Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-12-2012, 01:49 PM   #576
mablo
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Face2Face View Post
That is pretty low. I guess it would be a great overclocker under water. Try 1000Mhz and see if it will hold? I can do 1050Mhz on stock voltage but it's not needed for the games I play.
I'll check. What's best to test stability? Furmark or Heaven?


I gotta say this cooler is amazing. Did a 15min Furmark run on stock clocks/voltage(925MHz/1125Mv and max temp was 63c, VRM didn't exceed 62c. It was also almost inaudible over my case fans.

Edit: Also I think the flickering is unrelated to clocks. Got it again in Arma2 with stock clocks. Driver issue maybe, I'm running 12.11beta6, which I haven't used before. Did a driver sweep before install.

Last edited by mablo; 11-12-2012 at 01:51 PM.
mablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 02:51 PM   #577
tigersty1e
Golden Member
 
tigersty1e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,949
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hungloww View Post
Unfortunately the memory on my MSI TF3 sucks, it can't even hit 1300MHz without artifacts. GPU-Z shows Asic rating of 84.8%... The TF3 I have is 2 6pin connectors and I can get it stable at 1160 on core with a Vcore of 1.16. From what I have seen and heard, memory overclock doesn't improve FPS as much as core, so I guess I can't complain .
you probably have the version with 1.5 volts on the memory.

trixx will probably let you increase volts to 1.6 volts though.
__________________
3570k | Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H | 8 GB Samsung
MSI 7950 TF3 | Creative ZXR | Corsair AX650
Crucial M4 64 | WD6400AAKS | Fractal Define R4 | BenQ XL2410T | 7 64-bit Ultimate
tigersty1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 03:11 PM   #578
Face2Face
Diamond Member
 
Face2Face's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: AnandTech
Posts: 3,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mablo View Post
I'll check. What's best to test stability? Furmark or Heaven?


I gotta say this cooler is amazing. Did a 15min Furmark run on stock clocks/voltage(925MHz/1125Mv and max temp was 63c, VRM didn't exceed 62c. It was also almost inaudible over my case fans.

Edit: Also I think the flickering is unrelated to clocks. Got it again in Arma2 with stock clocks. Driver issue maybe, I'm running 12.11beta6, which I haven't used before. Did a driver sweep before install.
I would use Heaven. Furmark is a little unreasonable.

Try dropping to the 12.10's
__________________
3570K @ 4.8GHz - Z77X-UD4H - 16GB Samsung 1866MHz - GTX 780 Lightning + NZXT Kraken G10 - QX2710 1440p @ 96Hz
Face2Face is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:47 PM   #579
stylez777
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 83
Default

So I got to install my MSI TF3 7950 tonight and play a little here a screenshot:




I was able to get it to run without crashing a 1200mhz core (with stock mem clocks) but I got some artifacts. I think with some more toying around with voltage I could get it stable with no artifacts.

The heaven benchmark results was with 1160/1500. Already this card is showing much better results than the Sapphire 7950 and no coil whine either! (keeping fingers crossed!) Keep you all updated with my progress
__________________
Core i7 4770k@4.4GHz l 16GB Mushkin 1600MHz l Gigabyte Z87X - UD3H l MSI TF3 7950 l Antec 850W PSU l Samsung 830 256GB l Mushkin Enhanced Chronos 240GB SSD l WDC Black 1TB l Windows 8 Pro l Antec 1200 case l Asus 24.5" 1080p Monitor l Razer Naga mouse and Razer Anansi Keyboard
stylez777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:54 PM   #580
RussianSensation
Elite Member
 
RussianSensation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 14,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mablo View Post
Just installed my Sapphire. Asic rating of 58.6. Lowest yet?

Edit: I tried overclocking the card slightly(1050mhz), but my screen started flickering in games. Reverting to stock seems to have fixed it. Never encountered anything like this before.
You need to enable MSI Unofficial voltage control. Put 1.175V (actual VDDC reading in GPU-Z) into the card and I am sure it'll hit 1100mhz without a problem. Based on the Legion Hardware review I posted above, at 1190mhz, HD7950 is comfortably in the lead over a stock HD7970 Ghz / GTX680. Even with your ASIC, you can still reach 1100mhz+, but it just means you'll need to pump voltage into her.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Face2Face View Post
Furmark is a little unreasonable.
I find Furmark to be useless for modern AMD cards. If you run Furmark full screen and then open up MSI AB, the GPU is likely going to be throttling GPU clocks significantly. For that reason, ironically it's not really a GPU demanding test. This is because Furmark is specifically hardware throttled by AMD/NV. A good synthetic alternative to Furmark is to use MSI Kombustor. I agree with you that Heaven 3.0 is better still.
__________________
i5 2500k | Asus P8P67 Rev.3 | Sapphire Dual-X HD7970 1150/1800 1.174V CFX | G.Skill Sniper 8GB DDR3-1600 1.5V
SeaSonic Platinum 1000W | OCZ Vertex 3 120GB + HITACHI 7K1000.B 1TB | Windows 7
Westinghouse 37" 1080P | X-Fi Platinum | Logitech Z5300E 5.1

