Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Programming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2012, 04:35 AM   #1
think2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 141
Default HTML / Wordpress problem

I have a problem with a wordpress website I'm helping to add the content to. We have three small images shown side by side, left aligned, the third of which is shown below starting with <div> and ending with </div>. The problem is that to get the next section to start on the line below the images instead of to the right of them, we have to have the six &nbsp; you can see below and What You See (in edit mode) Is Not What You Get (in "live mode") i.e. in edit mode, to get the <h2>Notices</h2> to appear in the right place in live mode, it needs to be to the right of the images. Is there any way to force the <h2>Notices</h2> to start on the next line below the three images so that what you see in edit mode looks sensible and matches what you get in "live mode". The site is using wordpress 3.1.2 rather than the latest 3.4.2.


Quote:
<div id="attachment_727" class="wp-caption alignleft" style="width: 160px"><a href="http://www.abcd.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/DSC086561.jpg"><img class="size-thumbnail wp-image-727 " title="SONY DSC" src="http://www.abcd.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/DSC086561-150x150.jpg" alt="" width="150" height="150" /></a><p class="wp-caption-text">Clubrooms 1994</p></div>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<h2>Notices</h2>

Last edited by think2; 11-04-2012 at 04:36 AM. Reason: formatting
think2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 04:48 AM   #2
think2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 141
Default

This is what the HTML looks like at edit time

Quote:
[caption id="attachment_700" align="alignleft" width="150" caption="xyz, Oct 18"]<a href="http://www.abcd.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/Concrete-slab-Oct18-21.jpg"><img class="size-thumbnail wp-image-700 " style="margin: 0px;" title="Concrete slab Oct 18 2012" src="http://www.abcd.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/DSC0123-150x150.jpg" alt="" width="150" height="150" /></a>[/caption]

[caption id="attachment_614" align="alignleft" width="150" caption="xyz, Sept 18"]<a href="http://www.abcd.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/DSC08608.jpg"><img class="size-thumbnail wp-image-614 " style="margin: 0px;" title="Sept 18, 2012" src="http://www.abcd.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/DSC08608-150x150.jpg" alt="" width="150" height="150" /></a>[/caption]

[caption id="attachment_727" align="alignleft" width="150" caption="xyz, Oct 30"]<a href="http://www.abcd.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/DSC086561.jpg"><img class="size-thumbnail wp-image-727 " title="SONY DSC" src="http://www.abcd.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/DSC086561-150x150.jpg" alt="" width="150" height="150" /></a>[/caption]

&nbsp;

&nbsp;
think2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 02:16 PM   #3
Tweak155
Diamond Member
 
Tweak155's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,971
Default

I believe the really old solution to this is:

<div style="clear:both;"></div>

Put that in place of your &nbsp;'s.
__________________
Organo Gold Coffee

Heatware 92-0-0
Tweak155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 03:03 PM   #4
think2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweak155 View Post
I believe the really old solution to this is:

<div style="clear:both;"></div>

Put that in place of your &nbsp;'s.
That works! Thanks a lot.
think2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:32 PM   #5
Markbnj
Moderator
Programming
 
Markbnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweak155 View Post
I believe the really old solution to this is:

<div style="clear:both;"></div>

Put that in place of your &nbsp;'s.
Is there a really new solution to it? It would be nice not to have all those useless divs.
__________________
Everytime I try to tell you, the words just come out wrong

**
Some meaningless scribbling of no account

The 4th Realm

Arts and Letters Daily - Get some culture
Markbnj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 05:02 AM   #6
think2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 141
Default

Does anyone know of a content management system that doesn't have hassles with user editing like this. Joomla seems to use tinymce as well. I see tinymce gets updated fairly often so maybe some of these issues have been improved on.
think2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:34 AM   #7
Markbnj
Moderator
Programming
 
Markbnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by think2 View Post
Does anyone know of a content management system that doesn't have hassles with user editing like this. Joomla seems to use tinymce as well. I see tinymce gets updated fairly often so maybe some of these issues have been improved on.
What do you mean by "hassles with user editing?" They all handle text quite well using various editor plugins. But you're trying to insert custom markup. When your markup gets rendered it's either well-formed and has the correct styles applied or it doesn't. No content management system is going to figure that our for you.
__________________
Everytime I try to tell you, the words just come out wrong

**
Some meaningless scribbling of no account

The 4th Realm

Arts and Letters Daily - Get some culture
Markbnj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 03:58 AM   #8
think2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markbnj View Post
What do you mean by "hassles with user editing?" They all handle text quite well using various editor plugins. But you're trying to insert custom markup. When your markup gets rendered it's either well-formed and has the correct styles applied or it doesn't. No content management system is going to figure that our for you.
Sorry for the late reply. A simple example is to have a blank line between items in a bulleted list. I had to go into the html and insert a <br>. It's also difficult to get images where you want them.

I've just found ckeditor http://ckeditor.com/ so I'm going to give that a try.
think2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.