Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Distributed Computing

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2012, 08:49 PM   #1
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 24,443
Default Quad-GPU cruncher (9600GSO x4) cannot run WCG HCC CPU WUs?

I get a notice saying it cannot run on my GPU. Running newest NV Win7 64-bit driver. 306.xx?

Yet, I have it running on a GT430 on my main rig. Are the 9600GSO cards too old? Even though they are comparable in speed to the GT430?

Edit: Ok, am doing PrimeGrid on the GPU(s). Or at least, I want to. It only detected one GPU.

Interestingly, EVGA Precision Legacy 2.12 only gives me one GPU temp, but it gives the other stats for all 4 GPUs.

What am I doing wrong here?
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec

Last edited by VirtualLarry; 11-10-2012 at 08:56 PM.
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:04 PM   #2
ZipSpeed
Golden Member
 
ZipSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 1,136
Default

Here is a list of cards that are unable to participate in HCC GPU. The 9600 GSO, unfortunately, is on the list.

https://secure.worldcommunitygrid.or...rtName=GPU#610

As for your GPU problem, I don't have anything to offer other than maybe trying to yank two of the cards and see if it can at least recognize two.
__________________
PLAY, WORK & CRUNCH
(1) i7 3770K @ 4.2 GHz | 7950 @ 1100/1500 MHz (2) i7 2600K @ 4.2 GHz | GTX 580 @ 850/1700/1050 MHz (3) i7 950 @ 4.0 GHz | 7870 XT @ 1100/1500 MHz
CRUNCH
(1) i5 2500K @ 4.2 GHz | GT 240 (2) i7 970 @ 3.9 GHz | GTX 480 @ 775/1550/924 MHz (3) Q9550 @ 3.4 GHz | 5850 @ 900/1250 MHz (4) X6 1055T @ 3.5 GHz | 2 x GTX 460 @ 825/1650/900 MHz
ZipSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:15 PM   #3
OmegaSupreme
Member
 
OmegaSupreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 61
Default

Which GSO's are you using exactly? Some are a bit more locked down than others.
OmegaSupreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:24 AM   #4
petrusbroder
Lifer
 
petrusbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In Blekinge, the garden of Sweden
Posts: 11,710
Default

Also please remember, in WCG each GPU needs one CPU-core ... thus 4 GPUs need 4 cores, which you have, but what about the other work? IIRC it needs 4 cores excusively ... I may be wrong though ...
__________________
Petrusbroder
Shrunk Rapper

"There is an art, it says, or, rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
From: Douglas Adams: Life, the Universe and Everything: Chapter 9
petrusbroder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 11:07 PM   #5
sangyup81
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by petrusbroder View Post
Also please remember, in WCG each GPU needs one CPU-core ... thus 4 GPUs need 4 cores, which you have, but what about the other work? IIRC it needs 4 cores excusively ... I may be wrong though ...
I ran some quick and dirty benchmarks using app_info and run-times were shorter with 0.2 cores than with 0.25 or 0.15 cores. This is for a Llano laptop which also has a 6650m. The test was done on the 6650m but not on the 6520G which is integrated in to the Llano. Further research should be done if anyone has some time!
sangyup81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.