Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Home Theater PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2012, 11:23 PM   #1
EpicSurvivor
Senior Member
 
EpicSurvivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NC USA
Posts: 244
Default Blu Ray Not Looking Like Blu Ray Quality?

Hello everyone, is being a while since I posted anything on here but I want to say thank you for all the help I got in the past for building my rig, which is my BEAST!
I have a LITE-ON DVD Blu Ray Player "Combo" http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827106374
and it works great but not so good with Blu Ray Movies. The movies don't really seem like they are in HD Blu Ray viewing format, in the image you can see something like granulation? and is not as sharp. So I have a very basic question: Was I supposed to plug anything "Special" To the player when I was building the PC in order to get true Blu Ray quality? Its not a bad image but Its just not crisp as I would have imagined. For the Player Software I'm using "Power Link Power DVD 2012"
__________________
CPU-Intel Core i7 3770K 3.5 (Soon to be OC)
MoBo-ASUSTeK P8Z77 V-LKGPU-EVGA GTX680 2GB
Memory-Corsair Vengeance (2X4GB) DDR3 1600
OS-Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Monitor- 144 Hz Asus VG248QE 24"

Successfully Built on 8/31/12

EpicSurvivor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 12:42 AM   #2
Auric
Diamond Member
 
Auric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 9,192
Default

Grain and some softness comes from accurately approaching original film quality. Poor or otherwise overly manipulated transfers may be smoothed and/or edge enhanced. The only content which should typically be crisp is digital animation although as with digital shooting it comes down to creative choice whether or not to mimic film.
__________________
"I beseech you, in the bowels of Christ, think it possible that you may be mistaken."
Auric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 01:35 AM   #3
EpicSurvivor
Senior Member
 
EpicSurvivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NC USA
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Auric View Post
Grain and some softness comes from accurately approaching original film quality. Poor or otherwise overly manipulated transfers may be smoothed and/or edge enhanced. The only content which should typically be crisp is digital animation although as with digital shooting it comes down to creative choice whether or not to mimic film.
I can see how that applies. Thank you!
By the way I love your "Signature"
__________________
CPU-Intel Core i7 3770K 3.5 (Soon to be OC)
MoBo-ASUSTeK P8Z77 V-LKGPU-EVGA GTX680 2GB
Memory-Corsair Vengeance (2X4GB) DDR3 1600
OS-Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Monitor- 144 Hz Asus VG248QE 24"

Successfully Built on 8/31/12

EpicSurvivor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 02:52 PM   #4
MaxDepth
Diamond Member
 
MaxDepth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 8,352
Default

Instead of a movie or TV show that has live action, try a digital movie from Pixar. You should see if the picture is sharp as you expect. Also, is your output to a TV or monitor?
__________________
Keep Durham Dangerous
MaxDepth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 03:05 PM   #5
EpicSurvivor
Senior Member
 
EpicSurvivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NC USA
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxDepth View Post
Instead of a movie or TV show that has live action, try a digital movie from Pixar. You should see if the picture is sharp as you expect. Also, is your output to a TV or monitor?
No output is to my Asus Monitor (Listed Below) It turns out that this is a known issue with this monitor.....
__________________
CPU-Intel Core i7 3770K 3.5 (Soon to be OC)
MoBo-ASUSTeK P8Z77 V-LKGPU-EVGA GTX680 2GB
Memory-Corsair Vengeance (2X4GB) DDR3 1600
OS-Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Monitor- 144 Hz Asus VG248QE 24"

Successfully Built on 8/31/12

EpicSurvivor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 07:03 PM   #6
wirednuts
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,121
Default

well that sucks. might want to run a tv instead of a monitor because they are designed to display video as pleasing to the eye as possible... where as monitors more so display what the original content actually looks like.
wirednuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 08:13 PM   #7
EpicSurvivor
Senior Member
 
EpicSurvivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NC USA
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wirednuts View Post
well that sucks. might want to run a tv instead of a monitor because they are designed to display video as pleasing to the eye as possible... where as monitors more so display what the original content actually looks like.
That makes sense, thank you for your input.
__________________
CPU-Intel Core i7 3770K 3.5 (Soon to be OC)
MoBo-ASUSTeK P8Z77 V-LKGPU-EVGA GTX680 2GB
Memory-Corsair Vengeance (2X4GB) DDR3 1600
OS-Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Monitor- 144 Hz Asus VG248QE 24"

Successfully Built on 8/31/12

EpicSurvivor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 01:02 PM   #8
sigmas
Junior Member
 
sigmas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Default

like your point of views
sigmas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:47 PM   #9
Annisman*
Golden Member
 
Annisman*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 1,081
Default

I've noticed some blu rays just have that grainy effect naturally. You also may be sitting too close to your monitor ?
__________________
Gigabyte Assasin 2 X79 |3930K @ 4.4 | Crsr H100 p/p | Gigabyte Windforce GTX 980 1.5/8000| 16gGskill ddr3-2133 | Samsung 830 256g SSD (OS) | 512g Crucial M4 SSD (Games) | WD Black 4TB | Asus Xonar Stx l 650ti Physx l Cooler Master Gold 1K Watt | Win7- 64 | Asus VG248QE 144Hz w/G-Sync | Sennheiser 650 l Cosmos 2
-Christian, Conservative, PC Gamer.-
Annisman* is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:13 PM   #10
Childs
Diamond Member
 
Childs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 9,183
Default

Just sit back a little bit and it'll look better.
__________________
i7-3770k@4.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti OC 3GB * 840 Pro 512GB * 24" Asus VG248QE 144Hz
Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * 840 Pro 512GB * 27" Dell U2711
Origin name: tT-Childs
Childs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:30 PM   #11
Maligx
Senior Member
 
Maligx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 231
Default

There are different tiers of quality when it comes to blurays. There's a thread at avs that ranks them based on quality.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1425519/th...#post_22325446
Maligx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.