Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2012, 07:55 PM   #1
Aviator10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default Win8 pro metro is not working

So I installed win 8 pro and all goes well. But not one single tile on the metro works. It expands to fill the whole screen and immediately becomes a tile again.
I signed on with my live ID, but after some googling changed it to local user even, no love.
Help please?
Aviator10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 08:53 PM   #2
zephxiii
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 167
Default

Preview or RTM/Pro?
zephxiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 06:04 AM   #3
Aviator10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

The one MS allows you to download for 39$ and burn to your DVD.
I installed over Win 7 home premium 64bit on my HP Pavilion dv7

Last edited by Aviator10; 11-03-2012 at 06:10 AM.
Aviator10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:46 PM   #4
ViRGE
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
ViRGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,130
Default

It sounds like Metro apps are refusing to properly launch. I think one other person here reported that, but I don't remember seeing a resolution.
__________________
ViRGE
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them
ViRGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 04:51 PM   #5
sonoma1993
Diamond Member
 
sonoma1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 3,309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aviator10 View Post
So I installed win 8 pro and all goes well. But not one single tile on the metro works. It expands to fill the whole screen and immediately becomes a tile again.
I signed on with my live ID, but after some googling changed it to local user even, no love.
Help please?

I'm kinda having the same issue as well. but it's only with the Store app. It'll open then close right away
sonoma1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:02 PM   #6
Pardus
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 7,822
Default

Waiting for SP1 before going to WinDont 8.
+
As per our sticky, we ask that you closely keep to the topic in technical threads. "WinDont" is threadcrapping and is exactly what we wish to avoid.
-ViRGE

Last edited by esquared; 01-21-2013 at 12:50 AM. Reason: reniserted mod edit
Pardus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 09:47 PM   #7
dagamer34
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yazoo View Post
Waiting for SP1 before going to WinDont 8.
I think service packs are done for. Microsoft has progressively doing less and less of them with each release of Windows.
dagamer34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 11:37 AM   #8
uallas5
Senior Member
 
uallas5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 325
Default

OP are you running Win8 on a netbook? 1024x768 is the minimum resolution for Metro to work correctly. I just can't remember if the apps did what you're describing or just refused to open at all.
__________________
"I Know Bad From Good and Where to Get the Refill" - Mr. Harding, The Schizophrenic Stock Broker

"The Problem With the World is That Everyone is a Few Drinks Behind" - Humphrey Bogart
uallas5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.