Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2012, 02:06 PM   #1
me_vernon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Default Graphics card for system with 300W PSU?

My 13yo son has a Dell Inspiron 570 mini-tower w/on-board ATI HD4200** Trouble is, the PSU is only 300W and I don't live close enough to replace it** Can someone re***mend a PCI-E 16x grfx card that won't kill his PSU? He's got a 3GHz Athlon II x2, 4GB of DDR3, 500GB SATA HD, and a CD/DVD drive** No pre-determined budget or preferred brand/chipset, just hoping to get something faster for him** He plays Minecraft if that helps** Thanks in advance!
me_vernon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 02:15 PM   #2
Jimzz
Diamond Member
 
Jimzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NoVA
Posts: 3,115
Default

A 6570 with DDR5 uses little power (60watt), same with the 7750 (70ish watt)@#@#

The 7750 might be overkill for that system@#@#
Here is a 6570 that is DDR5 and cheap@#@#@#@#@#@#

http://www@#@#newegg@#@#@#@#@#/Produ...82E16814127586

Its out of stock right now but great price worth waiting for@#@#
Jimzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 02:34 PM   #3
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,960
Default

why do i see all periods as @ and # signs? apparently a forum problem cos that link doesn't work
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 02:35 PM   #4
Greenlepricon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 425
Default

In my opinion I would go with a 7750 just to stay up to date a little longer@#@# A 6570 or something close to it will also work as well as Jimzz said, but if you have the money and don't plan on upgrading anytime soon you might as well go for the best of the low power cards@#@#
Greenlepricon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 02:44 PM   #5
me_vernon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks so much for this assistance on this, Jimzz and Greenlepricon. I spent the better part of 20 years in the Wintel hardware industry, including 3 years at Tyan. But after being away from that industry for multiple years, I had to lean on some Anandtech help, which you both provided kindly and quickly. GREATLY appreciated.
me_vernon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:52 PM   #6
notty22
Diamond Member
 
notty22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beantown
Posts: 3,323
Default

You are going to need a half height or low profile card and bracket for a slim case** And also since the psu and computer specs are on the low end** Something like this is still a good upgrade**
A 6450, with a free game download**
http://www**newegg**com/Product/Produc******82E16814150567
[IMG]http://images17**newegg**com/is/image/newegg/14-150-567-TS?$S300W$[/IMG]
This one would be faster** A 6570
http://www**newegg**com/Product/Prod...82E16814127611

You lose the VGA port with the low profile bracket in these which may lead to monitor hook up issues**

edit: the MSI card does offer the extra bracket for the vga port , on the next slot down** The better option **
__________________
i5 4670K@4100mhz, 32GB Kingston 1600,H50
MSI GTX 970 gaming Seasonic SS-760XP2

240gb SSD, Win 8.1
Let's make sure history never forgets... the name... 'Enterprise'. Picard out.

Last edited by notty22; 11-13-2012 at 05:38 PM.
notty22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 11:03 PM   #7
toyota
Lifer
 
toyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: my chair
Posts: 12,614
Default

that is a regular tower so he does not need to get a half height card.

but yeah that is not really a 300 watt psu. its a cheap oem psu with only 18 amps aka 216 watts on the 12v. its only rated at 25 C and is made with very cheap parts and will stand no chance of making more than about 14 amps at best on the 12v in real world conditions. after some years of use, it will not even be able to make that.
__________________
Win 8.1 64 bit | 4770k@4.4 | Asus Z87 Pro | Asus reference GTX 980 | G.SKILL Ares 16GB DDR3 2133 | Seagate SSHD 2TB | Corsair 500R | Corsair TX650 V2 | Sound Blaster Zx | Gateway 23inch 1920x1080 IPS

Last edited by toyota; 11-13-2012 at 11:08 PM.
toyota is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 11:27 PM   #8
frozentundra123456
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5,587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toyota View Post
that is a regular tower so he does not need to get a half height card.

but yeah that is not really a 300 watt psu. its a cheap oem psu with only 18 amps aka 216 watts on the 12v. its only rated at 25 C and is made with very cheap parts and will stand no chance of making more than about 14 amps at best on the 12v in real world conditions. after some years of use, it will not even be able to make that.
You are correct of course, but I ran a low power 9800GT for 2 years on an OEM "300 watt" power supply that only had 20 amps on the 12 volt rail. With only a dual core CPU, chances are he would be OK with the 7750. I think the rating for the low power 9800GT was 65 watts, I believe more than the rating for the 7750. Actually I just retired the card a couple of months ago, and it was still running on that PSU that was almost 6 years old. The fan was starting to stop intermittently on the PSU and everytime it did, it would overheat and shut down. Since the entire system was getting old and slow, I just got a new system altogether.
frozentundra123456 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.