Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2012, 02:59 AM   #26
mrmt
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AZRoCker42 View Post
I finally swhitchet to a P4 northwood 3.4 in 2009 before that I had been with AMD since the first Thunderbird sloted came out You could not beat them at the time. WOnder when they will catch up with Intel they seemed to always be neck and neck
You should be very young then.

AMD and Intel were in the same league through 1999 until 2005 (through Barrett term at Intel, if it says something). Before that AMD was cloning Intel chips or fielding chips that weren't that good like the K5.

A lot of the IP of the original Athlon wasn't developed in-house too, they were acquired from DEC. Some guys from their design teams came from there too, mostly the A64 guys. AMD didn't develop its manufacturing process too, they bought it from Motorola and then from IBM. Intel does everything in-house.

Once these guys left and AMD had nowhere to look to acquire process technology you know what happened: AMD is back to status quo ante, trailing Intel by huge margins and had to finally sell off their fabs.
mrmt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:38 AM   #27
octavian33
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli View Post
Or misled by a best buy employee!

I own a computer shop and at least once a week someone comes in with a computer that best buy's " geek squad " couldnt fix. The real kicker is that they still are charged for the diagnostic even though they couldnt fix it.
octavian33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 08:54 AM   #28
Makaveli
Diamond Member
 
Makaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by octavian33 View Post
I own a computer shop and at least once a week someone comes in with a computer that best buy's " geek squad " couldnt fix. The real kicker is that they still are charged for the diagnostic even though they couldnt fix it.
That is what the geek squad is known for they hire Techs that I wouldn't allow to touch a 286!

I always tell people to avoid them like the plague.
__________________
Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz 1.29v | TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 1600 rpm x2 | Asus P6-T Deluxe V2 | 12GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20 1T | MSI 7970 Ghz + Kraken G10 & H55 | EVGA 650 SC Physx | Logitech G15+G500 | Intel 320GB G2 Raid 0 | WD 1TB Black Storage | ESATA 2TB Green | CM 690 II Advanced | Razor Vespula | HP ZR24w | Logitech Z560 | X-FI Titanium | Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Makaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 09:55 AM   #29
Abwx
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,803
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmt View Post
Intel does everything in-house.
Yes , like the in-house designed PowerVR , X86-64 , QPI bus ( a carbon copy
of HyperTransport) , IMC and so on....
Abwx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 10:00 AM   #30
nemesismk2
Diamond Member
 
nemesismk2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,400
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpodblood View Post
2500+ was boss. Especially the mobile variant that could fit into a desktop socket. Overclocked like a champ, and blew everything Intel had out of the water in both price and performance.
I agree 100% because i had a 2500 Mobile which overclocked upto 2.5Ghz
nemesismk2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 11:41 AM   #31
Arkaign
Lifer
 
Arkaign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19,249
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nemesismk2 View Post
I agree 100% because i had a 2500 Mobile which overclocked upto 2.5Ghz
I had one of those that did the same, beyond 3200+ levels

I also had a P4 2.4B that I ran at 3.6Ghz, lapped and running on a 865 mobo. Before that I ran it at 3.12Ghz on a 845 mobo. Was a beast, and definitely faster than my AXP chips.
__________________
Death is the answer.
Arkaign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 11:53 AM   #32
AZRoCker42
Member
 
AZRoCker42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmt View Post
You should be very young then.

AMD and Intel were in the same league through 1999 until 2005 (through Barrett term at Intel, if it says something). Before that AMD was cloning Intel chips or fielding chips that weren't that good like the K5.

A lot of the IP of the original Athlon wasn't developed in-house too, they were acquired from DEC. Some guys from their design teams came from there too, mostly the A64 guys. AMD didn't develop its manufacturing process too, they bought it from Motorola and then from IBM. Intel does everything in-house.

