Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2012, 09:11 AM   #1
shortylickens
No Lifer
 
shortylickens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 54,665
Default Simple things you didnt find out until much later.

I played Age of Mythology for a year before I learned the Colossus can heal simply by eating wood or gold. I used to hate having to heal them slowly near a temple.

I read the manual for Morrowind so I already knew this but I am amazed at all the people who never learned how to delete learned spells from their book.
Thats important as the game goes on and you need to clean up crap.

Of course with Oblivion you had categorized pages so it wasnt as important.
__________________
2 Timothy 4:7
shortylickens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:19 AM   #2
Fanatical Meat
Diamond Member
 
Fanatical Meat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Olds Basement
Posts: 3,318
Default

Mine was Anarchy Online, I played it for about 9 month's and always struggled to find missions. The coorinates were super difficult to follow. Then I discovered that if you right(?) clicked on the mission summary it loaded it into your map and made it much easier to find the location. Pain in the ass but I kind of miss those gaming days.
Fanatical Meat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:21 AM   #3
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,136
Default

I didn't know this till now
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:27 AM   #4
lavaheadache
Diamond Member
 
lavaheadache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 6,433
Default

I didn't find out till I was 100+ hours into Skyrim there were "hot keys" that you could assign for weapons/spells/items. I knew you could in Oblivion but I thought they moved the feature
__________________
Video Card Specialist

sell me your 5950 Ultra

Heat 137-0-0 heatware 1 percentile
lavaheadache is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:31 AM   #5
shortylickens
No Lifer
 
shortylickens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 54,665
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lavaheadache View Post
I didn't find out till I was 100+ hours into Skyrim there were "hot keys" that you could assign for weapons/spells/items. I knew you could in Oblivion but I thought they moved the feature
You arent the only one, a lot of folks were thrown off by the interface changes in Skyrim.
__________________
2 Timothy 4:7
shortylickens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:39 AM   #6
Northern Lawn
Platinum Member
 
Northern Lawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 2,231
Default

My first online game was America's Army 2. Even though you have to go through training to play on a server I was wondering why everyone could run faster than me. I thought maybe you had to level up. After like a week I asked in chat and they said you had to hold down the Alt Button to run LOL.

Oh, and then in Bad Company 2, I was getting real frustrated dying and having to run back to the front line over and over after a couple hundred hours my brother told me you could spawn on a squad mate. F***!
Northern Lawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:50 AM   #7
Red Storm
Lifer
 
Red Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 11,793
Default

After 13 years of playing Age of Empires II, a month ago I discovered that you can have multiple players control the same civilization in a game.
__________________
Heatware
Red Storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:12 AM   #8
cmdrdredd
Lifer
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 19,940
Default

Playing skyrim yet again I went back to the thieves guild to fence some stuff and I did not ever once think to go directly through the tomb. I always went through the ratways. Now I feel kind of stupid.
__________________
Asus Maximus V Gene | 3570k @ 4.5 | 8GB Samsung 30nm @ 2133 | EVGA GTX 670 FTW SLI @ 1230/6765
2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD | WD 300GB Velociraptor | Lite-On HBS212 BD-R | Corsair HX1000 PSU
Cooler Master HAF 932 | Yamakasi Catleap Q270 | Windows 8.1 Pro
cmdrdredd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:24 AM   #9
Geosurface
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5,778
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanatical Meat View Post
Mine was Anarchy Online, I played it for about 9 month's and always struggled to find missions. The coorinates were super difficult to follow. Then I discovered that if you right(?) clicked on the mission summary it loaded it into your map and made it much easier to find the location. Pain in the ass but I kind of miss those gaming days.
Geosurface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:33 AM   #10
Barfo
Lifer
 
Barfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: in your mom
Posts: 27,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Northern Lawn View Post
Oh, and then in Bad Company 2, I was getting real frustrated dying and having to run back to the front line over and over after a couple hundred hours my brother told me you could spawn on a squad mate. F***!
lol, I saw people doing this yesterday.
__________________
3570K | ASUS P8Z77-V |16 GB | Sapphire 7950 w/ boost | HAF 922| Seasonic 550W |Win7 x64

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/10/21/7yjuny7a.jpg
Barfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:35 AM   #11
Sable
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 963
Default

