Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > All Things Apple

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2015
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2012, 08:35 AM   #1
Diamond Member
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,612
Default Which Windows 8 do I buy?

I'd like to install Windows 8 in Parallels 8 on my MacBook Pro. But I am a little confounded by what version of Windows 8 I need to buy. After buying Win7 via the Digital River deal and having all that hassle I'm a little gunshy.

I currently don't have Win7 installed nor do I own a copy I really care to bother with; I "gave" my brother my digital river copy of Win7 so that's gone.

So can I just order this:

Or do I still need Windows 7 to install that version?

My Heatware
dmw16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 10:07 AM   #2
Elite Member
Moderator Emeritus
ViRGE's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,743

You need a full version, so what you have linked is the correct version.
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them
ViRGE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 11:03 AM   #3
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 425

correct you need the OEM version, so that one you linked is the version you need.
gpse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 11:59 AM   #4
Diamond Member
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,252

Aren't there only two versions for consumers? Pro and np?
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 12:17 PM   #5
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Posts: 11,508

Originally Posted by aaksheytalwar View Post
Aren't there only two versions for consumers? Pro and np?
But, does P(ro) = NP?
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
The 6770M can play Crysis 2, for suitably small values of play
TheStu is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.