Last edited by RussianSensation; 11-12-2012 at 08:57 PM.
RussianSensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 10:52 PM   #581
Endymion FRS
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 69
Default

How do I enable voltage control in Afterburner? I have a Gigabyte 7950 WF3, Sleeping Dogs crashed on me at 1100mhz, and my card is at 1.09v. BF3 is running fine at 1050mhz. All of this is done through Trixx, which also will not change voltage. The sliders work, but it has no effect on the actual voltage. I'd like to raise it to the normal 1.1v and see if that helps hit 1100.
Endymion FRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:27 AM   #582
mablo
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 29
Default

I'm returning the Sapphire card. The flickering didn't go away with 12.10 drivers. I'm getting the Gigabyte card instead. I've registered the Never Settle voucher though, I called the store and that was no problem. So now I'm getting what I originally intended.

Russian I noticed that the card throttled in Furmark. Also it seemed like it didn't want to run at boost speeds without increasing power limit, but I'm not 100% sure about that.

Last edited by mablo; 11-13-2012 at 03:30 AM.
mablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:37 AM   #583
sze5003
Diamond Member
 
sze5003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6,967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mablo View Post
I'm returning the Sapphire card. The flickering didn't go away with 12.10 drivers. I'm getting the Gigabyte card instead. I've registered the Never Settle voucher though, I called the store and that was no problem. So now I'm getting what I originally intended.

Russian I noticed that the card throttled in Furmark. Also it seemed like it didn't want to run at boost speeds without increasing power limit, but I'm not 100% sure about that.
At one point I thought my card flickered but that was screen tearing for me. Does your monitor flash constantly or do you see horizontal invisible lines across the screen now and then?
__________________
Asrock Extreme3 Gen3| Core i5 2500k @4.2Ghz-Hyper212 EVO| 8GB Corsair Vengence 1600 | 1TB Seagate 7200 rpm | 256GB Samsung 830 |128GB Crucial M4 | Saphire VaporX 7970Ghz 3GB | NZXT Phantom 410 | 750W Corsair Enthusiast
sze5003 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:34 AM   #584
mablo
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sze5003 View Post
At one point I thought my card flickered but that was screen tearing for me. Does your monitor flash constantly or do you see horizontal invisible lines across the screen now and then?
I'm pretty sure it wasn't screen tearing. It was worst in dark scenes, it was slightly black horizontal lines. I even got it on my wallpaper when I ran Furmark windowed. I also got it at the same time as screen tearing in Arma 2, it looked completely different. Let's just hope I have more luck with the Gigabyte
mablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:38 AM   #585
sze5003
Diamond Member
 
sze5003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6,967
Default

Yeah that sounds like artifacts. I need to go back to overclocking and trying games that way. I pretty much overclocked, saved my settings and went back to stock as I didn't feel the need.
__________________
Asrock Extreme3 Gen3| Core i5 2500k @4.2Ghz-Hyper212 EVO| 8GB Corsair Vengence 1600 | 1TB Seagate 7200 rpm | 256GB Samsung 830 |128GB Crucial M4 | Saphire VaporX 7970Ghz 3GB | NZXT Phantom 410 | 750W Corsair Enthusiast
sze5003 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:05 AM   #586
spinejam
Diamond Member
 
spinejam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lumberton, NC
Posts: 3,408
Default

Here's another MSI 7950 TFIII -- just installed last night. (MSI is on a roll -- this is the 3rd TFIII in a row that hits these clocks)

ASIC 85.5



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
__________________
Heatware
Asus P67 Sabertooth | 2700k @4.8 Ghz | H80 Cooler |
2x4GB Samsung Green 1600 @2133Mhz | Corsair ForceGT 180GB x2 RAID0 | Seagate 3TB |
Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC (1200c 1600m - Hynix) | Samsung SH-S223Q x2 | CoolerMaster HAF-922 | Antec HCG 900W | Shimian QH270-IPSI 2560x1440 Tempered Glass
spinejam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:15 AM   #587
hungloww
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tigersty1e View Post
you probably have the version with 1.5 volts on the memory.

trixx will probably let you increase volts to 1.6 volts though.
I checked the volts in MSI AB and it did show 1.549 if I remember correctly, but I could not find the option to change the memory voltage. I only saw VDDC and Board something (I think that's powertune 20%). If I can't find it maybe I will bump it up in MSI AB, by any chance you have any idea how much is usually the limit so I don't go past it.