Once these guys left and AMD had nowhere to look to acquire process technology you know what happened: AMD is back to status quo ante, trailing Intel by huge margins and had to finally sell off their fabs.
God If I`m young I would guess your OLD I`m 42
AZRoCker42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 12:23 PM   #33
CKTurbo128
Platinum Member
 
CKTurbo128's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: California
Posts: 2,678
Default

Barton, what memories. Especially the Mobile Athlon XP Bartons... man, those chips could overclock. Ran one at 2.6 GHz for a while, until I jumped to a Core 2 E6600.
__________________
Desktop: MB: ASUS P8Z68-V Pro/GEN3 | CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K @ 4.5 GHz | RAM: 4 x 8GB DDR3 1866 | GPU: GeForce GTX680 4096MB | SPU: X-Fi Elite Pro | SSD: Crucial M4 512GB
HTPC: MB: Gigabyte Z77M-D3H | CPU: Intel Core i7-3770S | RAM: 4 x 8GB DDR3 1600 | GPU: Radeon HD7750 1024MB | SPU: X-Fi Forte | SSD: OCZ Agility 4 512GB
Mobile: MDL: Samsung Series 7 Ultra | CPU: Intel Core i5 3337U | RAM: 8GB DDR3 | SSD: Samsung 256GB
Heatware
CKTurbo128 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 12:57 PM   #34
Arkaign
Lifer
 
Arkaign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19,249
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CKTurbo128 View Post
Barton, what memories. Especially the Mobile Athlon XP Bartons... man, those chips could overclock. Ran one at 2.6 GHz for a while, until I jumped to a Core 2 E6600.
I wonder why they overclocked so much better? My 1700+ had a higher ceiling than my desktop 2500+ did.
__________________
Death is the answer.
Arkaign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 12:58 PM   #35
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,655
Default

Sadly received a old parts pc that had i believe a nvidia tn2 or something in it,and not sure the code name but i know it had a athlon 1800+,was a 462 socket.

Powered it on and it would not boot,but smelled awful and came to find out some vrms just fried on the spot when i booted it up,the inside of the case looked like it was sitting for a good 5 years.

What codename was this 1800+?I was looking forward to building something pretty cool out of it for retro games,it was housed on a via motherboard that supported both ddr and pc133,had two slots for either ram type which blew me away.

My first pc was a parts rig with a p4,these older athlons are before my time but i knew i had something special.
skipsneeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 01:03 PM   #36
Arkaign
Lifer
 
Arkaign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19,249
Default

Ugh, that VIA board was probably an original KT266 one, probably why it died. A lot of the early DDR boards also had SDR slots.

You could probably pick up an Abit NF7 for cheap and get that sucker going.
__________________
Death is the answer.
Arkaign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 01:11 PM   #37
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,655
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkaign View Post
Ugh, that VIA board was probably an original KT266 one, probably why it died. A lot of the early DDR boards also had SDR slots.

You could probably pick up an Abit NF7 for cheap and get that sucker going.
If i had a test platform,i would have tested the 1800+ but honestly did not want to dump cash into a chip that could have or could have not worked.

Someone was all old school on this thing,it had a 16gb maxtor,the old paper weights that never die with windows 98 installed,the memory was pc133 512mb system total.

Unbelievable but that old hard drive had zero errors or issues,it became a temporary windows xp drive for a relatives computer till he could afford to get a more respective drive for windows 7.
skipsneeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 01:56 PM   #38
Ajay
Platinum Member
 
Ajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 2,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guskline View Post
As I recall, (had a 2500+, 2400 mobile etc) the mobile chips could have the fsb clocked to 166 from 133 or 100. I think this was done to allow more flexibility due to cooling issues. Supposedly the mobile chips were built to higher standards. I would back the fsb to 166 and hike the multiplier. Moreover be sure your ram is in sync. I know the 2500 would run at 200fsb with pc3200 BUT pc2700 was a no-no. For the 2400+ Mobile try the 166 fsb and a 12 multiplier.
I ran my 2500+ @ 200x12 (forget volts) w/PC3200 on an Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe. Solid as a rock. I had some sort of Thermalright solid copper + fins cooler with a high speed 80mm fan on it. I cooled earlier TBred A & B cpus with H20. All - IIRC.
__________________
Asus P6T V2 Deluxe Ci7 970 @ 4.2GHz w/HT, Corsair H100i, 2x240GB SanDisk Extreme RAID0, 2x WD VR 300GB RAID0, MSI GTX 680 PE @ 1110MHz, 12GB G.Skill Riojaws DDR3 1600, Corair 850HX, Corsair 800D case. Win7 x64 Ultimate. Dell U2412M.
Heatware
Ajay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 02:05 PM   #39
Arkaign
Lifer
 
