Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2012, 09:55 AM   #1
ajaxsirius
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
Default Weird connection issue, scans reveal nothing.

Hi, I've got this weird connection issue and I have no idea what's causing it so I was hoping I could post the symptoms here and maybe someone else could point me in the right direction.

  • This started this morning after 9ish. Had no problems early when I woke up.
  • www.facebook.com won't load at all. I get the name facebook in the title but it hangs on "transfering data from" and there's nothing on the page.
  • www.penny-arcade.com loads everything except the comic itself. Ads load properly. I have adblock plus but i have it always had it disabled for penny arcade.
  • As far as I can tell, all other websites load perfectly. AT, imgur, toms, google news, youtube.
  • facebook and penny arcade load fine if I go through a web proxy.
  • Other computers on my home network do not have this problem. They use firefox too.
  • I tried Internet Explorer, same problem.
  • MSSE and Malwarebytes scans reveal nothing.
  • I have not installed anything or updated anything between today and yesterday. Nor have I made any changes to my connection settings.
ajaxsirius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 01:34 PM   #2
Doublejr
Senior Member
 
Doublejr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 200
Default

Check how your computer is connected to the internet and make sure it isn't going through a proxy. Check through the control panel or open internet explorer go to options->internet options->connections->lan settings and check for proxy there. It is the same as through the control panel.
Doublejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:02 PM   #3
ajaxsirius
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Well I did that and no proxy was being used. In the end I tried changing my DNS settings in the router to see what happened and the problems have gone away.

I was on OpenDNS before, using ISP DNS now.
ajaxsirius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.