Thanks.
hungloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:06 PM   #588
mablo
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 29
Default

Got the Gigabyte today. Got it stable at 1100MHz @ 1.175v in Sapphire Trixx, it crashed at 1150. Could tweak it more and haven't touvhed the memory yet.

The flickering didn't go away though, so the Sapphire card isn't to blame. I have no idea what could cause it, it didn't happen with my 7850.

mablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:46 PM   #589
StitchExperimen
Senior Member
 
StitchExperimen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Salt Lake City, Ut
Posts: 286
Default Distributed Computing need help and info

I'm working on building a Intel Socket 2011** My plans so far are to use a Gigabyte motherboard that got a award for new voltage delivery from Tomshardware**com at comtex 2012**

I'm wanting to make a tri or quadFire for distributed computing in WCG cancer** I wrote a email to AMD and they said the only 7950 following their reference design to be able to do 4-way CrossFireX was Gigabyte but in asking on their forum for graphics cards I have got no reply** Also I sent in a email to technical assistance but they don't generate a response that they have even received the email question** So I was wondering if you knew since this has 3 fans to keep them cool and I was wondering if these could accept waterblocks in case the noise was to much to bear**

Next question who to purchase a power supply from and do I rewire 2x8 connectors to become 2x6 or do I tap off the 4 wire connectors with converters to become two 2x6**

FYI the time to process a WU (work unit) with one 7950 is about 15 seconds**

Thanks for the knowledge and time**
Stitch
__________________
Heatware
StitchExperimen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:00 PM   #590
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,930
Default

Bad news. Turns out my Sapphire 7950 Vapor-X OC with Boost isn't stable at stock clocks. I'm thinking it's probably the memory. I don't really have a issues when gaming since the GPU is not at constant 100% load due to Vsync, but after an hour of two of Heaven, I get artifacting. The memory doesn't overclock for crap, anything above stock MHz gives artifacts really fast. The GPU doesn't OC well either. Going to send it back.

I also dislike how the Vapor-X are voltage "locked". Basically it seems voltage is automatically adjusted by the BIOS when Power Limit is changed, so at +20 the VDDC is quite a bit higher than at 0. But there's no manual control of voltage and power limit separately, and no control of voltage beyond what power limit +20 sets it to. Probably switching to a Gigabyte triple fan card that has better VRM cooling, better voltage control and it should be quieter too.
__________________
System specs

Last edited by lehtv; 11-13-2012 at 05:02 PM.
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:14 PM   #591
Rikard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Alps
Posts: 423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
Bad news. Turns out my Sapphire 7950 Vapor-X OC with Boost isn't stable at stock clocks. I'm thinking it's probably the memory. I don't really have a issues when gaming since the GPU is not at constant 100% load due to Vsync, but after an hour of two of Heaven, I get artifacting. The memory doesn't overclock for crap, anything above stock MHz gives artifacts really fast. The GPU doesn't OC well either. Going to send it back.
Hmm yes that is bad. I should get the exact same model later this week... What is your temps when you get artifacting? What is your case and fan setup?
__________________
Fractal Design Define R4 | Asus P8Z68-V Gen3 | Intel i5-2500 @ 4.3 GHz | Corsair AX 650 W
CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo | Corsair 16 GB 1.6 GHz | BluRay3D ASUS BC-12B1ST
Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X (8+8 pin) | 2x Fractal Design Silent Series R2 | Corsair M90
3x Xigmatek XAF-F1454 | Maxkeyboard Nighthawk X8 Semi-custom(MX Brown)
Corsair Vengeance 2000 7.1 Headset | Samsung Syncmaster BX2450 1080p@75 Hz
Rikard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:28 PM   #592
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,930
Default

Temps are all good (sub 60C) and I only have 3x 120mm fans. The Vapor-X cooler is extremely efficient as far as the GPU is concerned, although I've read it's not as quiet as Dual-X or Windforce. As for VRM temps, there's some issue with VRM1 on all 7950 Vapor-X's, all reports I've read say VRM1 runs hot easily which is probably why Sapphire decided to voltage lock them. Mine gets into the 90's on power limit +20.

