Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2012, 09:01 AM   #1
MoonshineMadnes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Question Troubleshooting Wireless Antenna

Hi guys,

I have been lumbered with providing wireless access for a pop up ice rink, Its in the middle of a flat piece of grass land, The broadband comes into a shed on the edge of the park approx 200m away.

Most of the infrastructure was already installed as the rink was run by another company last year, so i know it was working 12 months ago,

As it stand I have a working broadband connection which I have tested, I have a netgear wireless router (WGR614v7) -this was already here so can replace if needed.

The previous company installed an antenna on the roof of the shed, there is a cable leading down to a plug for an ethernet cable, there is an engenius NPE-4818 which should provide power up to the antenna.

I have the ethernet cable from the router plugged into the 'Network' port in the NPE and then an ethernet cable running from the ap/bridge port to the antenna jack.

Now for some reason I am not getting any signal from the antenna on the roof. I wondered if there was anyway I could troubleshoot the antenna (Maybe ping it somehow to see if its active and powered up) or there was an issue with the way I have it setup,

If there isn't I'm guessing it will be easier just to buy a new one. Can anyone recommend a good antenna setup?

Many Thanks

Mikee

(Been so long since i last posted they closed my account !!)
MoonshineMadnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 01:18 PM   #2
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,504
Default

What you have on the roof is Not just an Antenna, it is probably a professional outdoor Access Point to which the Antenna is connected to.

It gets both the Wireless feed and the working voltage from the engenius NPE-4818

Something is missing from the installation, or something is Not working anymore.

You probably need to take the Hardware off the Mast put it near the Router and check all the components to make sure that they are working.

Once it is working locally, and assuming that the long cable that feeds to the mast is OK too, it should work.



__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:23 PM   #3
Fardringle
Diamond Member
 
Fardringle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 7,444
Default

Can you get the exact model number of the device that is mounted on the roof? That will give us a much better idea of what might be wrong or what you need to do to get it working.
__________________
"I did RC5, but I didn't flush." - Bill Clinton
"I invented distributed computing." - Al Gore
"I had a dream where every American would be free to run SETI@Home!" - Martin Luther King Jr.
"Greendale is a bodaciously small town, Lane... I can't even Find-A-Drug here!" - Charles De Mar (Better Off Dead)
"I did not have BOINC relations with that woman, Rosetta@Home!" - Bill Clinton
Fardringle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:55 PM   #4
spidey07
No Lifer
 
spidey07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 65,476
Default

Power injectors do go bad. Agree that you're going to have to take it down off the mast to troubleshoot. At the very least locate where the AP is and get model number. Normally how you do this is the AP is inside, and then high performance coax cable is run up the pole to the actual antenna.

Or as jack mentioned, a hardened outdoor AP on the pole. But there IS an AP somewhere, you gotta have a radio.
__________________
___
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
spidey07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.