Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Mobile Devices & Gadgets

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2012, 04:44 PM   #1
GTaudiophile
Lifer
 
GTaudiophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: €urophile
Posts: 29,389
Default Crap! Nexus TMO Tethering no longer FREE!?!

Just a weeks ago while traveling for work in Dallas I used my tethering extensively. Fast forward to today in the ATL airport and now I get screen asking me to add tethering to my account for $15/mo!

CRAP!
__________________

GTaudiophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 04:49 PM   #2
ponyo
Lifer
 
ponyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 12,406
Default

It hasn't been free for years. They just really didn't enforce it til recently. If you abuse it, they will ask you to pay.
ponyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:06 PM   #3
ImDonly1
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,154
Default

Last I read was they look at the browser user agent to see if you are using a non mobile browser. It was easy to change the user agent to whatever you want. See this thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1931992
ImDonly1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 06:02 PM   #4
wirednuts
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,121
Default

i am so tired of this. we pay for the data, why do they care how we use it?
wirednuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 08:25 PM   #5
sswingle
Diamond Member
 
sswingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 7,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImDonly1 View Post
Last I read was they look at the browser user agent to see if you are using a non mobile browser. It was easy to change the user agent to whatever you want. See this thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1931992
I frequently use a desktop user agent on my phone. Wonder what they would say if one called to complain about that.
sswingle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 08:48 PM   #6
Bateluer
Lifer
 
Bateluer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 26,811
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wirednuts View Post
i am so tired of this. we pay for the data, why do they care how we use it?
Users with a tiered data plan should not only be allowed to tether, but actively encouraged to do so. Use up that data quickly, pay carrier for more.

Users with an unlimited data plan, on the other hand, are a different story.
Bateluer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 09:08 PM   #7
pm
Super Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 7,226
Default

Get a photon from Freedompop. Free tetherable data...
pm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 10:07 PM   #8
glen
Lifer
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 15,985
Default

What do they charge for? If I use my cell phone with my wireless router, surely they cannot charge for that.
__________________
Pliablemoose for elite
glen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 10:45 PM   #9
wirednuts
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bateluer View Post
Users with a tiered data plan should not only be allowed to tether, but actively encouraged to do so. Use up that data quickly, pay carrier for more.

Users with an unlimited data plan, on the other hand, are a different story.
i dont see why it matters in any case. the only stipulation i understand is throttling individuals if they are causing congestion on the network at any given time. carriers need to stop micro charging for every god dang bit of data and realize if towers aren't running at capacity then who cares who is doing what on them.

it makes me think that the carriers themselves are getting charged on a teir plan to push the data between their towers. it would be the only reason they would be so hell bent on charging per byte instead of energy used and maitnenence of the towers themselves.
wirednuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 10:53 PM   #10
sswingle
Diamond Member
 
sswingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 7,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glen View Post
What do they charge for? If I use my cell phone with my wireless router, surely they cannot charge for that.
Obviously. Do you not know what tethering is?
sswingle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 11:05 PM   #11
waggy
No Lifer
 
waggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 64,062
Default

didnt Verizon get sued for charging for tethering?
waggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 11:38 PM   #12
s44
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by waggy View Post
didnt Verizon get sued for charging for tethering?
I believe they're not allowed to interfere with tethering over LTE on a metered data plan.
s44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 11:42 PM   #13
glen
Lifer
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 15,985
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswingle View Post
Obviously. Do you not know what tethering is?
Well, I thought that was tethering. But, I can't see how they would charge for it? It doesn't use their towers. It uses my ISP that I pay for.
__________________
Pliablemoose for elite
glen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 11:42 PM   #14
dagamer34
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s44 View Post
I believe they're not allowed to interfere with tethering over LTE on a metered data plan.
They're not allowed to interfere due to the rules around the C Block of spectrum the bought in the 700Mhz spectrum auction back in 2008 because of Google.
dagamer34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 11:43 PM   #15
glen
Lifer
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 15,985
Default

Seems liek tethering would work even if I did not have a provider. Right? What am I missing?
__________________
Pliablemoose for elite
glen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 11:45 PM   #16
wirednuts
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glen View Post
Seems liek tethering would work even if I did not have a provider. Right? What am I missing?
waht?
wirednuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 11:45 PM   #17
s44
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glen View Post
What do they charge for? If I use my cell phone with my wireless router, surely they cannot charge for that.
You're confused. Tethering is when you hook your router or PC or tablet to your cell phone to use cell data instead of, say, the cable connection. This can be incredibly useful when traveling, or if your landline internet goes out during a hurricane (yeah, this happened... Verizon stayed up the whole damn time though).

What you describe is just putting your phone on wifi which obviously reduces data use and is encouraged, not restricted.
s44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 12:03 AM   #18
glen
Lifer
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 15,985
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s44 View Post
You're confused. Tethering is when you hook your router or PC or tablet to your cell phone to use cell data instead of, say, the cable connection. This can be incredibly useful when traveling, or if your landline internet goes out during a hurricane (yeah, this happened... Verizon stayed up the whole damn time though).

What you describe is just putting your phone on wifi which obviously reduces data use and is encouraged, not restricted.
That make a lot more sense.
__________________
Pliablemoose for elite
glen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:24 AM   #19
zoiks
Lifer
 
zoiks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Palo Alto,CA
Posts: 11,703
Default

Change the user agent in the browser to mimic an android phone. I suggest that you use Chrome on your laptop and then use the "User agent switcher" plugin. This way you can switch back and forth right in the screen using the drop down on to the right of the address bar.
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/d...jiklpkjnoahfmg
__________________
Palestinians have a right to defend the atrocities waged against them.
Palestine will Rise.
USS Liberty. Never forget.
zoiks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 05:32 AM   #20
Thegonagle
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 9,765
Default

$15 a month really isn't that bad for unlimited HSPA+ data tethering.

What does your cable run you monthly? Just sayin'!
Thegonagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:11 AM   #21
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,136
Default

Afaik tethering is free in India thankfully
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:32 AM   #22
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina State University
Posts: 13,767
Default

Tethering is free if you rooted like me.
__________________
Intel i5 4430, MSI B85M-P33, Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x, 6GB ram, Intel 530 128gb SSD, WD 150gb HDD, Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD, Windows 7, NZXT Vulcan, Dell E2414H, ROCCAT Kova+ Max, TG3 BL82

Mid 2014 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4278U 2.6Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 128gb SSD
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:00 AM   #23
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T_Yamamoto View Post
Tethering is free if you rooted like me.
And if you're not rooted there's a wired tether that works without paying the carrier too.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ikdutta.tether
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:14 AM   #24
vshah
Lifer
 
vshah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pm View Post
Get a photon from Freedompop. Free tetherable data...
i thought you didn't want any discussion of tethering workarounds in this forum anymore?
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 || Asus P6T Deluxe V2 || Noctua NH-U12P|| 12GB DDR3-1600
GTX 670 || Intel x-25m 80gb || 1TB Caviar Black || Antec 902 ||Antec 550w
HEAT
XBL: the4ner85
vshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:18 AM   #25
NikolaeVarius
Diamond Member
 
NikolaeVarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,854
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T_Yamamoto View Post
Tethering is free if you rooted like me.
Its only free because the carriers haven't cracked down hard on it.

It's extremely simple to figure out if you're tethering or not.
__________________
Boom, phrasing.
NikolaeVarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.