Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2012, 04:05 PM   #1
jidery
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 112
Default Moving from my HDD to my SSD

Hey guys, I have a pretty simple problem I need help solving. Long story short, when I installed windows on my new computer about 4 months ago, I was forced to install on my HDD because the windows installer wouldn't detect my SSD. Now that I upgraded my SSD firmware, all is well and I am ready to move to my SSD. I want to retain all my filed on my HDD however, and I don't have an external drive.

So here is what I have at the moment

-About 570gb of data on my HDD, total capacity is 1tb.
-My SSD is 128gb, with about 100gb of data on it.

So here is what I need to do
1) I want to move all data off my SSD to my HDD
2) I want to reinstall windows onto my SSD
-This is where I get lost. Is it possible to install another windows 7 onto my SSD, and remove the other windows 7 without losing all my data?

Thanks for the help guys!
jidery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:20 PM   #2
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,607
Default

what brand is the ssd.
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 10:16 PM   #3
jolancer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 469
Default

you already copyed all the files you want from the SSD over to the HDD i assume?

from there all you need to do is unplug your HDD (to be safe and make sure windows install doesn't format it automatically or anything) and then install windows onto the SSD.

Beyond that its up to you, weather you want to erase the windows files off your other drive, or perhaps just leave them be as a backup you could go back to booting from... Note - though you dont need to get rid of the other windows install if you choose, but you will need to specifiy in BIOS your Boot device otherwise it may always default to the HDD as boot. All you have to do is change the boot order and you can boot from whichever drive you choose.
jolancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.