Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2012, 07:17 AM   #1
alanwest09872
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Springville ny 14141
Posts: 1,087
Default Need help finding bulb for Optoma hd33 and what is a cage?

I know people hate these but I really do need help see I have found a few but some say they come with a cage and without a cage. what the heck is the cage? Do I need? Does it hold the bulb prisoner?

Im just going to throw this in if anyone knows a cheap place I can get the bulb I would appreciate it.
__________________
4th Gen Intel 4771 Processor, 1150 Asus Maximums Formula VI, 16 GB Ram
Evga GTX 780
1500w Thermaltake Power Supply
Intel x-25 m SSD (OS), 2 velocraptor Drives, 3 TB Hard Disk
Windows 8.1 OS
27 BENQ 1ms 120HZ Monitor
alanwest09872 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:41 AM   #2
Fardringle
Diamond Member
 
Fardringle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 7,363
Default

It looks like the "cage" in the results I found is the lamp enclosure so you can just slide the whole thing out and replace it. The bare bulb needs to be installed into the lamp enclosure (removing the old one first) before you can replace it in the projector.
__________________
"I did RC5, but I didn't flush." - Bill Clinton
"I invented distributed computing." - Al Gore
"I had a dream where every American would be free to run SETI@Home!" - Martin Luther King Jr.
"Greendale is a bodaciously small town, Lane... I can't even Find-A-Drug here!" - Charles De Mar (Better Off Dead)
"I did not have BOINC relations with that woman, Rosetta@Home!" - Bill Clinton
Fardringle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:55 AM   #3
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 53,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanwest09872 View Post
I know people hate these but I really do need help see I have found a few but some say they come with a cage and without a cage. what the heck is the cage? Do I need? Does it hold the bulb prisoner?

Im just going to throw this in if anyone knows a cheap place I can get the bulb I would appreciate it.
You either get the bulb with the reflector housing or you get the bare bulbs. I recommend the former.

How did you use up the HD33 bulb so fdast? How many hours have you got on it and did you run it at high output mode?
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 12:54 PM   #4
alanwest09872
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Springville ny 14141
Posts: 1,087
Default

its not dead yet but I have about 6000 hours on it. I use it as my main tv.
__________________
4th Gen Intel 4771 Processor, 1150 Asus Maximums Formula VI, 16 GB Ram
Evga GTX 780
1500w Thermaltake Power Supply
Intel x-25 m SSD (OS), 2 velocraptor Drives, 3 TB Hard Disk
Windows 8.1 OS
27 BENQ 1ms 120HZ Monitor
alanwest09872 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:53 PM   #5
funboy6942
Lifer
 
funboy6942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dyer, TN.
Posts: 13,649
Default

http://www.apexlamps.com/index.php?r...roduct_id=1819

This is where I get mine from.
funboy6942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.