Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2012, 05:59 AM   #1
Born.9inety4our
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 32
Default i3-3220 or fx-6100 or a10-5800k

what is better for gaming?? i3-3220 or fx-6100 or a10-5800k?? i need to know it fast
Born.9inety4our is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 06:28 AM   #2
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

FX-6300 over the FX-6100 and you'll have a great gaming setup
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 06:35 AM   #3
Insert_Nickname
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,805
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born.9inety4our View Post
what is better for gaming?? i3-3220 or fx-6100 or a10-5800k?? i need to know it fast
Depends on your budget. If you use a discrete graphics card then the FX6300 is the best. If you don't then the 5800K wins hands-down...

The i3 will have lower power consumption then either if that matters. But the integrated GPU is HOPELESS for gaming...
Insert_Nickname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 06:35 AM   #4
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,900
Default

Are you planning to overclock?
What's your graphics card?
Power supply?
Gaming resolution?
What games do you play?
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 06:47 AM   #5
Born.9inety4our
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insert_Nickname View Post
Depends on your budget. If you use a discrete graphics card then the FX6300 is the best. If you don't then the 5800K wins hands-down...

The i3 will have lower power consumption then either if that matters. But the integrated GPU is HOPELESS for gaming...
fx-6300 its not on my list its only i3-3220 or fx-6100 or a10-5800k..im using HD7750
Born.9inety4our is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 06:49 AM   #6
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born.9inety4our View Post
fx-6300 its not on my list its only i3-3220 or fx-6100 or a10-5800k..im using HD7750
yea we know its not on the list but its the best option
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 06:49 AM   #7
Born.9inety4our
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
Are you planning to overclock?
What's your graphics card?
Power supply?
Gaming resolution?
What games do you play?
i dont think i'll be overclocking so no
i have HD7750
550w PSU
resolution doesnt matter to me, its either 720p or 1080p
i wanna play most wanted 2, assassin's creed 3, sleeping dogs, resident evil 6 etc. other new games
Born.9inety4our is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 06:52 AM   #8
Born.9inety4our
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durvelle27 View Post
yea we know its not on the list but its the best option

but how, there's no stock of fx 6300 on the stores here, so its just i3-3220 or fx-6100 or a10-5800k, thinking that there is no fx 6300 in the world yet
Born.9inety4our is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:07 AM   #9
Insert_Nickname
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,805
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born.9inety4our View Post
but how, there's no stock of fx 6300 on the stores here, so its just i3-3220 or fx-6100 or a10-5800k, thinking that there is no fx 6300 in the world yet
In that case go with the i3, you won't regret it...

If you want a MB-recommendation something B75-based is a good starting point...
Insert_Nickname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:17 AM   #10
laputan machine
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 104
Default

Definitely go with the i3 out of those options. The fx-6100 is outdated now, and the a10-5800k's big strength is it's integrated gpu, which you won't use with the 7750.
The i3-3220 with the 7750 will make for a decent gaming rig at fair settings at 1080p, and it won't draw much power.
laputan machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:18 AM   #11
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,900
Default

Since you're not overclocking and none of the games you listed are heavily multithreaded, Intel i3-3220 is your best bet. Combine with a B75 chipset board or a cheap H77 board. The i3 will handle a graphics card at least twice as powerful as the 7750 in most games, so make the GPU your next upgrade. Adding an SSD in the future is a good idea as well just to speed up general responsiveness, won't increase framerates though
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:25 AM   #12
Born.9inety4our
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insert_Nickname View Post
In that case go with the i3, you won't regret it...

If you want a MB-recommendation something B75-based is a good starting point...
ok then, that's what im looking for, thanks
Born.9inety4our is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:28 AM   #13
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina State University
Posts: 13,745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insert_Nickname View Post
In that case go with the i3, you won't regret it...

If you want a MB-recommendation something B75-based is a good starting point...
H77 based is fine as well
__________________
Intel i5 4430, MSI B85M-P33, Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x, 6GB ram, Intel 530 128gb SSD, WD 150gb HDD, Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD, Windows 7, NZXT Vulcan, Dell E2414H, ROCCAT Kova+ Max, TG3 BL82

Mid 2014 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4278U 2.6Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 128gb SSD
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:36 AM   #14
Born.9inety4our
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 32
Default

the motherboard im about to use is
GIGABYTE H61M-DS2-B3 1155

is that good for i3-3220 and HD7750?
Born.9inety4our is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 08:40 AM   #15
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,900
Default

Where are you buying from? Don't get a H61 board, that's a last gen chipset and won't support Ivy Bridge without a BIOS update (unless the BIOS is up to date from the factory). It also lacks USB 3.0 and SATA 6gb/s. Get B75 or H77.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 09:24 AM   #16
sequoia464
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born.9inety4our View Post
but how, there's no stock of fx 6300 on the stores here, so its just i3-3220 or fx-6100 or a10-5800k, thinking that there is no fx 6300 in the world yet
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819113286

