Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2012, 02:15 PM   #1
Dannar26
Senior Member
 
Dannar26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Greater Philadelphia, USA
Posts: 316
Default Stuck with Win8 32 bit version?

I upgraded from XP 32 bit edition using the forty dollar win8 pro upgrade. I don't recall it ever asking me which version I'd like. I have a 64 bit processor and 8 gigs of RAM. I'd rather use all of my system's resources, like any sane person given the choice.

I'm not stuck in 32 bit am I? If this is the case, I'd never have left XP.

EDIT *SOLUTION*:

If you have 32 bit windows XP (or any other 32 bit windows OS) and you want to make the jump to Windows 8 pro using the $40 digital upgrade (offer lasts until the end of January, hop on it!), here's what you should do...

When you use the upgrade advisor, it's going to lock you into whatever environment you're currently in. So if you have 32, expect to go to 32. If you have 64, expect to go to 64. You can get around this however.

WHAT YOU WILL NEED :

A PC running a 64 bit version of windows

Go to your other computer, or go to a friends/co-workers/bosses computer or whomever you can get hand from. Make the upgrade purchase from their PC. You will download windows 8, and then you will have the option to install it then and there (don't do it), leave it on the computer to install later, or (and our winner) make bootable media. If you have a USB drive you can boot from, fine. But what I did was burn an ISO to a DVD. Since you're on your buddy's 64 bit machine, the ISO will automatically be 64 bit. Burn the DvD, and take it home with you.

And then, simply boot from your DvD and install windows that way. Lo and behold it will be 64 bit.

If you were like me in that you made the purchase already from your home 32 bit PC, fear not! You still need your buddy's 64 bit rig. Simply follow this link:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...oduct-key-only

...and throw in your product key. Follow the same steps about burning the ISO. When you come back home and install it from the DvD before your computer boots and you'll have successfully gone from 32bit whatever to 64bit Windows 8 for 40 bucks. Winning!

Last edited by Dannar26; 11-12-2012 at 12:03 PM.
Dannar26 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 04:48 PM   #2
postmortemIA
Diamond Member
 
postmortemIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 6,446
Default

you're not, but only 32-bit setup can be ran from 32-bit windows. Make the ISO and do the upgrade.
__________________
D1. Win7 x64 i7-3770 on Z77, HD7850, 2707WFP, 840, X-Fi D2. Win7 x64 E8400 on P35
L1. OSX 10.9 rMBP 13 L2. Vista x86 E1505
M. Galaxy S4

postmortemIA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 05:54 PM   #3
Dannar26
Senior Member
 
Dannar26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Greater Philadelphia, USA
Posts: 316
Default

I've been running through tech support for hours and eventually they said something to that effect. At first they wanted me to buy 64 bit windows 7. Then I called back with the fury of 1000 suns.

I guess I have to put the windows 8 install file on a DVD, and reboot from my optical drive like how I used to install win xp in the good ole' days.

Forgive my noobness, but do I have this right?
Dannar26 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 05:58 PM   #4
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dannar26 View Post
I've been running through tech support for hours and eventually they said something to that effect. At first they wanted me to buy 64 bit windows 7. Then I called back with the fury of 1000 suns.

I guess I have to put the windows 8 install file on a DVD, and reboot from my optical drive like how I used to install win xp in the good ole' days.

Forgive my noobness, but do I have this right?
Yes, either that or use a bootable USB flash drive.
Steltek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:14 PM   #5
Dannar26
Senior Member
 
Dannar26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Greater Philadelphia, USA
Posts: 316
Default

Got it. Burned the ISO image...was surprised how it fit on one DVD.

Booted from CD. installing. Still doesn't ask me what version to install. Does it automatically just go with the 64 bit version? Knowing my luck, I'll have installed win8 32 bit for the third time today...
Dannar26 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:36 PM   #6
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,667
Default

????? did you take the 64 bit iso
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:45 PM   #7
Dannar26
Senior Member
 
Dannar26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Greater Philadelphia, USA
Posts: 316
Default

Great, it installed the 32 yet again.

I give up! How on earth do you get the 64 bit ISO instead of the 32 bit one?

My win xp install is 32 bit. Does this mean I'm stuck with 32 on this upgrade? Why the hell is this such a damn trial?
Dannar26 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:56 PM   #8
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,667
Default

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...e-to-windows-8

Last edited by denis280; 11-11-2012 at 07:59 PM. Reason: wrong os
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 08:05 PM   #9
Dannar26
Senior Member
 
Dannar26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Greater Philadelphia, USA
Posts: 316
Default

http://m.winsupersite.com/article/wi...t-64bit-144649

I think this is the answer I'm looking for. I guess I need a computer running a 64 bit OS to burn the ISO. Then, I boot off said burn copy...
Dannar26 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 08:27 PM   #10
postmortemIA
Diamond Member
 
postmortemIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 6,446
Default

wow, Microsoft made it so hard to get the ISO, or easy to install it without ISO
Get the Windows 8 x64 enterprise evaluation, and then use that advisor within evaluation to get the Win x64 8 pro:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/eval.../jj554510.aspx
__________________
D1. Win7 x64 i7-3770 on Z77, HD7850, 2707WFP, 840, X-Fi D2. Win7 x64 E8400 on P35
L1. OSX 10.9 rMBP 13 L2. Vista x86 E1505
M. Galaxy S4

postmortemIA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 09:30 PM   #11
Dannar26
Senior Member
 
Dannar26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Greater Philadelphia, USA
Posts: 316
Default

Sounds like a good idea, I'll have to give it a shot tomorrow.

Still, I think the problem is that these "advisors" automatically stick you with the same level of OS as you're currently running. It would be nice if there was some way of knowing beforehand...rather than going into the system settings (which is a bit more work with Metro) to find out you've been screwed after waiting through hours of installing.

Beware 32 bit win XP users looking to upgrade on the cheap (a very specific group, I'm sure).

Hope we can come up with a better work around...
Dannar26 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 12:04 PM   #12
Dannar26
Senior Member
 
Dannar26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Greater Philadelphia, USA
Posts: 316
Default

Solved. Explanation in the OP.
Dannar26 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.