Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2012, 12:33 PM   #1
rayfieldclement
Senior Member
 
rayfieldclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia PA (USA)
Posts: 514
Default What computer parts should I upgrade for the internet

What parts would you get to upgrade a Dell Inspiron 530 for use on the net** I was thinking about using a 750GB+ harddrive, 2-4 or more GB of RAM and I new graphics card** What are your suggestions? This ***puter would also be used for light-Medium games** What good Cheap color printer would you get? What else should I get? The price a I am thinking is around $400
__________________
RayField Clement
Gamertag on Xbox LIVE: rayfieldclement
Philadelphia PA 19131
(215)796-1532(Cell Phone)
rayfieldclement@yahoo.com
rayfieldclement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 01:05 PM   #2
DSF
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 4,741
Default

What do you mean by use on the net? It looks like you've got a Core2 architecture processor, which is all you need. How much RAM do you currently have?

The biggest hang-up for gaming would be your video card (or lack thereof). Your PSU is also only 300-350W and is probably limited in terms of connectors.

Edit: Also not sure what's going on with these asterisks.

Last edited by DSF; 11-13-2012 at 01:56 PM.
DSF is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 01:39 PM   #3
rayfieldclement
Senior Member
 
rayfieldclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia PA (USA)
Posts: 514
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSF View Post
What do you mean by use on the net? It looks like you've got a Core2 architecture processor, which is all you need** How much RAM do you currently have?

The biggest hang-up for gaming would be your video card (or lack thereof)** Your PSU is also only 300-350W and is probably limited in terms of connectors**

Edit: Also not sure what's going on with these asterisks**

I have 2GB of RAM
OS is on drive C: with 160GB free out of 218GB
recovery is drive with 9.27 GB free out of 14.6GB

I have Windows Vista Home Basic

I wanted to upgrade to a new Windows OS but I am unshure of what to get. Any thoughts on that?
__________________
RayField Clement
Gamertag on Xbox LIVE: rayfieldclement
Philadelphia PA 19131
(215)796-1532(Cell Phone)
rayfieldclement@yahoo.com
rayfieldclement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 01:55 PM   #4
DSF
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 4,741
Default

On a side note, posting your name, address, phone number and email in your signature seems like a bad idea. I would strongly encourage changing that.
DSF is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 02:59 PM   #5
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Anand's Closet
Posts: 13,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSF View Post
On a side note, posting your name, address, phone number and email in your signature seems like a bad idea. I would strongly encourage changing that.
He's had it for a long time. Obviously haven't been to ATOT.

Can you answer the sticky.
__________________
i5 4430 | MSI B85M-P33 | Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x | Random 4gb + 2gb RAM
XFX ProSeries 450W | Intel 530 128gb + Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD | Windows 7
NZXT Vulcan | Dell E2414H
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:37 PM   #6
DesiPower
Lifer
 
DesiPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tejas Del Sur
Posts: 10,585
Default

I have a D945 LGA775 computer with 2 GB (DDR2 667) ram, and a ATI Radeon 45XX card, Linksys 54g PCI wireless card; it practically plays EVERYTHING without any hiccups or freeze, hulu, Netflix, Amazon, ripped Divx, H**264******
DesiPower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:39 PM   #7
DesiPower
Lifer
 
DesiPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tejas Del Sur
Posts: 10,585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T_Yamamoto View Post
He's had it for a long time** Obviously haven't been to ATOT**

Can you answer the sticky**
Looked at his posts, he has been on AT and P&N plenty, wonder how everyone missed it
DesiPower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:32 PM   #8
Davidh373
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 2,411
Default

If you're thinking about gutting practically everything but the chipset on a computer that old... a SSD would be recommended ($80), RAM upgrade would cost $40, OS upgrade to Win 7 or 8 (~$100), then a GPU like a 460, or 650TI ($150+).

Add all that up and it's almost the cost of a new computer. Half the cost of a full blown system that will play anything on high...
__________________
Workstation- Antec Sonata Solo II, Corsair 650TX, i7 3770K, NVidia GTX 670, 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz, 180GB Intel 330 SSD, 3TB Seagate

Gaming Build - Antec 300, Corsair 650TX, i5 760, Gigabyte GTX 660Ti, 8GB DDR3 1333, Samsung 120GB 840, 3 x 1TB Samsung F3.
Davidh373 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:15 PM   #9
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 24,452
Default

I just don't see that rig turned into a gaming rig cost-effectively. As an internet surfer, it should be fine without any upgrades, although Vista can be a bit bloated. Try a Linux Ubuntu, Mint, or Puppy liveCD.

