Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-12-2012, 10:04 AM   #1
cancerfox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Default 4core dual sata2 not correctly working

Hi everyone
I have a 4core dual sata2 rev 2.0 and I've bench tested it:
when I use it with a 400W or a 550W PSU it doensn't startup (only fans and no beeps). When I use a 650W it beeps (when ram is not present) but nothing on display. Very rarely and in a randomly mode it boots up on display but when I restart it does not show on display.
Consider the following:
1) all elements work because already working on other pc
2)so do the PSU
3)other owners of this mobo use also less than 400W PSU which is considered minimal
4) no capacitor seems damaged or leaky and tested with multimeter are ok.
5) no signs of damage on motherboard

any suggestion ?
Thank You

Cancerfox
cancerfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 06:26 PM   #2
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,483
Default

Welcome to the forum.give all spec. plz
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:16 AM   #3
cancerfox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Hi
here are the specs:
mobo: Asrock 4core dual sata rev 2.0
CPU: Intel e2140
RAM: 512 DDR 400mhz
videocard 1: HIS AGP hd4650
videocard 2: PCI-Ex Geforce 6600 gs 256 mb
PSU 1: 400W with 18A on 12v channel
PSU 2: 550W with 24A on 12v channel
PSU 3: 650W with 35A on 12v channel

Thank You

Cancerfox
cancerfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:03 AM   #4
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,483
Default

What OS are you running xp vista or 7.and 32 bit or 64 bit.
according to asrock http://www.asrock.com/mb/VIA/4CoreDual-SATA2%20R2.0/ it is windows 7 64.and 512 pc-3200 is too low.and asrock support max 2gb.
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:34 AM   #5
cancerfox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Sorry denis280
thank you for replying
I missed writing:
it's a new system: I've not installed OS because this mobo has never worked since I have it. A friend of a friend of mine gave me this mobo for free saying that he didn't succeed in making it work.
I've mounted this system but nothing on video.

Cancefox
cancerfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:31 AM   #6
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,483
Default

ok first of all. lets start basic.leave in the videocard 2: PCI-Ex Geforce 6600 gs 256 mb.then the PSU 1: 400W with 18A on 12v channel.and see if it boot.
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 11:23 AM   #7
cancerfox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Default

already done:
only fans spin and no video. If ram is not present or anything else there is no beep with this PSU.
cancerfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 02:08 PM   #8
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,483
Default

when you do that take all the other stuff out.
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:31 PM   #9
cancerfox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Default

yes
mobo with just cpu and it beeps only when I use the 650W PSU (the beep code says ram is missing). When I use PSU with lower Wattage there is no beep only fans spinning.
cancerfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:04 PM   #10
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,483
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cancerfox View Post
mobo with just cpu and it beeps only when I use the 650W PSU (the beep code says ram is missing)
ok and what about if you put the ram in
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 12:21 AM   #11
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,454
Default

What specific model RAM modules are you using? It sounds to me like you might have a incompatible module if you are getting beep codes with at least one PSU. You may also have to clear the CMOS memory (check the motherboard manual on the Asrock website to see how to do this) before the system will boot.

Also, are you putting the right memory module in the right slot? According to the website link provided by Denis280, the motherboard supports two different kind of memory modules (one set of two DDR2 modules, while the 2nd supports a pair of DDR modules). If you have the right module in the right slot (it shouldn't be possible to put the wrong memory in the wrong slot without application of some serious physical force, though), try the module in the 2nd slot of the pair to see if you get a response.

If all else fails and you know all hardware is compatible, do the basic fallback: remove the add-in cards and disconnect all drives, dismount the motherboard from the case, put it on a cardbox/static bag, plug in one memory module and one video card, hook up the power supply, and see if it will post this way (you may have to short the power switch jumpers on the motherboard with a screwdriver if the case switch wire will not reach) to eliminate grounding issues with the motherboard mount in the case. Also, make sure you have the case switch and reset buttons plugged into the right pins on the motherboard and not reversed.

Last edited by Steltek; 11-14-2012 at 12:24 AM.
Steltek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 10:54 AM   #12
cancerfox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by denis280 View Post
ok and what about if you put the ram in
When I put ram in it does not beep but nothing on video (even if 3 or 4 times it appeared with boot sequence against dozens of restarts) . Fans still spinning
cancerfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 10:59 AM   #13
cancerfox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steltek View Post
What specific model RAM modules are you using? It sounds to me like you might have a incompatible module if you are getting beep codes with at least one PSU. You may also have to clear the CMOS memory (check the motherboard manual on the Asrock website to see how to do this) before the system will boot.

Also, are you putting the right memory module in the right slot? According to the website link provided by Denis280, the motherboard supports two different kind of memory modules (one set of two DDR2 modules, while the 2nd supports a pair of DDR modules). If you have the right module in the right slot (it shouldn't be possible to put the wrong memory in the wrong slot without application of some serious physical force, though), try the module in the 2nd slot of the pair to see if you get a response.

If all else fails and you know all hardware is compatible, do the basic fallback: remove the add-in cards and disconnect all drives, dismount the motherboard from the case, put it on a cardbox/static bag, plug in one memory module and one video card, hook up the power supply, and see if it will post this way (you may have to short the power switch jumpers on the motherboard with a screwdriver if the case switch wire will not reach) to eliminate grounding issues with the motherboard mount in the case. Also, make sure you have the case switch and reset buttons plugged into the right pins on the motherboard and not reversed.
512 Ram is Nanya but also tried Samsung 1gb and no difference
I've put it in the right slot (DDR1) and also tried both slots
tested with only videocard and ram and the result is that written in my reply to denis 280

Cancerfox
cancerfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:43 AM   #14
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,483
Default

the ddr2 go into the blue slots.Like steltek told you.take it all out take the cpu out and check for the pins.clear CMOS restart all from begining.also look for bad caps.ans brown spots on the mobo.
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 06:47 AM   #15
cancerfox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Sorry ddr2 fit in the yellow one
tried also CMOS clearing
no caps seem bad or leaky. tested also with multimeter

but after your suggestion I've seen that there is a little scratch underneath the northbridge: some circuit line appear naked (i.e. I see a copper-like colour)
cancerfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 07:41 AM   #16
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,483
Default

if the scratch is not to deep it should be ok.but if it still not working after all the test above. i guest you should start looking for a new mobo.
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.