Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Distributed Computing

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2012, 04:52 PM   #1
petrusbroder
Lifer
 
petrusbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In Blekinge, the garden of Sweden
Posts: 11,908
Default Win 8 & DC discussion thread

Let us use this thread to discuss problems, features, speed, RAM-requirements and what-ever comes to mind when crunching DC-projects using computers with Win 8.

I have today downloaded and installed Win 8 Pro on one of my crunchers. I am using the latest BOINC-version (7.0.28, 64-bit) and running WCG, Einstein@home, LHC, Seti and Collatz.
The computer is an i7-860 running @ 3.4 GHz on an ASUS-mobo (forget which ... ), 6 GByte of RAM and two Radeon 7850 GPUs. A standard 1.5TB HDD and DVD-RW.
As of the last 3 hours no problems at all; all WUs have gone through well and I have the impression that the crunching time for each WU is not so much different.
__________________
Petrusbroder
Shrunk Rapper

"There is an art, it says, or, rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
From: Douglas Adams: Life, the Universe and Everything: Chapter 9
petrusbroder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 05:54 PM   #2
Rattledagger
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,956
Default

Hmm, was under the impression you'll need atleast BOINC v7.0.31 to not run into problems with win8, and personally I would recommend to use v7.0.36 until something better is released.
__________________
"I make so many mistakes. But then just think of all the mistakes I don't make, although I might."
Rattledagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 01:26 AM   #3
petrusbroder
Lifer
 
petrusbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In Blekinge, the garden of Sweden
Posts: 11,908
Default

Well, it may be so ... but for the past 12 hours no problems yet ...
I'll update the BOINC probably later today.
__________________
Petrusbroder
Shrunk Rapper

"There is an art, it says, or, rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
From: Douglas Adams: Life, the Universe and Everything: Chapter 9
petrusbroder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 05:19 PM   #4
petrusbroder
Lifer
 
petrusbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In Blekinge, the garden of Sweden
Posts: 11,908
Default

OK, I have run BOINC version 7.0.28 without any problems for 28 hours. MilkyWay, LHC, WCG all worked. I have noted the following:
I have had more errors than usually om MilkyWay - usually I have none - now I have had som 50 WUs with errors. OTOH more WUs than that have completed correctly.
I have had no errors on WCG, and LHC, both of which have completed a number WUs.
The computer has not yet reported any Seti-WUs, but that will come in time ...

I have now upgraded to version 7.0.31 and will run that for a time ...
__________________
Petrusbroder
Shrunk Rapper

"There is an art, it says, or, rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
From: Douglas Adams: Life, the Universe and Everything: Chapter 9

Last edited by petrusbroder; 10-30-2012 at 05:26 PM.
petrusbroder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:20 PM   #5
Plimogz
Senior Member
 
Plimogz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Off Topic
Posts: 601
Default

when was the last time you checked up your MW@H WUs and errors? because they've been generating quite a few errors for a while now -- upwards of a couple of weeks, iirc. Before this I virtually never had erroneous WUs, but for a little while there have been regular errors.

Sunny129 has a thread about it on the first page of the DC forum.
__________________
2500K/P67A-UD5/HCP-850/2xTF3 7950/4x4GB RipjawsX 1600/120GB Vertex3/1TB Caviar Black/3x2TB Caviar Green ...
Plimogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 10:00 PM   #6
Sunny129
Diamond Member
 
Sunny129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,767
Default

yep...no worries Peter - your Milkyway errors are not Windows 8 related, nor are they unique to you. if you look closely at your errors, you'll note that all your wingmen's tasks are erroring out too.
__________________
1) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
2) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
3) i7 3770K, Hyper 212 EVO, Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H, HD 7970, SeaSonic X-650, Win7 x64
4) X6 1055T, Hyper 212+, MSI 890GXM-G65, 2 X HD 6670, Antec Neo Eco 620, Win7 x64
My Heat (56-0-0) | BOINCstats
Sunny129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 11:28 PM   #7
petrusbroder
Lifer
 
petrusbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In Blekinge, the garden of Sweden
Posts: 11,908
Default

I am aware of the MW-errors, but statistically looking, the errors seem to be more frequent in the Win8-computer. OTOH, that may have been a random variation too ...

