Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-12-2012, 02:02 PM   #1
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 207
Default Why such high memory usage?

I recently installed Win8 64bit. Sometimes the computer runs fine but other times it's real slow. When I hit task manager it says I'm using 87% of my memory, just at the desktop, so when I try to open things it's very slow.

I have 64bit Win8 and 8GB of ram. Any ideas?
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 02:08 PM   #2
dma0991
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,693
Default

Check task manager to identify specifically what is using most of the memory. It shouldn't take up more RAM than W7 should. W8 on my virtual machine is set to 3GB max, so 87% usage or nearly 7GB of RAM is very unusual.
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K [4.5GHz @ 1.28V]|MSI Z77A-GD65|Samsung MV-3V4G3D 16GB 1866MHz@9-9-9-24/1.35V|Powercolor HD4650|Corsair Force GT 120GB|Samsung F3 1TB|Corsair CX500|Corsair 400R|XSPC Raystorm + XSPC EX240 + EK DCP 4.0
Intel Core i7 2600|ASRock H61M/U3S3|Kingston HyperX 8GB|Intel HD2000|WD Blue 320GB|Samsung F4EG 2TB|WD Green 2TB|WD Green 3TB|WD Green 3TB|FSP SAGA II 500W|CM Elite 343
| |
dma0991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 02:18 PM   #3
blastingcap
Diamond Member
 
blastingcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,777
Default

Just because the OS reserves a large % of RAM doesn't mean it's actually using it. Windows will let go of RAM if something else needs it. http://blogs.technet.com/b/markrussi...1/3092070.aspx

Slowness may be due to other factors, like storage device (HDDs slower than SSDs in small file transfers and random access times, for instance), CPU, etc.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoFox View Post
We had to suffer polygonal boobs for a decade because of selfish corporate reasons.
Main: 3570K + R9 290 + 16GB 1866 + AsRock Extreme4 Z77 + Eyefinity 5760x1080 eIPS
blastingcap is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 04:12 PM   #4
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 207
Default

Well usually it's around 10%, but sometimes it goes to 90% for no particular reason and then it get's real slow. Right now while I'm typing this it's at 19%. There is no one thing in task manager using all up, it's a combination of all kinds of programs.


I don't get why it does this.
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 04:15 PM   #5
dmoney1980
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,943
Default

Is this a fresh OS install, or did you upgrade from W7? how many processes are you running at the desktop?
dmoney1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 04:34 PM   #6
Revolution 11
Senior Member
 
Revolution 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 745
Default

I have sometimes experienced high CPU loads but the load is on the System Idle process. If the load is on other processes, you might have too many of them. Use the Services tab in Control Panel's Administrative Tools or the command "msconfig" in Run to turn off startup items and services you don't need.
Revolution 11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 04:37 PM   #7
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfelano View Post
Well usually it's around 10%, but sometimes it goes to 90% for no particular reason and then it get's real slow. Right now while I'm typing this it's at 19%. There is no one thing in task manager using all up, it's a combination of all kinds of programs.


I don't get why it does this.
I wonder if Win8 is running defrag or indexing service? I know running defrag (on a secondary drive only?) in Win7 would take up pretty-much all of the RAM. I hope MS fixes that bug in Win7's defrag, but I fear they never will.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:09 PM   #8
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revolution 11 View Post
I have sometimes experienced high CPU loads but the load is on the System Idle process. If the load is on other processes, you might have too many of them. Use the Services tab in Control Panel's Administrative Tools or the command "msconfig" in Run to turn off startup items and services you don't need.
Yeah that has nothing to do with memory usage.
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:10 PM   #9
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
I wonder if Win8 is running defrag or indexing service? I know running defrag (on a secondary drive only?) in Win7 would take up pretty-much all of the RAM. I hope MS fixes that bug in Win7's defrag, but I fear they never will.
I don't know, but most of the time it's fine, then sometimes I'll try to do something and I'm like what is taking so long and I check task manager and it'll say 80% of my memory is being used, so I'm like???

Haven't figured it out yet. I have noticed though that when it's running normal while I'm on the web, say 15% memory usage, most of the memory usage is 5 instances of Chrome.exe running that's using the mojority, but obviously that's not the problem. I just wonder why task manager shows 5 instances of Chrome.exe.

Last edited by jfelano; 11-12-2012 at 07:13 PM.
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:28 AM   #10
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Most of your memory being used is a good thing, not using it would be a waste. My work Win7 VM is at 65%, according to taskmgr, after a fresh bootup with only a few apps running. I'm betting the memory usage is a red herring and you have some other issue.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 01:09 PM   #11
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 207
Default

The memory usage thing only happens occasionally, I just can't figure it out**

Nobody seems to know why I have 6 instances of Chrome**exe running under "background processes" and another Chrome**exe running under "apps"**
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 01:13 PM   #12
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Sure they can@#@# Chrome has 1 process per-tab and I believe per-plugin because of the sandboxing@#@# I've currently got 34 chrome processes@#@#
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 01:49 PM   #13
dma0991
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,693
Default

