiple widgets on 1 "screen" - right now each widget is it's own screen
- a weather widget but i'm sure 3rd party apps will have it.

I'd really love the stock clock with weather underneath it.
Sid59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:04 PM   #95
vshah
Lifer
 
vshah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid59 View Post
not a fan of the default lockscreen widgets.
I hope google updates or adds:
- the ability to have multiple widgets on 1 "screen" - right now each widget is it's own screen
- a weather widget but i'm sure 3rd party apps will have it.

I'd really love the stock clock with weather underneath it.
Beautiful widgets supports the new lock screen already, and it has a clock +weather widget
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 || Asus P6T Deluxe V2 || Noctua NH-U12P|| 12GB DDR3-1600
GTX 670 || Intel x-25m 80gb || 1TB Caviar Black || Antec 902 ||Antec 550w
HEAT
XBL: the4ner85
vshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:31 PM   #96
bigrash
Lifer
 
bigrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Flushing, NY
Posts: 17,431
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vshah View Post
Beautiful widgets supports the new lock screen already, and it has a clock +weather widget
Good to know. Thanks.
bigrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 03:00 PM   #97
vshah
Lifer
 
vshah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigrash View Post
Good to know. Thanks.
tons of skins too, available from within the BW app.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 || Asus P6T Deluxe V2 || Noctua NH-U12P|| 12GB DDR3-1600
GTX 670 || Intel x-25m 80gb || 1TB Caviar Black || Antec 902 ||Antec 550w
HEAT
XBL: the4ner85
vshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 07:01 PM   #98
senttoschool
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,118
Default

So I accidentally installed my texting widget on the lock screen. Does anyone know how I can get rid of it?
senttoschool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 09:41 PM   #99
papaschtroumpf
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 804
Default

If you used the DPS trick on your N7 to use the tablet interface, it not longer works in 4.2!!!!
So now I have wasted space on top of the screen for the notification bar and have to strain my thumbs to reach the buttons when using the tablet horizontally.
Also it broke my root, as far as I can tell, but it can probably fix that with the toolkit.
Stickmount not working, maybe because of root broken though.

I think the lock screen clock is ugly but I'm sure better ones will be available soon.

UPDATE: sounds like stickmount is broken, but I'm still not sure my rooting with the 3.2.0 toolkit worked either. su in a terminal gives a bunch of java errors rather than a superuser prompt for example.
UPDATE AGAIN: The Root Checker App tells me I don;t have root access either, so failed to root 4.2

RE-UPDATE: I used the CWM+SuperSU method of Nexus Toolkit 3.2.0 and it seems that I have a proper Root. at least Root Checker Basic tells me so, and I am now able to get a superuser prompt in the terminal emulator.
__________________
* i7-3770 on Win 7 Pro * Core 2 Duo Ubuntu 12.04 server (DLNA, print, SMB) * rooted Nexus 4 * Nexus 7 SmoothROM Tablet UI * ainol 7 Fire on CM10.1, * Galaxy Nexus on CM10.1 * I even used to own a jailbroken iPod touch once...

Last edited by papaschtroumpf; 11-16-2012 at 10:34 PM. Reason: more updates
papaschtroumpf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 10:34 PM   #100
papaschtroumpf
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 804
Default

Also flashingthe zip files attached to post 840 on page 84 of this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...780970&page=84 I have regained some aspect of tablet UI.
Things are still not back to what they were under 4.1.2 though, for example Words With Friends forces vertical (phone) orientation, whereas under 4.1.2 it forced horizontal (tablet) orientation.

Update: the patch above works regardless of DPI so I decided to try it at the regular 213dpi of the N7. This probably is why Words With Friends is using the phone interface.
__________________
* i7-3770 on Win 7 Pro * Core 2 Duo Ubuntu 12.04 server (DLNA, print, SMB) * rooted Nexus 4 * Nexus 7 SmoothROM Tablet UI * ainol 7 Fire on CM10.1, * Galaxy Nexus on CM10.1 * I even used to own a jailbroken iPod touch once...

Last edited by papaschtroumpf; 11-16-2012 at 11:05 PM.
papaschtroumpf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.