Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2012, 10:21 PM   #1
Shakabutt
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 91
Default Can you OC a 3570k on b75 ?

Ive been looking on the manual of a Asrock B75-Pro3M and it seems to have OC options, now i see all over the web people saying that you can't oc on B75 or H77 or H61.

Would it be a mistake to pair a B75 board with a K ivy brigdge cpu ?
Shakabutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:50 AM   #2
Shephard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 766
Default

there is a b75 board I found on newegg that says it supports overclocking.

1 guy in my thread responded and said he was not sure if you could.

IT SAYS you can but I don't think anyone has tried before.
Shephard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 03:35 AM   #3
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,960
Default

You can't OC the processor multipliers on B75. I'm not sure about the Base Clock though but that's only a few MHz here or there anyway, kind of irrelevant. So yes, it's be a mistake to pair an unlocked CPU with B75. If you buy an unlocked Ivy Bridge CPU, you will need a Z77 (or Z75) chipset board to be able to overclock it. Z77 and Z75 can also overclock non-K SKUs by 400MHz + BCLK OC.

Some B75 boards support memory overclocking, i.e. higher than 1600MHz settings.
__________________
System specs

Last edited by lehtv; 11-10-2012 at 03:38 AM.
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:53 AM   #4
Shakabutt
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 91
Default

How about a H77 chipset ? I see people with H77 + K ivy's in their sigs...so it must allow oc no ?
Shakabutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:56 AM   #5
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,960
Default

H77 doesn't allow overclocking either.

Only P67, Z68, Z75 and Z77 can adjust CPU clock multipliers. Out of those, P67 and Z68 are last gen chipsets but they support Ivy Bridge with updated BIOSes. Z68 boards marked Gen3 support PCIe 3.0 with Ivy Bridge CPUs. But Z77 is the natural option to go with if you're getting a 3570K.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 08:16 AM   #6
Shakabutt
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 91
Default

Sigh...so would i loose out alot of performance if i just went for a cheap h61 + i5 3470 ?

Im on a fx 6100 now.
Shakabutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 08:30 AM   #7
Insert_Nickname
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,942
Default

Depending on your board why not plug an 8350 in there...?
Insert_Nickname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 08:42 AM   #8
ShintaiDK
Lifer
 
ShintaiDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 11,352
Default

If you live near MC, remember the 3570K can be had for 170$.

And you can get a Z75 board for 80$ on newegg.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157304

In terms of chipsets with what can what:
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idontcare
Competition is good at driving the pace of innovation, but it is an inefficient mechanism (R&D expenditures summed across a given industry) for generating the innovation.
ShintaiDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 08:49 AM   #9
Shakabutt
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insert_Nickname View Post
Depending on your board why not plug an 8350 in there...?
My board is an Asus AM3 + with a 780L chipset,only up to 95 W cpu's.

It would cost me the same to either put a i5 3470 + h61 or a 8320 + 970 chipset mobo,im guessing the intel one would give me more perf and lower power consumption.
Shakabutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:53 AM   #10
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,960
Default

Stock i5 Ivy Bridge is faster FX-6100, especially in quad threaded apps and lower.

What doesn't your system do that you'd like it to do, that is, why do you want more CPU performance?

Have you overclocked the FX-6100? It should handle 4.3-4.5GHz with a good air cooler, as far as I know. Just make sure your PSU is up to the task, and remember that overclocking can be time consuming, particularly the part about stability testing.

Quote:
It would cost me the same to either put a i5 3470 + h61 or a 8320 + 970 chipset mobo,im guessing the intel one would give me more perf and lower power consumption.
If you can't afford Z77 + 3570K yet, I would suggest waiting, perhaps even until Haswell, at which point you'll have the choice of buying used 3570K + Z77 or a new Haswell kit.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:54 AM   #11
Insert_Nickname
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shakabutt View Post
My board is an Asus AM3 + with a 780L chipset,only up to 95 W cpu's.

