Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Distributed Computing

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2012, 12:26 PM   #1
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 26,739
Default Anyone use TeamViewer to remotely manage crunchers?

Just wondering how well it works, especially with GPU crunching going on.

I may be installing a cruncher at a relative's house, that is not really that computer-savvy. so I would like to be able to remotely manage it myself.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 12:38 PM   #2
Ken g6
Elite Member
 
Ken g6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,054
Default

TeamViewer? No. VNC? Yes.

Whether GPU crunching would make things difficult probably depends on the GPU and the crunching. And the drivers - BOINC's been slow to react when GPU crunching since I had to upgrade to 310 nVidia Linux drivers.
__________________
Look for really BIG primes with TeAm AnandTech PrimeGrid!
Next race: December 18-21, with GPUs!
Ken g6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:10 PM   #3
somethingsketchy
Senior Member
 
somethingsketchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: East Coast
Posts: 996
Default

Assuming RDP has been allowed at the router level, you could try mRemoteNG. I use this at work for server work, and it is rock solid. This is a fork of mRemote (which is no longer supported). Regardless if it is an Windows 2003 server 400 miles away, or a Windows 7 in the next cube, the application works like a charm.
somethingsketchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:42 PM   #4
IGemini
Platinum Member
 
IGemini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 2,127
Default

I've used Teamviewer for managing computers using bitcoin and/or BOINC/FAH. I only remember it being slower if both the CPU and GPU were fully loaded, but it was still doable.
__________________
Fafnir [main]: Intel i5-4670K | Corsair H100i | ASRock Z87M Extreme4 | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3L-1600 | HIS IceQ Radeon 7870 2GB | Samsung 840 EVO 250GB | Cooler Master N200 | Seasonic G 450W
Nightstar [HTPC]: Intel Q9650 | ASUS P5Q Deluxe | 2x2GB Patriot DDR2-1066 |
PNY GT 220 1GB | Corsair Force F115 | NZXT Apollo | Antec Neo Eco 400C
[ Heat - WIP ]
IGemini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:29 PM   #5
PCTC2
Diamond Member
 
PCTC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,862
Default

You could always try LogMeIN as well. It has the capability to tunnel through routers.
__________________
-E3200,DG45FC,4GB,SSD - Q6600,GT240,eVGA 680i SLI,4GB - Q9400,8800GTS G92,EP45-UD3P,4GB
-Ci7 920,U2711,GT240,X58 FTW3,12GB,SSD - Ci7 860,HD5670,eVGA P55M,8GB,SSD
-17" MBP Ci5 - Mac Mini Server C2D - Mac Mini Server Ci7
-2x Xeon E5520,SM X8DTH-6F,24GB,ESXi5 - Xeon E3-1220,8TB RAID5,SM X9SCM-F,8GB,SSD -E3300,G43ITX,4GB,7.5TB RAID-Z+SSD
HEATWARE
PCTC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:16 PM   #6
spencers
Senior Member
 
spencers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 403
Default

I just use TightVNC.

I VPN into my network and use Screens on my iPad/iPhone to control each computer.

Just make sure the computers are named if they don't have static addresses.

I installed iStat server on each machine as well so I can monitor system info.
__________________
Lian Li Q25B | ASUS P8H77 | i3-3220T | 4GB HyperX DDR3 1600 | 4x2TB | unRAID
Intel DC3217IYE Next Unit of Computing | i3-3217U | 4GB Crucial DDR3 1600 | 32GB Crucial mSATA | HTPC
Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=9600

Last edited by spencers; 11-12-2012 at 01:19 PM.
spencers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 12:14 AM   #7
sangyup81
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PCTC2 View Post
You could always try LogMeIN as well. It has the capability to tunnel through routers.
I also use logmein.com!
sangyup81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:37 PM   #8
Sunny129
Diamond Member
 
Sunny129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sangyup81 View Post
I also use logmein.com!
me too!
__________________
1) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
2) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
3) i7 3770K, Hyper 212 EVO, Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H, HD 7970, SeaSonic X-650, Win7 x64
4) X6 1055T, Hyper 212+, MSI 890GXM-G65, 2 X HD 6670, Antec Neo Eco 620, Win7 x64
My Heat (56-0-0) | BOINCstats
Sunny129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 02:51 AM   #9
pattysam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Try with Lepide Remote Admin It would be the secure option for remotely access of PC with crunching issue as well
pattysam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 10:01 AM   #10
wayliff
Lifer
 
wayliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 11,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny129 View Post
me too!
me three!
__________________
Heatware
wayliff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 10:51 AM   #11
blckgrffn
Diamond Member
 
blckgrffn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 6,639
Default

Teamviewer rocks once you have it set up for remote administration, I honestly don't think can be beat. The client is so robust, no dorking with port forwarding, just works... It's freaking free, too.

I have it installed on PC's across the Midwest that I "support" and couldn't ask for a better tool.

I would love to use it for work, but their licensing sucks balls for SMB.
__________________
Crunch/Fold for the TeAm! http://forums.anandtech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15

3930k @ 4.2 - GA-UP4 - 2x MSI TF3 7950 - 32GB EL RAM - Seasonic X650 - 840 250GB - U2913WM

Last edited by blckgrffn; 12-11-2012 at 10:53 AM.
blckgrffn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 11:00 AM   #12
Sunny129
Diamond Member
 
Sunny129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,782
Default

does anyone who uses TeamViewer also have experience w/ LogMeIn too? and does anyone who uses LogMeIn also have experience w/ TeamViewer? it seems the LogMeIn users swear by LogMeIn, but the TeamViewer users seem quite fervent about TeamViewer too.

blckgrffn, i feel the same way about LogMeIn as you do about TeamViewer, but i have no personal experience with it.
__________________
1) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
2) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
3) i7 3770K, Hyper 212 EVO, Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H, HD 7970, SeaSonic X-650, Win7 x64
4) X6 1055T, Hyper 212+, MSI 890GXM-G65, 2 X HD 6670, Antec Neo Eco 620, Win7 x64
My Heat (56-0-0) | BOINCstats
Sunny129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 11:57 AM   #13
sangyup81
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blckgrffn View Post
Teamviewer rocks once you have it set up for remote administration, I honestly don't think can be beat. The client is so robust, no dorking with port forwarding, just works... It's freaking free, too.

I have it installed on PC's across the Midwest that I "support" and couldn't ask for a better tool.

I would love to use it for work, but their licensing sucks balls for SMB.
That sounds exactly like my experience with logmein.com
I'm starting to suspect they do the exact same things
sangyup81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 02:51 PM   #14
blckgrffn
Diamond Member
 
blckgrffn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 6,639
Default

haha, sounds like both tools are good enough that once you find them "your search is over."

Plus, you have little incentive to setup multiple of the "aggregate all your clients into one management console" type applications, it just doesn't make sense.
__________________
Crunch/Fold for the TeAm! http://forums.anandtech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15

3930k @ 4.2 - GA-UP4 - 2x MSI TF3 7950 - 32GB EL RAM - Seasonic X650 - 840 250GB - U2913WM
blckgrffn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.