Save your money and put together an FM2 ("Trinity") gaming rig. That platform is very cost-effective for budget gaming.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:54 PM   #10
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19,837
Default

We need to know more about what constitute light-medium games before we can make an intelligent recommendation.

As far as everything else goes, I would add this DDR2 to take the machine to 3 or 4 GB (depending on whether it has 2 or 4 DIMM slots) and a copy of Windows 7. Yeah you can get 8GB of DDR3 for about the same price, but you just don't need to get a whole new CPU and mobo to browse the web.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:36 AM   #11
Insert_Nickname
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
I just don't see that rig turned into a gaming rig cost-effectively. As an internet surfer, it should be fine without any upgrades, although Vista can be a bit bloated. Try a Linux Ubuntu, Mint, or Puppy liveCD.

Save your money and put together an FM2 ("Trinity") gaming rig. That platform is very cost-effective for budget gaming.
Agree. If you only want to upgrade your current system, save the cash and just get an SSD. That's the BEST overall upgrade you can do and the SSD can be reused in a new build...
Insert_Nickname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 10:17 AM   #12
DominionSeraph
Diamond Member
 
DominionSeraph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Equestria
Posts: 7,503
Default

I have an Inspiron 521 with an X2 5200+, so what we have is pretty close. I threw a 9600GT in mine and it pairs well with the processor.

Now, this is old system so it's a complete waste to put too much money into it. Thankfully, you don't have to. My suggestions would be:

Get Windows XP. It's night and day over Vista, and it won't give you the compatibility issues of Windows 7 for older games. You probably have a key lying around somewhere already. If not, ask around. Put a post on FS/FT -- somebody probably has one they'll let go for $5-$10.

I'd get this 6670:
http://us.ncix.com/products/?sku=700...SI%2FMicroStar

It's a good match for your CPU and it'll work with your stock PSU.
It's on backorder, but $50 for a GDDR5 version is really good.

I'd pick up this RAM:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004UAAVJQ/?tag=pcpapi-20
Ignore that it says notebook RAM. 240 pin is desktop RAM, and that model number comes up as 240 pin desktop RAM on every other site including the manufacturer's.

And that's about it. Your 250GB drive should be plenty of space, as most older games aren't that big.

I don't really know printers, but here's an all-in-one for $30 with free shipping:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/827526-REG
__________________
Strobe Last

"P&N: Not Quite as Bad as Stormfront"
DominionSeraph is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 09:09 PM   #13
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19,837
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominionSeraph View Post
I'd pick up this RAM:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004UAAVJQ/?tag=pcpapi-20
Ignore that it says notebook RAM. 240 pin is desktop RAM, and that model number comes up as 240 pin desktop RAM on every other site including the manufacturer's.
The OP already has 2GB, so a 2x1GB kit isn't going to help him if his mobo only has 2 DIMM slots (very likely).
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 09:30 PM   #14
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davidh373 View Post
If you're thinking about gutting practically everything but the chipset on a computer that old... a SSD would be recommended ($80), RAM upgrade would cost $40, OS upgrade to Win 7 or 8 (~$100), then a GPU like a 460, or 650TI ($150+).

Add all that up and it's almost the cost of a new computer. Half the cost of a full blown system that will play anything on high...
That's my opinion to.
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:57 AM   #15
DominionSeraph
Diamond Member
 
DominionSeraph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Equestria
Posts: 7,503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
The OP already has 2GB, so a 2x1GB kit isn't going to help him if his mobo only has 2 DIMM slots (very likely).
The 530 has 4.
__________________
Strobe Last

"P&N: Not Quite as Bad as Stormfront"
DominionSeraph is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:12 AM   #16
rayfieldclement
Senior Member
 
rayfieldclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia PA (USA)
Posts: 514
Default

Thanks people!
__________________
RayField Clement
Gamertag on Xbox LIVE: rayfieldclement
Philadelphia PA 19131
(215)796-1532(Cell Phone)
rayfieldclement@yahoo.com
rayfieldclement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 02:16 PM   #17
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19,837
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominionSeraph View Post
The 530 has 4.
It can have 2 or 4 depending on which specific model. Check out pages 126 and 127 of the owner's manual.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 02:34 PM   #18
sabahm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 14
Default

In my view, the answer will be RAM (if you want to speed up , a little bit)
sabahm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.