Anyhow, all other projects show no problems at all ... as it should be, I think.
__________________
Petrusbroder
Shrunk Rapper

"There is an art, it says, or, rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
From: Douglas Adams: Life, the Universe and Everything: Chapter 9
petrusbroder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 12:04 AM   #8
Fullmetal Chocobo
Moderator
Distributed Computing
 
Fullmetal Chocobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 13,684
Default

I have a general question, of which I have not been able to find out otherwise. Is there any reason for WIndows 8, sans touch-screen setups? It is incompatible with VMware, so I haven't been able to setup a VM with it, and I refuse to replace my desktop config (win7) just to try it. I do have Hyper-V running on my server now though, so I might try it on there. But so far, Windows 8 seems rather pointless, unless I am missing something.
__________________
Official member of the ATOT NightCrew
Official member of Team Anandtech
My crunching stats
TeAm Anandtech Blog
You have too much time on your hands Fullmetal Chocobo.
AnandTech Moderator
Fullmetal Chocobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:26 AM   #9
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fullmetal Chocobo View Post
I have a general question, of which I have not been able to find out otherwise. Is there any reason for WIndows 8, sans touch-screen setups? It is incompatible with VMware, so I haven't been able to setup a VM with it, and I refuse to replace my desktop config (win7) just to try it. I do have Hyper-V running on my server now though, so I might try it on there. But so far, Windows 8 seems rather pointless, unless I am missing something.
There have been some changes "under the hood".

http://www.extremetech.com/computing...from-windows-7

If you don't like the tablet style desktop, you can install this app: http://classicshell.sourceforge.net/

Works great as it bypasses the "tablet desktop" to a "normal" desktop and adds a classic start menu which can be customized.
__________________
Crunch for TeAm Anandtech!!

2600K, GTX780Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX980, Linux, Win8 dual boot
Q9550, GTX660Ti, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
biodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 07:24 AM   #10
Philippart
Golden Member
 
Philippart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biodoc View Post
There have been some changes "under the hood".

http://www.extremetech.com/computing...from-windows-7

If you don't like the tablet style desktop, you can install this app: http://classicshell.sourceforge.net/

Works great as it bypasses the "tablet desktop" to a "normal" desktop and adds a classic start menu which can be customized.
I am using Start8 for a few weeks now and I can really recommend it http://www.stardock.com/products/start8/

And yes, even though my laptop is non-touch and I don't like the new interface, windows 8 has benefits. I really like the fast wakeup/start, the new taskmanager and the battery life improved by a lot.

I am however still batteling with their apps, skype, web browsers, weather app on permanent full screen does not allow multitasking. I have uninstalled almost all of them...
__________________
Boinc stats|Folding@Home stats|Worldcommunitygrid stats
Crunching for TeAm AnandTech as Tom Philippart, TAC Member and Statsmaster.

Help fight diseases like cancer by joining AnandTech's Distributed Computing section
Philippart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 05:24 AM   #11
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,246
Default

Win 8 and Hyper-V: anyone tried this? Since the F@H holiday race is coming up, I may set up an Ubuntu VM for smp folding.

http://www.servethehome.com/install-...r-v-3-minutes/

http://www.servethehome.com/run-ubun...per-v-quickly/
__________________
Crunch for TeAm Anandtech!!

2600K, GTX780Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX980, Linux, Win8 dual boot
Q9550, GTX660Ti, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
biodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 08:13 AM   #12
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biodoc View Post
Win 8 and Hyper-V: anyone tried this? Since the F@H holiday race is coming up, I may set up an Ubuntu VM for smp folding.

http://www.servethehome.com/install-...r-v-3-minutes/

http://www.servethehome.com/run-ubun...per-v-quickly/
Couldn't get the VM and host to share ethernet connection so I gave up and installed Virtualbox which works fine (Ubuntu 12.04 LTS 64-bit).
__________________
Crunch for TeAm Anandtech!!

2600K, GTX780Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX980, Linux, Win8 dual boot
Q9550, GTX660Ti, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
biodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.