Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2012, 05:06 PM   #26
KaOTiK
Lifer
 
KaOTiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 10,884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ApexBoost View Post
Yeah, I was doing the same thing until about 30-40 hours in. I got to level 30-40 before I knew you could deposit your crafting materials and have them stored in your bank. I had been putting them in my own vault and selling off tons that I couldn't fit.
I had no idea you could deposit crafting stuff right from your inventory anywhere to the collections tab till I was in my mid 70's lol.
Oh, I didn't know you could click on the gear icon to deposit all from your inventory till I was 80 for at least a week.

lol is all I can do at myself for that
KaOTiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 05:19 PM   #27
shortylickens
No Lifer
 
shortylickens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 54,678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CuriousMike View Post
You're not.

Angry Birds Star Wars gives you these simple cartoon-images to describe the new feature of the bird.
I rushed thru the first new "power" ... and couldn't fucking figure out how to use it.
I had to re-install the app so I could get that tutorial again ( no starting over, no 're-show me what i need to know about this')
Or watch a youtube vid.......
__________________
2 Timothy 4:7
shortylickens is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:58 PM   #28
Martimus
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,298
Default

I got Ultima 7 in the mid 90s, and I could never figure out how to open a door. The manual said nothing about it, and I couldn't get anything to work. I could only get into doors that npcs opened for me. Suffice it to say, I didn't go very far before I gave up.

I only figured it out earlier this year when I bought it again on GOG. Again I took a while to figure it out, as there aren't any other mechanics that require double-clicking in the game.
__________________
System: Intel i7-2600K, Corsair H60 CPU Heatsink, ASROCK P67 Extreme4, HIS HD6970, HAF-X Case, Seasonic X760 PSU, Crucial C300 128GB SSD, Western Digital Black 2TB HD, 12X LG BluRay burner, HP ZR24w 24" Monitor, 16GB (4x4GB) G.Skill 1600 DDR3 RAM (1.5V, CAS 9), Windows 7 Home Premium (64bit)
Martimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:23 PM   #29
power_hour
Senior Member
 
power_hour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: nowhere important
Posts: 789
Default

Played a few hours of Torchlight and cursing the need to run back to town to sell loot every other dungeon. Then realizing my pets can do it while I play ... OMFG!
power_hour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 08:43 PM   #30
shortylickens
No Lifer
 
shortylickens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 54,678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by power_hour View Post
Played a few hours of Torchlight and cursing the need to run back to town to sell loot every other dungeon. Then realizing my pets can do it while I play ... OMFG!
Fate had that as well. And I didnt learn if for some time.
__________________
2 Timothy 4:7
shortylickens is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 04:29 AM   #31
shortylickens
No Lifer
 
shortylickens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 54,678
Default

Oh, New Vegas:

I had played through maybe 3 whole times before I learned melee weapons do double damage in VATS.

Thanks to the wikia. http://fallout.wikia.com/wiki/Portal:Fallout:_New_Vegas
__________________
2 Timothy 4:7
shortylickens is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:23 AM   #32
Tweak155
Diamond Member
 
Tweak155's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,912
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carson Dyle View Post
Loud music and loud sounds destroy your hearing.

I have tinnitus now. It's loud and it never goes away. Imagine hearing an annoying siren in the distance or a stuck car horn from a car parked out on the street. Constantly. When you wake up, then all day and then as you fall asleep at night. You can't turn it off, you can't yell at anyone to fix the damned thing, and you can't go anywhere to escape it.

Game related? Yeah, probably.
I have this now too. Woke up a few months ago and I had to check all my electronics to make sure it wasn't anything in the room.

For the most part though it doesn't bother me. I only notice it when it is extremely quiet.

Also don't know about you, but the tones vary for me. Sometimes it is louder than other times.

I dunno, one of those things where I feel lucky to have A.D.D.
__________________
Organo Gold Coffee

Heatware 92-0-0
Tweak155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:04 AM   #33
EDUSAN
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,258
Default

i played and finished the game... 2 years passed by, i replayed the game. Finished it again cause i wanted to play the sequel and luckily a friend told me this before starting the sequel...

In the Batman games you can throw a batarang to the rope that you use to hang up people from the gargoyles
EDUSAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:21 AM   #34
Wyndru
Diamond Member
 
Wyndru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 7,263
Default

Diablo 3 - Elective Mode

Luckily I realized it within 40 hours of gameplay. I always thought screenshots of people's builds were from beta or hacks, because I couldn't mimic them haha.
Wyndru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:40 AM   #35
rivethead
Golden Member
 
rivethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,181
Default

Playing Torchlight 60+ hours too long. It was only after I stumbled upon a thread here at AT that I learned.......the game has no definitive ending. You can always go to the next dungeon.....infinitely.
__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon II x4 620 Propus (OCd to 3.4 GHz) | Mobo: MSI 785GM-E65
Mem: GSkill 2x2GB 1600 DDR3 | VC: Sapphire ATI Radeon 6850 (1GB)
Boot Drive: Kingston SSDNow 40GB | Data Drive: Seagate 750GB sata drive (32MB buffer 7200rpm)
Case: Coolermaster 912 HAF | PSU: Corsair CX430
OS: W7 Home Premium (64 Bit) | Monitor: ASUS 236H 23 (1920 x1080)
rivethead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:46 AM   #36
kache
Senior Member
 
kache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Travelling, from Italy
Posts: 486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaOTiK View Post
After around 110-120 hours in Guild Wars 2 I found out that you can hit R to autorun, I had been hitting NumLock before finding that out (Numlock seems to be autorun default in most MMO's)
Same thing in Dragon Nest.