I don,t know which of your options is best for you - but the 6300's are available.
sequoia464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 09:42 AM   #17
daveybrat
Diamond Member
 
daveybrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 3,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
Where are you buying from? Don't get a H61 board, that's a last gen chipset and won't support Ivy Bridge without a BIOS update (unless the BIOS is up to date from the factory). It also lacks USB 3.0 and SATA 6gb/s. Get B75 or H77.
Like he said, stay away from H61 boards for Ivy-Bridge cpu's. Stick with a B75 or H77 chipset board so you don't have to worry about bios updates to get the cpu working.
__________________
Heatware

Gaming Rig: Intel i5-4690K @ 3.5GHz (CM Hyper 212 EVO)| ASRock Z97 Pro4 | 8GB GSkill Ripjaws 1866 DDR3 | Crucial MX100 256GB SSD | WD 640GB Black | MSI GTX 660 Twin-Frozer III | Asus Xonar DG | Corsair CX750 Watt | Windows 8.1 64-Bit
daveybrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:05 AM   #18
inf64
Platinum Member
 
inf64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,044
Default

The year is almost 2013 and you guys are recommending a dual core with SMT... When he comes back here next year and cries how new BF4/insert whatever MT optimized game has 20fps with his good GPU will you offer him a tissue? Also his encoding times and 3D rendering will be way subpar with i3 so I see no logic in recommending it.

But hey,why not. He can enjoy older titles and be stuck at stock clock with no options but shelling more $$ for i5 or i7.
__________________
ShintaiDK:"There will be no APU in PS4 and Xbox720."
ShintaiDK:"No quadchannel either.[in Kaveri]"
CHADBOGA:"Because he[OBR] is a great man."
inf64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:12 AM   #19
minitron
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 124
Default

If we're talking about higher end GPUs then why would he even consider anything AMD, he might as well just go for an i5.
minitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:16 AM   #20
inf64
Platinum Member
 
inf64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,044
Default

Because i5 costs way more than 6100 and he has no money for that? And with non-K i5 he is again stuck at stock clock with no perf. upgrade options...
__________________
ShintaiDK:"There will be no APU in PS4 and Xbox720."
ShintaiDK:"No quadchannel either.[in Kaveri]"
CHADBOGA:"Because he[OBR] is a great man."
inf64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:20 AM   #21
AtenRa
Diamond Member
 
AtenRa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 6,066
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born.9inety4our View Post
but how, there's no stock of fx 6300 on the stores here, so its just i3-3220 or fx-6100 or a10-5800k, thinking that there is no fx 6300 in the world yet
Where are you from ?? Even in Greece we have the FX6300 in stock.

Any way, if you cant find the FX6300 and you will not OC then Core i3 3220 should be fine.
__________________
Thief : Mantle CPU Scaling and Power evaluation
(10 CPUs at default and Overclock, including Power Consumption)
AtenRa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:20 AM   #22
minitron
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inf64 View Post
Because i5 costs way more than 6100 and he has no money for that? And with non-K i5 he is again stuck at stock clock with no perf. upgrade options...
A non-K i5 is still faster than the FX-6100 at any speed. If we're talking about options he can drop in a $240 Xeon E3-1230 which is quad core and hyper-threaded.
minitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:21 AM   #23
AtenRa
Diamond Member
 
AtenRa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 6,066
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by minitron View Post
A non-K i5 is still faster than the FX-6100 at any speed.
and cost more
__________________
Thief : Mantle CPU Scaling and Power evaluation
(10 CPUs at default and Overclock, including Power Consumption)
AtenRa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:22 AM   #24
infoiltrator
Senior Member
 
infoiltrator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 657
Default

We need a location here,
many places in the world are behind "current release" and have higher prices.
Check the H61 motherboard manufacturers website for "rev. X" CPU SUPPORT to tell if it supports Ivy Bridge, or can be "flashed" to do so.
__________________
Damn the cost, full build ahead! I wish.
infoiltrator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:23 AM   #25
inf64
Platinum Member
 
inf64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,044
Default

And costs much more,which he cannot afford. 6100 stock is at 3.3Ghz,measly clock for Bulldozer. It can run at 4.4Ghz with slight vcore bump. If you think 4.4Ghz 6T Bulldozer is "bad" in games than you need reality check. It might have worse SLI scaling for sure,but with single higher end GPU ,any game will be smooth in high detail/AA setting.
__________________
ShintaiDK:"There will be no APU in PS4 and Xbox720."
ShintaiDK:"No quadchannel either.[in Kaveri]"
CHADBOGA:"Because he[OBR] is a great man."
inf64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.