Accidentally pressed capslock while playing Skyrim and didn't know it made you walk. Had no idea wtf was going on.
__________________
Fractal R3 White || Asus P8Z77-V Pro || Intel i5 2500k @ 4.8ghz 1.4v || Arctic Freezer i30 || 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP || eVGA GTX 680 2GB || 2x Samsung 830 256GB SSD || WD Caviar Black 1TB || 4x WD Green 2TB 2x RAID1 || Corsair AX750 || BenQ XL2420T

Fractal Node304 White || Asus H81I-PLUS || Intel Pentium G3420 || Arctic Freezer 7 rev2 || 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical || Gigabyte GTX 750 1GB || Crucial V4 64GB || WD Caviar Black 500GB || Be Quiet L8 430W
Sable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:57 AM   #12
Ricochet
Diamond Member
 
Ricochet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 5,941
Default

When I first started playing COD4 on the Xbox360 I didn't know the zoom or auto-aim feature.

I knew some people didn't even know that you could fast travel using the overview map in Oblivion. That must have been exceedingly tedious.
Ricochet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 11:09 AM   #13
shortylickens
No Lifer
 
shortylickens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 54,665
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Playing skyrim yet again I went back to the thieves guild to fence some stuff and I did not ever once think to go directly through the tomb. I always went through the ratways. Now I feel kind of stupid.
That is weird.
Any time you had a quest the shortcut should have taken you through the back door.
__________________
2 Timothy 4:7
shortylickens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 11:28 AM   #14
Zenoth
Diamond Member
 
Zenoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,375
Default

I literally just learned yesterday about the "Search for similar Items" feature in Diablo III (right-click items to compare to similar ones at the GAH/RMAH). I literally searched similar items manually from the moment I started using the GAH (about two weeks after the game's release or so) until yesterday, filling up filters one by one and hitting "Search"... every. single. time....

That's the most recent one, but there's a good number of such "discoveries" I've made from older games even though I played most of those for months if not years. I have to say however that most of those cases are console games which I used to be renting many years ago. Because to be honest when I owned games myself there was very little that escaped my attention over time (but it did happen anyway).

One such "discovery" was way... way back (man I'm feeling old) when I bought the PS1 version of Command & Conquer (Gold). I had never played the PC version prior, and anyway... English not being my native language back then the manual (in English) wasn't helping me to learn about the game so. Yeah anyway, I learned pretty much everything over time, but there was one exception. I later found out (later... I.E. so much later that RA2 had been released and found out about it in RA2, but it worked in C&C1 or RA1 as well) that I could force-fire my units... not only that I could STOP an order I had just given my units (and also stop the force-firing).

Another one was in Turok: Dinosaur Hunter. I've played that game to death from start to finish a good dozen times back in the N64 days. Then years passed (try something like a decade or so). Then back in around 2006 or 2007 I bought the PC version from eBay. I played again for nostalgia's sake (and was still fun anyway). At some point I saw some grenade launcher rotating on itself, up in the air near some pillars. I believe it was in the second level. I recalled at that point that during all those years I had never figured out how to get there.

Anyway, long story short... I played again (that level), walked around and eventually "discovered" some relatively hidden way to get there but it wasn't that difficult (and I did try all those years ago). It involved walking onto a barely-visible platform of energy or something like that, and that energy was visible (barely) only around your feet when you'd point the camera down, so you had to look down while pressing forward to see if the energy started to fade out to the left or right, so you wouldn't fall down.

But these examples are nothing compared to the list of most likely hundred such cases I'd have to share (especially in action-adventure games or games with lots of exploration and little spots and secrets to discover).
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 2600K @ Stock
Motherboard: ASUS P8P67 Pro B3 Revision
Memory: G.SKILL F3-10666CL9D 8GB @ Stock
GPU: ASUS GTX 670 DCUII 2GB @ Stock

"To vanquish without adversity is to triumph without glory."
Zenoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 11:34 AM   #15
cmdrdredd
Lifer
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 19,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shortylickens View Post
That is weird.
Any time you had a quest the shortcut should have taken you through the back door.
Yep and after I finished all that I forgot you can enter there too.
__________________
Asus Maximus V Gene | 3570k @ 4.5 | 8GB Samsung 30nm @ 2133 | EVGA GTX 670 FTW SLI @ 1230/6765
2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD | WD 300GB Velociraptor | Lite-On HBS212 BD-R | Corsair HX1000 PSU
Cooler Master HAF 932 | Yamakasi Catleap Q270 | Windows 8.1 Pro
cmdrdredd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 11:37 AM   #16
AlexAL
Senior Member
 
AlexAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 636
Default

In Deus Ex Augmented there's a keyboard combo that let's you do a fancy move from one cover spot to another. I forgot about it until near the end when I saw it in a youtube vid.
__________________
Clevo w355st, Win 8 Pro x64, i7 4700MQ, Nvidia 765M, m4 256Gb+2x 1Tb HDD, G.Skill 3x8Gb 1600 1.35v
AlexAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 01:11 PM   #17
Carson Dyle
Golden Member
 
Carson Dyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,617
Default

Loud music and loud sounds destroy your hearing.

I have tinnitus now. It's loud and it never goes away. Imagine hearing an annoying siren in the distance or a stuck car horn from a car parked out on the street. Constantly. When you wake up, then all day and then as you fall asleep at night. You can't turn it off, you can't yell at anyone to fix the damned thing, and you can't go anywhere to escape it.

Game related? Yeah, probably.
Carson Dyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:07 PM   #18
waterstain
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 16
Default

I was 76 hours into Fallout 3 before I thought to look-up the flashlight key.

And it certain would have been handy to use a couple hundred times! …
waterstain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:16 PM   #19
KaOTiK
Lifer
 
KaOTiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 10,884
Default

After around 110-120 hours in Guild Wars 2 I found out that you can hit R to autorun, I had been hitting NumLock before finding that out (Numlock seems to be autorun default in most MMO's)
KaOTiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:31 PM   #20
Kalmah
Diamond Member
 
Kalmah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carson Dyle View Post
Loud music and loud sounds destroy your hearing.

I have tinnitus now. It's loud and it never goes away. Imagine hearing an annoying siren in the distance or a stuck car horn from a car parked out on the street. Constantly. When you wake up, then all day and then as you fall asleep at night. You can't turn it off, you can't yell at anyone to fix the damned thing, and you can't go anywhere to escape it.

Game related? Yeah, probably.
That sounds miserable. (I think I just accidentally a pun)
__________________
Jump on my sword now, evil! For I won't be so gentle!
Kalmah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:33 PM   #21
shortylickens
No Lifer
 
shortylickens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 54,665
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by waterstain View Post
I was 76 hours into Fallout 3 before I thought to look-up the flashlight key.

And it certain would have been handy to use a couple hundred times!
That makes no sense.
It comes up in the opening tutorial.
__________________
2 Timothy 4:7
shortylickens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 03:25 PM   #22
waterstain
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shortylickens View Post
That makes no sense.
It comes up in the opening tutorial.
Due to my advanded decrepidness, I tend to rush through most tutorials.

Surely, I can't be the only one who does this?!?
waterstain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 03:57 PM   #23
arkcom
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,737
Default

That guardian stones on Skyrim are permanent. Didn't even bother clicking one until about level 20, because I thought it was a temporary effect.
arkcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 04:25 PM   #24
CuriousMike
Golden Member
 
CuriousMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bay Area,Ca
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by waterstain View Post
Due to my advanded decrepidness, I tend to rush through most tutorials.

Surely, I can't be the only one who does this?!?

You're not.

Angry Birds Star Wars gives you these simple cartoon-images to describe the new feature of the bird.
I rushed thru the first new "power" ... and couldn't fucking figure out how to use it.
I had to re-install the app so I could get that tutorial again ( no starting over, no 're-show me what i need to know about this')
__________________
Acer C720 Chromebook

CuriousMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 05:02 PM   #25
ApexBoost
Member
 
ApexBoost's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: America's High Five
Posts: 125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaOTiK View Post
After around 110-120 hours in Guild Wars 2 I found out that you can hit R to autorun, I had been hitting NumLock before finding that out (Numlock seems to be autorun default in most MMO's)
Yeah, I was doing the same thing until about 30-40 hours in. I got to level 30-40 before I knew you could deposit your crafting materials and have them stored in your bank. I had been putting them in my own vault and selling off tons that I couldn't fit.
__________________
CPU: Intel i5 2500k Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen 3 GPU: Sapphire Radeon 6870 Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB PSU: Rosewill Hive 550w HD Seagate Barracuda 1TB Case: Antec 300 Illusion Monitor: Asus 23" 5ms 1080p
ApexBoost is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.