Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Distributed Computing

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2011, 08:39 PM   #1
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,226
Default How to get more than two NV GPUs recognized by BOINC in Win7 64-bit?

Can't quite figure this out. Installed Win7 HP 64-bit. Installed NV 286.xx driver. Then installed BOINC client.

Attached to PrimeGrid, figured it would use all four GPUs I have in this box. But it only started two GPU tasks, on "device 0" and "device 1". And two more CPU-only tasks. (Dual-core AMD CPU.)

Anyone know how to configure BOINC and PrimeGrid to utilize four 9600GSO GPUs?

Do I need to extend my Windows desktop to these other GPUs, like I used to have to in Folding@Home on XP?

When I went to the Screen Resolution properties, it shows my primary display (DVI-to-VGA), and then it shows four additional non-connected displays.

Under XP, it showed my primary display, and three other displays that I had to extend my desktop onto.

Why is Win7 showing FIVE displays total. I don't get that.

Edit: I close BOINC, extended my desktop to VGA, so that I had 8 displays showing. I then re-started BOINC. Still only two GPU tasks.

I tried editing the client_config.xml file, with cuda_devs to 4 instead of 2, but it just re-writes it when I start the client back to 2.

I found this, and it references a cc_config.xml file, which is not present in the newest BOINC client that I installed. Unless, I have to create that file.

http://boincfaq.mundayweb.com/index....age=1&view=471

Code:
<cc_config>
    <options>
        <use_all_gpus>1</use_all_gpus>
    </options>
</cc_config>
I also tried reverting back a few drivers, from 286.xx to 280.26. Still no dice. All four 9600GSOs are showing up under the Computer's Properties, under Devices and Printers, under Control Panel.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec

Last edited by VirtualLarry; 11-10-2011 at 09:22 PM.
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 09:06 PM   #2
sangyup81
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,082
Default

are you familiar with use_all_gpus under cc_config.xml?
sangyup81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 09:23 PM   #3
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sangyup81 View Post
are you familiar with use_all_gpus under cc_config.xml?
Do I create the cc_config.xml file? I don't see it listed as part of the BOINC install. Should that go under ProgramData\BOINC?

Edit: Wow, that did it. All I did was save that code snipped that I quoted, as a file called "cc_config.xml", and copied it under the appropriate directory, and fired up BOINC.

Makes me wonder why they only auto-detect up to two GPUs. Seems like a hassle.

Thanks for your help!
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec

Last edited by VirtualLarry; 11-10-2011 at 09:27 PM.
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 01:50 PM   #4
blckgrffn
Diamond Member
 
blckgrffn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 6,639
Default

Hey, I wanted to point out that there are some $40 GT 240's available on the b-stock page of EVGA's store... in case you were still interested in lowering your power footprint.

4x GTS 450 would be even more impressive

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814162062
__________________
Crunch/Fold for the TeAm! http://forums.anandtech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15

3930k @ 4.2 - GA-UP4 - 2x MSI TF3 7950 - 32GB EL RAM - Seasonic X650 - 840 250GB - U2913WM

Last edited by blckgrffn; 11-16-2011 at 01:53 PM.
blckgrffn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 02:57 PM   #5
Ken g6
Elite Member
 
Ken g6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 8,669
Default

GT430s > GT240s. If you have spare PCIe x1 slots, you can get this and this to fill them.
__________________
Look for really BIG primes with TeAm AnandTech PrimeGrid!
Next race: October 4-9

Last edited by Ken g6; 11-11-2012 at 11:45 AM. Reason: Both products were out of stock, one was angled wrong.
Ken g6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 03:12 PM   #6
somethingsketchy
Senior Member
 
somethingsketchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: East Coast
Posts: 984
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
Do I create the cc_config.xml file? I don't see it listed as part of the BOINC install. Should that go under ProgramData\BOINC?

Edit: Wow, that did it. All I did was save that code snipped that I quoted, as a file called "cc_config.xml", and copied it under the appropriate directory, and fired up BOINC.

Makes me wonder why they only auto-detect up to two GPUs. Seems like a hassle.

Thanks for your help!