Hopefully you'll get a decent overclocker, the review samples made 1100MHz+
__________________
System specs

Last edited by lehtv; 11-13-2012 at 06:30 PM.
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:16 PM   #593
thujone
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,116
Default

so i've never had any luck with turning up the powertune/board power thing. if i turn it up to +20% i pretty much immediately crash. card overclocks and works fine otherwise though. but i'm fairly certain i have the same results at stock as i do oc'd.

so has anyone else here had this experience or heard someone else with the same experience? i really think it might have something to do with the fact that my card is one of the 8+6 pin ones... but my psu doesn't have a 8pin connector so i'm using the 6pin>8pin adapter.

anyone have a similar set up/experience?
__________________
heat|ebay|email
thujone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:41 AM   #594
Rikard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Alps
Posts: 423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
The Vapor-X cooler is extremely efficient as far as the GPU is concerned, although I've read it's not as quiet as Dual-X or Windforce.
Funny, I heard the exact opposite!

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
Hopefully you'll get a decent overclocker, the review samples made 1100MHz
Yes, it will a nailbiting first hour!

Using my Google-Fu skills I pulled some OC stats from reviews (skipping forum results since there are too many tossers out there):
  • Overclockersclub : 1100/1450@1.2 V
  • Techpowerup : 1135/1635@?
  • Legit reviews : 1150/1600@stock
  • Bjord3D : 1128/1655@?
  • Hexus.net : 1160/1500@+0.1 V
Seems like you got a dud if you cant get 1100 even with increase voltage.
__________________
Fractal Design Define R4 | Asus P8Z68-V Gen3 | Intel i5-2500 @ 4.3 GHz | Corsair AX 650 W
CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo | Corsair 16 GB 1.6 GHz | BluRay3D ASUS BC-12B1ST
Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X (8+8 pin) | 2x Fractal Design Silent Series R2 | Corsair M90
3x Xigmatek XAF-F1454 | Maxkeyboard Nighthawk X8 Semi-custom(MX Brown)
Corsair Vengeance 2000 7.1 Headset | Samsung Syncmaster BX2450 1080p@75 Hz
Rikard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:40 AM   #595
mablo
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 29
Default

So I think I might have found the source of the flickering. I use a dvi-vga adapter as well. That sucks, I really don't want to shell out for a new monitor.

http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthr...tor-flickering
mablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:45 AM   #596
Rikard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Alps
Posts: 423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mablo View Post
So I think I might have found the source of the flickering. I use a dvi-vga adapter as well. That sucks, I really don't want to shell out for a new monitor.

http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthr...tor-flickering
What is your resolution with that old monitor? Running a brand new 7950 on anything smaller than 1080p is criminal.
__________________
Fractal Design Define R4 | Asus P8Z68-V Gen3 | Intel i5-2500 @ 4.3 GHz | Corsair AX 650 W
CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo | Corsair 16 GB 1.6 GHz | BluRay3D ASUS BC-12B1ST
Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X (8+8 pin) | 2x Fractal Design Silent Series R2 | Corsair M90
3x Xigmatek XAF-F1454 | Maxkeyboard Nighthawk X8 Semi-custom(MX Brown)
Corsair Vengeance 2000 7.1 Headset | Samsung Syncmaster BX2450 1080p@75 Hz
Rikard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 04:05 AM   #597
mablo
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rikard View Post
What is your resolution with that old monitor? Running a brand new 7950 on anything smaller than 1080p is criminal.
It's 1080p. The monitor is 3-4 years old, it was the cheapest 1080p monitor I could get back then.
mablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 05:50 AM   #598
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rikard
Using my Google-Fu skills I pulled some OC stats from reviews (skipping forum results since there are too many tossers out there):
  • Overclockersclub : 1100/1450@1.2 V
  • Techpowerup : 1135/1635@?
  • Legit reviews : 1150/1600@stock
  • Bjord3D : 1128/1655@?
  • Hexus.net : 1160/1500@+0.1 V
Just doing some additional digging... my card is the OC with Boost card that has a 950mhz secondary bios. Primary bios: 210P2HY-V03, secondary V04.

By the looks of the PCB, it's the same card as in OCclub, techpowerup, legit and hexus. But Hexus and OCclub have the BIOS, 210P2HY-V02, while techpowerup has 210P2HY-X01.

Then there's Bjorn3D whose card has a completely different PCB. Unfortunately they don't have a GPU-Z shot.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:45 PM   #599
Smartazz
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,128
Default

GPU-z keep reporting that there was a max voltage 1.8 on the memory with a VRM temperature of close to 130C. Either something is wrong with this card or GPUz is wrong. Any other good monitoring programs for the VRMs?
__________________
i5 2500K@4.6GHz, 16GB G.SKILL 1600MHz, R9 290x, Seasonic X850, X-Fi Fatal1ty, Samsung 830 and 840 with Antec 1200.
Retina MacBook Pro 15", 2.6GHz, 16GB, 512GB SSD
Achieva Shimian, Das Keyboard, Logitech G400 and Razer Scarab.
Smartazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:24 PM   #600
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,930
Default

try hwinfo64
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.