I kinda wonder why basically no single player RPG has autorun. There are some who really needed it badly, like Amalur...
__________________
Ipsa scientia potestas est
kache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:48 AM   #37
Martimus
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kache View Post
Same thing in Dragon Nest.

I kinda wonder why basically no single player RPG has autorun. There are some who really needed it badly, like Amalur...
Oblivion has autorun, but unfortunately Skyrim does not.
__________________
System: Intel i7-2600K, Corsair H60 CPU Heatsink, ASROCK P67 Extreme4, HIS HD6970, HAF-X Case, Seasonic X760 PSU, Crucial C300 128GB SSD, Western Digital Black 2TB HD, 12X LG BluRay burner, HP ZR24w 24" Monitor, 16GB (4x4GB) G.Skill 1600 DDR3 RAM (1.5V, CAS 9), Windows 7 Home Premium (64bit)
Martimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:55 AM   #38
EDUSAN
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,258
Default

im pretty sure skyrim has one...

yeah...its hotkey C
EDUSAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:40 AM   #39
KidNiki1
Platinum Member
 
KidNiki1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaOTiK View Post
I had no idea you could deposit crafting stuff right from your inventory anywhere to the collections tab till I was in my mid 70's lol.
Oh, I didn't know you could click on the gear icon to deposit all from your inventory till I was 80 for at least a week.

lol is all I can do at myself for that
this was me too.

also, WoW was the first mmorpg type game i had ever played and it took me over a year of playing before i realized that when i was selling items to the vendors, i didnt need to actually open the buyback tab and drag items to the window. and that there wasn't a limit on the number of things you could put in that window.
__________________
You needn't worry about your reward. If money is all that you love, then that's what you'll receive...Your friend is quite the mercenary. I wonder if he really cares about anything. Or anybody.

Be excellent to each other - Bill S. Preston, Esq.
KidNiki1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:59 AM   #40
cronos
Diamond Member
 
cronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8,089
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martimus View Post
Oblivion has autorun, but unfortunately Skyrim does not.
Autorun is 'C' on Skyrim. I found it accidentally, too.
__________________
it's called the speed limit, not the speed suggestion
cronos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:13 AM   #41
darkewaffle
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: pa
Posts: 7,361
Default

"Deposit All Collectibles" in GW2, for being so useful it's kind of obscurely hidden.

"Elective Mode" in D3 and "AoE" & "One Click" looting in SWTOR some of my friends had missed.
__________________
heat ebay
oppa gangnam style
darkewaffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:51 AM   #42
Martimus
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cronos View Post
Autorun is 'C' on Skyrim. I found it accidentally, too.
Well in that case, add Skyrim to the list for me in addition to Ultima 7. 150+ hours on Skyrim, and I didn't know how to autorun. I was trying to figure out how to do it too, since Q was mapped to something different.
__________________
System: Intel i7-2600K, Corsair H60 CPU Heatsink, ASROCK P67 Extreme4, HIS HD6970, HAF-X Case, Seasonic X760 PSU, Crucial C300 128GB SSD, Western Digital Black 2TB HD, 12X LG BluRay burner, HP ZR24w 24" Monitor, 16GB (4x4GB) G.Skill 1600 DDR3 RAM (1.5V, CAS 9), Windows 7 Home Premium (64bit)
Martimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 11:54 AM   #43
shortylickens
No Lifer
 
shortylickens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 54,678
Default

BUMP!!!


Ok, this is why it pays to read.
http://fallout.wikia.com/wiki/Golden_Gloves

I learn something new from the Wiki every time I go there. Golden Gloves can be used to loot turrets, which normally you cant do. (Actually I think the Robot Expert perk allows you to loot them after shutdown.)


I used to sell the things cuz I normally dont take Unarmed and when I do its always with the paladin toaster something similar.
__________________
2 Timothy 4:7
shortylickens is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 12:11 PM   #44
VulgarDisplay
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,873
Default

When playing FPS games I used to only play in ways I thought humanly possible. As soon as I saw videos of great players doing unbelievable things I instantly became a better player.

I now actively try and break games when playing. Realism be damned.
VulgarDisplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 12:19 PM   #45
MagnusTheBrewer
Lifer
 
MagnusTheBrewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17,381
Default

This is one of my biggest gripes with developers. There's a difference between putting game mechanic details in one overlooked place and not including them at all. Learning these things by trial and error is NOT fun and, it does NOT add to the gaming experience.
__________________
"We love you children"
"Oh, yes we do"
"Boiled, Fried and, Barbequed"
MagnusTheBrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 02:32 PM   #46
shortylickens
No Lifer
 
shortylickens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 54,678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnusTheBrewer View Post
This is one of my biggest gripes with developers. There's a difference between putting game mechanic details in one overlooked place and not including them at all. Learning these things by trial and error is NOT fun and, it does NOT add to the gaming experience.
As an example, Dungeon Keeper 1 and 2 have all kinds of hidden nuances. Most of them should be learned by reading web guides.

Much of the junk in FF7 onward is hidden and very difficult to discover. FFX-2 in particular is mostly hidden stuff. And if you miss important things you cant get the good jobs, like Mascot.
__________________
2 Timothy 4:7
shortylickens is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.