The programmers of BOINC, probably didn't account for people with more than two GPUs, let alone four GPUs on the same rig running at once. In the grand scheme of things, it would be uncommon to have a lot of people with 4GPU rigs. I know I haven't meant any nerds (in real life ) that ran more than two GPUs at once.
somethingsketchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 06:11 PM   #7
Sunny129
Diamond Member
 
Sunny129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somethingsketchy View Post
The programmers of BOINC, probably didn't account for people with more than two GPUs, let alone four GPUs on the same rig running at once. In the grand scheme of things, it would be uncommon to have a lot of people with 4GPU rigs. I know I haven't meant any nerds (in real life ) that ran more than two GPUs at once.
well i can't say for sure if any of them are truly nerds , but i'm pretty sure there are a few TeAm AnandTech crunchers here on the boards that crunch w/ 3 and 4 GPUs in some of their rigs.

i'll tell you what, i have an MSI 790FX-GD70 sitting in a box here that i would love to put to use if i had the money for some decent GPU crunchers. its got 4 PCIe x16 slots, so i can run 4 GPUs at x8 if i had the GPUs to do it...or i could be more conservative and crunch on only 3 of them so the fourth could be a dedicated display card/video card so as to eliminate any and all GUI lag one might get from crunching on a multicore CPU and multiple GPUs all in the same rig.
Sunny129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 04:37 PM   #8
Alyx
Golden Member
 
Alyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken g6 View Post
GT430s > GT240s. If you have spare PCIe x1 slots, you can get this and this to fill them.
Crazy!!
__________________
My photography
Crunch for TeAm Anandtech, head for the Distributed Computing Forums!
Alyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 09:10 AM   #9
blckgrffn
Diamond Member
 
blckgrffn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 6,639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alyx View Post
Crazy!!

Wouldn't case modification be required to use that, though? I mean, the video cards would be in there the wrong way, right?
__________________
Crunch/Fold for the TeAm! http://forums.anandtech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15

3930k @ 4.2 - GA-UP4 - 2x MSI TF3 7950 - 32GB EL RAM - Seasonic X650 - 840 250GB - U2913WM
blckgrffn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 10:00 AM   #10
Evadman
Administrator Emeritus
Elite Member
 
Evadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 30,970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blckgrffn View Post
Wouldn't case modification be required to use that, though? I mean, the video cards would be in there the wrong way, right?
__________________
Dan (Schmin) 1981-2003. Rest in Peace
I want to drinkify all my snacks. Chewing is for people living in the 19th century.
My Blog
Evadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 10:03 AM   #11
Sunny129
Diamond Member
 
Sunny129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,759
Default

LOL ^
__________________
1) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
2) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
3) i7 3770K, Hyper 212 EVO, Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H, HD 7970, SeaSonic X-650, Win7 x64
4) X6 1055T, Hyper 212+, MSI 890GXM-G65, 2 X HD 6670, Antec Neo Eco 620, Win7 x64
My Heat (56-0-0) | BOINCstats
Sunny129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 10:49 AM   #12
petrusbroder
Lifer
 
petrusbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In Blekinge, the garden of Sweden
Posts: 11,836
Default

LoL 2:nd ^^
__________________
Petrusbroder
Shrunk Rapper

"There is an art, it says, or, rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
From: Douglas Adams: Life, the Universe and Everything: Chapter 9
petrusbroder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 11:53 AM   #13
Rudy Toody
Diamond Member
 
Rudy Toody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,535
Default

LoL ∞
__________________
When life hands you lemons, stick some nails in them and wire them up to power a DC rig!
Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity.
Rudy Toody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 01:33 PM   #14
blckgrffn
Diamond Member
 
blckgrffn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 6,639
Default

Hah... Yeah, I thought so

I'd be interested in a couple 9600GT's if you were looking to actually go through with an upgrade...
__________________
Crunch/Fold for the TeAm! http://forums.anandtech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15

3930k @ 4.2 - GA-UP4 - 2x MSI TF3 7950 - 32GB EL RAM - Seasonic X650 - 840 250GB - U2913WM
blckgrffn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 08:59 PM   #15
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,226
Default

Having this problem again with BOINC 7.0.28. Only it only detects one GPU, not two. But I have four. Will try this solution again.

Edit: Adding the cc_config.xml file fixed it again.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec

Last edited by VirtualLarry; 11-10-2012 at 09:24 PM.
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:59 PM   #16
Sunny129
Diamond Member
 
Sunny129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,759
Default <use_all_gpus>

yeah, the <use_all_gpus> statement always seems to be a life saver (when i remember to use it lol). glad everything is working again...
__________________
1) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
2) i7 3770K, Hyper 212+, Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3, 2 X HD 7970, SeaSonic X-750, Win7 x64
3) i7 3770K, Hyper 212 EVO, Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H, HD 7970, SeaSonic X-650, Win7 x64
4) X6 1055T, Hyper 212+, MSI 890GXM-G65, 2 X HD 6670, Antec Neo Eco 620, Win7 x64
My Heat (56-0-0) | BOINCstats
Sunny129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:30 AM   #17
Ken g6
Elite Member
 
Ken g6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 8,669
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blckgrffn View Post
Wouldn't case modification be required to use that, though? I mean, the video cards would be in there the wrong way, right?
I hadn't noticed this. Glad I didn't get any. What I meant to link to was this.
__________________
Look for really BIG primes with TeAm AnandTech PrimeGrid!
Next race: October 4-9
Ken g6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.