Arkaign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19,249
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajay View Post
I ran my 2500+ @ 200x12 (forget volts) w/PC3200 on an Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe. Solid as a rock. I had some sort of Thermalright solid copper + fins cooler with a high speed 80mm fan on it. I cooled earlier TBred A & B cpus with H20. All - IIRC.
Awww yeah. I used those Thermalrights too, sooooooooo heavy. But nice! That was the first era I starting lapping CPUs, best I got was a lapped 2.4B that I ran at 3.6Ghz. They ran great with AMD's too. I actually created a custom mount to use an 80MM fan though, I had a 60MM Delta that was ludicrously loud/annoying.

this was the one I bought several of :

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835109122
__________________
Death is the answer.
Arkaign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 02:17 PM   #40
Dirigible
Diamond Member
 
Dirigible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,602
Default

I always lol at who the Barton was named after, and why.
__________________
Looking for catsup. PM me if you see it for sale!

Been missing from my area for years.
Dirigible is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 02:24 PM   #41
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,655
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirigible View Post
I always lol at who the Barton was named after, and why.
Maybe a typo and they mean't to name it Burton?
skipsneeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 02:51 PM   #42
SlowSpyder
Diamond Member
 
SlowSpyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,834
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajay View Post
I ran my 2500+ @ 200x12 (forget volts) w/PC3200 on an Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe. Solid as a rock. I had some sort of Thermalright solid copper + fins cooler with a high speed 80mm fan on it. I cooled earlier TBred A & B cpus with H20. All - IIRC.

I had almost the exact same setup and that same Thermalright copper cooler, that thing was just a block of metal. I had the earlier one that didn't have heatpipes, I used a 92mm fan. I could boot at 2.6GHz, but got random restarts. 2.5GHz was 99% stable. I could never get my 2500+ 100% stable on anything beyond the stock speed for some reason, no matter what I did. Back then I used a DFI Lan Party motherboard... that thing was colorful.

I missed the old bare chips without the IHS. My favorite chip from those days had to be my Duron (1600+ or 1800+, I forget which I had) that would go all the way to ~2.2GHz. If I remember correctly I only spent something like $40 for that CPU. That was a monster back in its day.
__________________
Steve
FX 9370 / 7970 / ASRock 990FX Extreme 9
GO PACKERS!
SlowSpyder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 03:29 PM   #43
Makaveli
Diamond Member
 
Makaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkaign View Post
Ugh, that VIA board was probably an original KT266 one, probably why it died. A lot of the early DDR boards also had SDR slots.

You could probably pick up an Abit NF7 for cheap and get that sucker going.
Argh hated those KT266 Chipset boards.

I've never seen so many boards die!
__________________
Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz 1.29v | TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 1600 rpm x2 | Asus P6-T Deluxe V2 | 12GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20 1T | MSI 7970 Ghz + Kraken G10 & H55 | EVGA 650 SC Physx | Logitech G15+G500 | Intel 320GB G2 Raid 0 | WD 1TB Black Storage | ESATA 2TB Green | CM 690 II Advanced | Razor Vespula | HP ZR24w | Logitech Z560 | X-FI Titanium | Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Makaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 06:38 PM   #44
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,655
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli View Post
Argh hated those KT266 Chipset boards.

I've never seen so many boards die!
Thats pretty funny actually,i never owned one of these legendary chips,i get a system that should work and my first plug in and boot up and poof goes vrms.

