Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2012, 07:21 PM   #1
EpicSurvivor
Senior Member
 
EpicSurvivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NC USA
Posts: 244
Unhappy My system is suddenly sluggish (Please Read)

Well I just built my my new computer with my friends help, you can see my specs on my signature. I have it all stock and haven't OC the CPU yet. I did however OC my GPU but have set it back to default. Every time I watch a video on Youtube or Yahoo news, the video stream gets stock for like a second or half a second like a jitter, then picks up to where it should be, its not that it freezes because its buffering, but for some reason it freezes on some "Frames" and its just pretty noticeable. Not only that but some times when I'm on Facebook and I want to chat with someone using the Facebook chat, the words I'm typing have some delay to them? Overall my system has had this going on with it even on the Windows GUI like when clicking the Windows start button, however is less noticeable and less common there but still happens none the less. Some MMO games also seem as if my FPS had dropped significantly at times when before they wouldn't?
I don't have too much knowledge about computers so I don't know what it could be but I did check Administrative Events on Event Viewer and found a bunch of errors and warnings which I'm speculating could have something to do with my issue? or maybe have nothing to do at all, attached are the screenshots.
I do clean my computer once a week, I take the panels off and airdust all the inside components, maybe last time I did this some cable came loose? Hope you guys can help me, I just want to get my Beast back because I know is not normal for it to be like this (Its my Baby) NOTE: My ISP is Suddenlink (IMG attached) Its like LAG, stutter, Delay on anything I run on my computer.

EDIT: NVIDIA DRIVERS are up to date, and just a few minutes ago I tried running a heaven benchmark and the test would stutter, oddly enough it kept the frames at a stable level. I tried setting the BIOS to default through Asus Suite ii and through the Main BIOS but it didn't fix anything. HELP?











__________________
CPU-Intel ® Core i7 3770K 3.5 (Soon to be OC)
MoBo-ASUSTeK P8Z77 V-LKGPU-EVGA GTX680 2GB
Memory-Corsair Vengeance (2X4GB) DDR3 1600
OS-Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Monitor- 144 Hz Asus VG248QE 24"

Successfully Built on 8/31/12


Last edited by EpicSurvivor; 11-10-2012 at 01:37 AM.
EpicSurvivor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 08:35 AM   #2
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,479
Default

first in the search box type in cmd.then in the command type in CHKDSK.
and second wont hurt.with another cmd.type in SFC /Scannow.come back with result
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:24 AM   #3
EpicSurvivor
Senior Member
 
EpicSurvivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NC USA
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by denis280 View Post
first in the search box type in cmd.then in the command type in CHKDSK.
and second wont hurt.with another cmd.type in SFC /Scannow.come back with result


Score with GPU OC
Score with Stock GPU
It is interesting that the stuttering, is still present but with out affecting my Frame Rate during the test as you can see on the results
__________________
CPU-Intel ® Core i7 3770K 3.5 (Soon to be OC)
MoBo-ASUSTeK P8Z77 V-LKGPU-EVGA GTX680 2GB
Memory-Corsair Vengeance (2X4GB) DDR3 1600
OS-Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Monitor- 144 Hz Asus VG248QE 24"

Successfully Built on 8/31/12


Last edited by EpicSurvivor; 11-10-2012 at 12:59 PM.
EpicSurvivor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 03:37 PM   #4
EpicSurvivor
Senior Member
 
EpicSurvivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NC USA
Posts: 244
Default

Don't leave me!
__________________
CPU-Intel ® Core i7 3770K 3.5 (Soon to be OC)
MoBo-ASUSTeK P8Z77 V-LKGPU-EVGA GTX680 2GB
Memory-Corsair Vengeance (2X4GB) DDR3 1600
OS-Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Monitor- 144 Hz Asus VG248QE 24"

Successfully Built on 8/31/12

EpicSurvivor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:33 PM   #5
power_hour
Senior Member
 
power_hour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: nowhere important
Posts: 789
Default

New drive, fresh OS install? Your speedtest.net results seem okish but your ping could be better. That would explain some of the lag in MMOs.

First, I would reset the router and check the cables. Start with the basics. Overnight, run a virus scan. Uninstall any 3rd party tools, just keep the base image. Your system should be running with ~1GB RAM in use or less and CPU should be minimal during idle. Look at all your services and turn off anything that doesn't look right.

GL
power_hour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 08:52 PM   #6
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,452
Default

If you are a member of a homegroup (type Homegroup in the Win7 search box and run the Homegroup application), try to leave the homegroup to see if it makes a difference.
Steltek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:23 PM   #7
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 6,081
Default

Is you hard drive light running constant (solid hdd light) or flashing constantly during these slow-downs?
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500k | Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660 | Antec EarthWatts EA-650 BRONZE | Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB | COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper | COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 11:51 PM   #8
Dude111
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 718
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSurvivor
Don't leave me!
Not to worry my friend,no one will leave you!!

Good luck getting things corrected
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 09:17 AM   #9
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by power_hour View Post
First, I would reset the router and check the cables
What type of connection do you have.
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 04:04 PM   #10
EpicSurvivor
Senior Member
 
EpicSurvivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NC USA
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by denis280 View Post
What type of connection do you have.
Sorry was not notified of a reply via email. But you can see my speeds above. I have Cable internet
__________________
CPU-Intel ® Core i7 3770K 3.5 (Soon to be OC)
MoBo-ASUSTeK P8Z77 V-LKGPU-EVGA GTX680 2GB
Memory-Corsair Vengeance (2X4GB) DDR3 1600
OS-Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Monitor- 144 Hz Asus VG248QE 24"

Successfully Built on 8/31/12

EpicSurvivor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:53 PM   #11
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,479
Default

Ok! the first time( Successfully Built on 8/31/12) was it working fine.
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 08:22 PM   #12
EpicSurvivor
Senior Member
 
EpicSurvivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NC USA
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by denis280 View Post
Ok! the first time( Successfully Built on 8/31/12) was it working fine.
Absolutely! However I think I can consider my issue on the post resolved. I mingled around with some stuff and got it working again. Since today is Sunday I played a good 2 hours of Medal Of Honor WF straight and had 0 performance Issues. All say this, most of it had to do with deleting the driver folder in %appdata% which contained some files that would not allow the New drivers to fully function. I found this on a EVGA thread. You guys are great tho, thanks for all the help
__________________
CPU-Intel ® Core i7 3770K 3.5 (Soon to be OC)
MoBo-ASUSTeK P8Z77 V-LKGPU-EVGA GTX680 2GB
Memory-Corsair Vengeance (2X4GB) DDR3 1600
OS-Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Monitor- 144 Hz Asus VG248QE 24"

Successfully Built on 8/31/12

EpicSurvivor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:03 AM   #13
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,479
Default

Great that you fund it. wee try to do are best.
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.