It would cost me the same to either put a i5 3470 + h61 or a 8320 + 970 chipset mobo,im guessing the intel one would give me more perf and lower power consumption.
I would tend to agree with you there. I highly recommend getting a 3470+B75 if you can afford it. The B75 has a SATA3 port, just in case you want to drop-in an SSD later. The H61 is limited to SATA2 and does not have native USB3, though some boards have a 3rd party controller (if that matters to you).
Insert_Nickname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:04 AM   #12
ShintaiDK
Lifer
 
ShintaiDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 11,352
Default

H61 can potentially also be an issue, if its not BIOS updated to IB support when you get it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idontcare
Competition is good at driving the pace of innovation, but it is an inefficient mechanism (R&D expenditures summed across a given industry) for generating the innovation.
ShintaiDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 12:01 PM   #13
Magic Carpet
Golden Member
 
Magic Carpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,836
Default

H61 is outdated and has been pretty much replaced by B75 (in terms of price anyway). You would be a fool to buy an H61 board today.

OP: Get Z77 instead.
Magic Carpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 12:06 PM   #14
Shakabutt
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
Stock i5 Ivy Bridge is faster FX-6100, especially in quad threaded apps and lower.

What doesn't your system do that you'd like it to do, that is, why do you want more CPU performance?

Have you overclocked the FX-6100? It should handle 4.3-4.5GHz with a good air cooler, as far as I know. Just make sure your PSU is up to the task, and remember that overclocking can be time consuming, particularly the part about stability testing.

If you can't afford Z77 + 3570K yet, I would suggest waiting, perhaps even until Haswell, at which point you'll have the choice of buying used 3570K + Z77 or a new Haswell kit.
Thats a good question...i really don't have anything that i can't play properly due to the cpu, i got this itch to get an ivy bridge and struggling not to blow my money for nothing.

I think it would be better to just buy a CM 212 evo and oc my fx and call it a day.
Shakabutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 12:41 PM   #15
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,960
Default

Yeah, no point throwing away a fine CPU if it's not even overclocked =) What's your graphics card and PSU?
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 01:15 PM   #16
Shakabutt
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 91
Default

I have a Gigabyte 460 Superb PSU and a MSI 7850 Power Edition.

I didnt't even oc the card...maybe when i can't play something properly but even then i would rather turn of the eye candy.
Shakabutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 01:56 PM   #17
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,960
Default

I would get a new PSU before overclocking, Gigabyte isn't known as a good quality brand for PSUs. On the plus side, your unit is manufactured by FSP which generally is quite good, and officially it should handle up to 348W on the +12V. But it doesn't have an efficiency rating, and I can't find any reviews to confirm that it's any good. And reviews of other Gigabyte units have not been favorable, like this one.

So get a new cooler and a new PSU and you're good to go. Where are you located?
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:23 PM   #18
Shakabutt
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 91
Default

I live in Romania, i have the PSU for about 3 years + , never had problems with it, il see what i can do with CM 212...i ran with the proc for about 2 months at 4GHZ stable and it draws 1.3 v under full load but i don't like the temps reaching 60 celsius and with summer comming it would be close to the max recommended by AMD.Im still using my old Asus Triton 70...and i think its pretty old for this procesor, but i tought it would be better than the crap it came with in the box.
Shakabutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 03:03 PM   #19
Denithor
Diamond Member
 
Denithor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 5,720
Default

If you already have an FX 6100 setup I would agree with other posts - just get a good heatsink/fan (try to get a universal model that can work with Intel boards and cross fingers for socket 1150 support) and a new PSU (Seasonic, Corsair, Antec are the best makers, FSP Group and Sparkle are decent OEM brands) and then wait for Haswell.

Do you have an SSD yet? If not, that would be another definite upgrade while waiting. An SSD would breathe new life into your system like really nothing else can.
__________________
HTPC: GTX 650 Ti Boost -- i7 3770 (4.2GHz) -- Intel 330 180GB -- 16GB DDR3 -- 50" LG plasma
Gaming: GTX 660 -- i5 750 (3.2GHz) -- Samsung 830 128GB -- 8GB DDR3 -- Dell 2709W

Originally posted by: ironwing
Adam should'a bought a PC instead. Eve fell for the marketing hype.
Denithor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 03:49 PM   #20
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,137
Default

If the psu is 3 years old and borderline, then change it.
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.