I've been using and monitoring my W8 VM for a while and it hovers around 600-700MB doing nothing. There are no memory spikes either. Everything seems to be at a constant low, never more than 30% usage of 3GB with one instance of Firefox running.
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K [4.5GHz @ 1.28V]|MSI Z77A-GD65|Samsung MV-3V4G3D 16GB 1866MHz@9-9-9-24/1.35V|Powercolor HD4650|Corsair Force GT 120GB|Samsung F3 1TB|Corsair CX500|Corsair 400R|XSPC Raystorm + XSPC EX240 + EK DCP 4.0
Intel Core i7 2600|ASRock H61M/U3S3|Kingston HyperX 8GB|Intel HD2000|WD Blue 320GB|Samsung F4EG 2TB|WD Green 2TB|WD Green 3TB|WD Green 3TB|FSP SAGA II 500W|CM Elite 343
| |
dma0991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 02:02 PM   #14
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dma0991 View Post
I've been using and monitoring my W8 VM for a while and it hovers around 600-700MB doing nothing. There are no memory spikes either. Everything seems to be at a constant low, never more than 30% usage of 3GB with one instance of Firefox running.
I would say use that low seems odd unless it's just after a bootup. All modern OSes use pretty aggressive caching for filesystem and will get up around 90% after some usage, regardless of whether or not you close apps out. Task manager in my Win7 VM says it has 767M free out of 3G allocated with 748M cached and the graph lists 74% as used.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 02:28 PM   #15
dma0991
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,693
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothinman View Post
I would say use that low seems odd unless it's just after a bootup. All modern OSes use pretty aggressive caching for filesystem and will get up around 90% after some usage, regardless of whether or not you close apps out. Task manager in my Win7 VM says it has 767M free out of 3G allocated with 748M cached and the graph lists 74% as used.
Never encountered such heavy memory usage. Even with my main W7 host OS, usage over an extended period of time have never exceeded 50%(unless I turn on 1-2 VM) of my 8GB according to the graph/percentage. Current usage is around 1.7GB(~22%) and an up time of 16 hours on my W7.
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K [4.5GHz @ 1.28V]|MSI Z77A-GD65|Samsung MV-3V4G3D 16GB 1866MHz@9-9-9-24/1.35V|Powercolor HD4650|Corsair Force GT 120GB|Samsung F3 1TB|Corsair CX500|Corsair 400R|XSPC Raystorm + XSPC EX240 + EK DCP 4.0
Intel Core i7 2600|ASRock H61M/U3S3|Kingston HyperX 8GB|Intel HD2000|WD Blue 320GB|Samsung F4EG 2TB|WD Green 2TB|WD Green 3TB|WD Green 3TB|FSP SAGA II 500W|CM Elite 343
| |
dma0991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 02:31 PM   #16
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dma0991 View Post
Never encountered such heavy memory usage. Even with my main W7 host OS, usage over an extended period of time have never exceeded 50%(unless I turn on 1-2 VM) of my 8GB according to the graph/percentage. Current usage is around 1.7GB(~22%) and an up time of 16 hours on my W7.
Then you're somehow excluding some of the real usage (e.g. caches) or something odd is going on with your machines.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:13 PM   #17
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6,745
Default

Got a couple (ok, a few) things for you to check:
When you say 87%, are you talking about the 'in use' section toward the bottom of the page?
Is windows showing that it sees all 8 GB?
When the computer gets slow, is it slamming the hard drive like crazy?
What items on the processes tab show the highest number on memory usage?
What antivirus do you use?
Is it trying to do a scan when it gets slow?
__________________
Intel i5-2500k | Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Western Digital Black 1TB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO

Last edited by ketchup79; 11-13-2012 at 03:22 PM.
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:50 PM   #18
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 207
Default

87% of total system memory.

Yes windows see's 8GB of ram.

No the hdd doesn't go like crazy.

Memory usage is spread out all over the place.

I have Windows 8, I'm running Defender and Security Essentials by default as I was recommended to do from this forum.

Just got done playing BF3 multiplayer for 3hrs straight, memory usage never went above 37%.

I guess it does something after bootup that uses so much memory cause the usage goes back to 15% after a while even when I'm online.

Last edited by jfelano; 11-13-2012 at 03:53 PM.
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:08 PM   #19
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6,745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfelano View Post
87% of total system memory.

Yes windows see's 8GB of ram.

No the hdd doesn't go like crazy.

Memory usage is spread out all over the place.

I have Windows 8, I'm running Defender and Security Essentials by default as I was recommended to do from this forum.

Just got done playing BF3 multiplayer for 3hrs straight, memory usage never went above 37%.

I guess it does something after bootup that uses so much memory cause the usage goes back to 15% after a while even when I'm online.
Ok, good stuff. Sounds like a service, such as windows search or system protection, might be slowing you down. Can we assume you performed a virus/spyware scan recently? Is the slowness usually close to startup?
__________________
Intel i5-2500k | Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Western Digital Black 1TB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:41 PM   #20
jfelano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nassau
Posts: 207
Default

Yes the slowness if right after startup**

Windows 8 scans once a week** I don't have to manually do it, but I did anyways, nothing found**
jfelano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:48 PM   #21
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6,745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfelano View Post
Yes the slowness if right after startup**

Windows 8 scans once a week** I don't have to manually do it, but I did anyways, nothing found**
Is that just a quick scan or a full scan? Malwarebytes' Anti-malware is another good program to scan with (full scan)** The free version works fine unless you want it to automatically scan once a week like Windows does**

Having said that, your 'issue' sounds like the way windows is** Windows 7 does similar to what you have described** It brings up the desktop, icons, and start menu before it is actually ready to rock and roll** Might help to run msconfig and see if there is anything in there you don't need**
__________________
Intel i5-2500k | Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Western Digital Black 1TB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.