Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2015
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2012, 11:47 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Default Reinstalling windows 8 on SSD of new Asus laptop- how?

I have new asus laptop (k55a). I'm trying to remove the HD it came with and put an SSD into it- but I can't get windows 8 to load on the SSD.

It came with windows 8 regular/home installed(not pro)- it has a restore file built into the HD- that's swell but it's of no use if I use a new HD- no hard DVD to use. I've tried loading the windows 8 pro download I have, but it's a no go- says the key doesn't match (i assume its using the bios key). Sure- I understand it doesn't match- but where the H@ll can I get a legitimate windows 8 regular download to install? I have a real windows 8 key, just can't get the windows 8 (non-pro) software to install??
wp746911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 12:58 AM   #2
Elite Member
Moderator Emeritus
ViRGE's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,804

The easiest thing to do will be to contact Asus and ask for restoration media.

Otherwise you need to look at their utilities and see if they include anything to make restore discs.

Your final option would be to skip reinstalling, and find some way to clone the HDD on to your SSD.
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them
ViRGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 06:52 AM   #3
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7

You will need a boot cd for the edition you have then just follow this
geekinit101 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.