I know i was a little late to the party by like what 8 years maybe?But wow all this computer did was get moved over to my house for the boot up and wow.

Add mine to the list!
skipsneeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 03:01 AM   #45
AZRoCker42
Member
 
AZRoCker42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 36
Default Old tbirds got hot!!

I still have the ones I didn`t fry but lets see I got a Barton Mobile 2400+ 1.45v a barton 2800+ and a sempron that actually could clock& 2.2 and my Epox 8RDA3+PRO I had the 8KHA+ blew the caps had to replace them and it ran fine I sold it in a system after 6 years I think KT266A better than KT266 by far Always Wanted to get the NF7-S rev2.0
AZRoCker42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:32 AM   #46
Pohemi420
Golden Member
 
Pohemi420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The 'Couve, PNW
Posts: 1,705
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajay View Post
I ran my mobile 2500+ @ 200x12 (forget volts) w/PC3200 on an Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe. Solid as a rock.
Ditto. Actually reached 2.9GHz at one point, but of course it wasn't stable. At 2.4GHz though, I couldn't crash it no matter how hard I tried.
I also recall paying $500+ for the first BFG 6800U OC to throw into that system. Ah, so much fun I had monkeying with that box.
__________________
Heat
FS/FT/WTB
Pohemi420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 12:15 PM   #47
crashtech
Diamond Member
 
crashtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southern Idaho
Posts: 3,037
Default

Funny this thread came to the top, I just pitched a Barton 2800+ into the bin. Trying to rid myself of packrat tendencies, pitched a bunch of dialup modem cards, too, but kept a couple, "just in case," lol.
crashtech is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 01:36 PM   #48
Azuma Hazuki
Member
 
Azuma Hazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 26
Unhappy

Not everyone who works in the GS is bad you know. I'm the token woman on mine and also one of the more competent repair techicians; I've also fixed a fair number of issues OTHER stores' GS cohorts said they couldn't (apparently those customers were shopping around...).

GS is kind of a losing proposition because its model is based on enforced stupidity. Customers are (partly by their own hands, I assert) nearly totally ignorant about how their machines work. And corporations tend to hire the lowest people they can to save money. I am in the unique position of never having been able to afford the certs that say I know what I know, so this particular GS has an intermediate-level sysadmin with over a decade of experience building computers on it. And because I hate seeing people get taken advantage of I save customers money whenever possible (and allowed).

We're not all horrible!
Azuma Hazuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 01:45 PM   #49
BeauCharles
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern California
Posts: 108
Default

I have an Athlon XP 2500+ Barton and a Shuttle brand nForce2 Ultra 400 mobo for it (Shuttle used to make ATX motherboards). It was my first PC building project back in 2003. Served me well for three years - keep thinking about reassembling it for a Linux box. Still have a 7800 GS AGP card and some old RAM. Just need a case a few few more items. Think I'm talking myself into it - lol.
BeauCharles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 02:06 PM   #50
Zodiark1593
Golden Member
 
Zodiark1593's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AZRoCker42 View Post
Funny I was going through all my Old parts Today and found My Old 8RDA3+ Pro board and a 2400+ Mobile Barton put it together just to mess around testing parts anyway can`t remember the volts I should go for on this for OC I got it at 1.575 and it is unstable at 200x10 Does not seem right but it has been years
My parents are still rolling an HP with an Athlon XP 3000+ @ 2.1 GHz. Kicks the crap out of the P4 (3.2 GHz) I'm stuck with at work. (suffice it to say, opening Excel pegs the cpu core, and its fans are audible in the loud environment). Oddly enough, the HDD has not been replaced in all of 8 years, though the mobo sports some SATA ports, so finding a new HDD won't be hard at all. Upgrading the GPU from some VIA igp (worse than any Intel GMA ever) to a Radeon 3450 AGP and throwing in 2 GB RAM (up from 512MB) made for a decent enough Minecraft box for my sis.

Boy, how things have u-turned. Don't the Nehalems still steamroll AMD's best CPU's nowadays.
Zodiark1593 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.