Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-12-2012, 02:55 PM   #1
hennessy1
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,844
Default General RAM Disk Question

I have 4 Intel 320 series ssd's in a RAID 0 array on an areca 1882 raid controller with 4GB of cache. Would having a ram disk or program like fancy cache have any real world benefit for me or would it be purely synthetic placebo effect type of thing?

I only ask this because I still get stuttering on my system when doing tasks that involve the disk systems. I was wondering if using that would alleviate that issue or not really.

Thank you for any help.
hennessy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 03:05 PM   #2
Phynaz
Diamond Member
 
Phynaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6,646
Default

A RAM disk isn't going to help you.

Have you tried the disks not raided?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abwx View Post
I saw good resolutions pics of the so called lunar module, heck, that s quite a piece of garbage with badly jointed metalic and litteraly hammered plates, seriously, you think that this piece of metalic junk actualy landed on the moon..??
Phynaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 04:15 PM   #3
hhhd1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 472
Default

You can open resource monitor during the activities you are talking about, and notice which is reaching 100% usage, is it the cpu or the disk, there you will know which is causing the slow downs.

Hint: it is the cpu.
hhhd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 12:48 PM   #4
hennessy1
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,844
Default

I ended up replacing those drives with Samsung 830 series drives and the stuttering has seemed to subside quite a bit. It is still there every now and then but a lot less severe.

CPU is never maxing out when these slow downs happen.
hennessy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 03:47 PM   #5
hhhd1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 472
Default

If your computer have 4 threads then a cpu usage of 25% percentage is enough to cause some slow downs.

That is why you should monitor "disk utilization" and not "cpu usage".
hhhd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 05:33 PM   #6
Railgun
Senior Member
 
Railgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: ORD-->LHR
Posts: 986
Default

Real world benefit depends on real world usage scenarios. RAM disk will still be faster than the raid setup. Much faster.
Railgun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.