Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Merchandise and Shopping > Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2012, 01:47 PM   #1
tomatom
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 331
Default A4-3400 apu & msi a55m-p33 $50

http://www.frys.com/product/7393224?site=sa:adpages page7_FRI date:110912

===> Enter Thread Crap Here :

1. $20 mail-in-rebate

2. No HDMI

3. No USB3

* but still a Hot Deal ;-)


AMD A4-3400 Combo Kit
$20.00 Rebate


Mfr: AMD Model: AD3400OJHXBOX
FRYS.com #7393224 UPC:



AMD A4-3400 APU & MSI A55M-P33 Motherboard Combo

AMD 3400 Accelerated Processing Unit / 2.7GHz Frequency / Dual-Core / 1MB Cache / HD 6410D Graphics

MSI A55M-P33 / FM1 Socket / Support DDR3 2 x DIMM up to 16GB / A55 Chipset / DVI-Out
__________________
.
♪ I see them long hard times to come ♪ JUSTIFIED
tomatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 02:54 PM   #2
skillyho
Golden Member
 
skillyho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,316
Default

Nice deal, OP! Thanks for posting. Even though they're older, they make for great low end gaming rigs for the family.

My 3400 clocked to 3.2 on stock vCore and netted over 5800 on 3dMark06 with DDR3 1600 RAM - not bad for the price or power usage!

Edit: O.o

Estimated Shipping $7.99
Shipping Discount -$0.00
Shipping Total FREE
Tax $0.00
Total: $76.99

I want meh free shippin!

Last edited by skillyho; 11-09-2012 at 02:58 PM.
skillyho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 03:46 PM   #3
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,104
Default

Fixed link:
Code:
http://www.frys.com/product/7393224
Not a bad deal, but no HDMI really kills the deal for me. Would have made a nice HTPC starter otherwise.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 04:34 PM   #4
NoStateofMind
Diamond Member
 
NoStateofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,206
Default

I hate you guys with Fry's !
__________________
JOSIE the OUTLAW

"For this reason was the Son of God manifest, that God may be Glorified IN Him"...words from a dream
NoStateofMind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 04:34 PM   #5
daveybrat
Diamond Member
 
daveybrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 3,419
Default

Thanks OP, bought some myself.
__________________
Heatware

Gaming Rig: Intel i5-4690K @ 3.5GHz (CM Hyper 212 EVO)| ASRock Z97 Pro4 | 8GB GSkill Ripjaws 1866 DDR3 | Crucial MX100 256GB SSD | WD 640GB Black | MSI GTX 660 Twin-Frozer III | Asus Xonar DG | Corsair CX750 Watt | Windows 8.1 64-Bit
daveybrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:30 PM   #6
thestrangebrew1
Golden Member
 
thestrangebrew1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
Fixed link:
Code:
http://www.frys.com/product/7393224
Not a bad deal, but no HDMI really kills the deal for me. Would have made a nice HTPC starter otherwise.
You could try a dvi to hdmi cable and just run a seperate audio cable out maybe? I had to do this from my projector (dvi out) to my laptop (only hdmi/vga). Had to run a seperate 3.5mm cable from my pc speakers to the laptop to get audio out. Might need something else to run to a receiver. Either way, still pretty cheap, maybe $7-$10 for the dvi-hdmi cable & $5 for the audio.
__________________
Rig: i7 2700k, asrock extreme 4 gen3, 60 gb OCZ Vertex ssd, 128 gb Plextor M3 ssd, samsung spinpoint 1tb hd, 16gb gskill sniper series, EVGA GTX 670 FTW, antec hcg 750w psu

Server: Intel g630, Biostar H61, 4gb gskill ram, antec 400w eco psu
thestrangebrew1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 06:51 PM   #7
SimMike2
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
Fixed link:
Code:
http://www.frys.com/product/7393224
Not a bad deal, but no HDMI really kills the deal for me. Would have made a nice HTPC starter otherwise.
A two year old cheap $1.49 DVI to HDMI converter transfers the sound perfectly fine with my setup. This is a great little HTPC with my Silicon Dust HD Prime. What is really nice is when this thing goes to sleep, it uses basically no energy. And it comes out of sleep to record just fine. Really outstanding deal. What I don't like about the sleep mode is it won't come out by moving the USB mouse or keyboard.

Last edited by SimMike2; 11-09-2012 at 06:54 PM.
SimMike2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 12:50 AM   #8
ElFenix
Super Moderator
Off Topic
 
ElFenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 93,797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SimMike2 View Post
A two year old cheap $1.49 DVI to HDMI converter transfers the sound perfectly fine with my setup. This is a great little HTPC with my Silicon Dust HD Prime. What is really nice is when this thing goes to sleep, it uses basically no energy. And it comes out of sleep to record just fine. Really outstanding deal. What I don't like about the sleep mode is it won't come out by moving the USB mouse or keyboard.
In device manager is allow this device to wake computer checked on the mouse and keyboard?
__________________
I killed and ate the Fun Mod with some jellybeans and a little Chianti.

AnandTech Mean Moderator
ElFenix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:56 PM   #9
Shaka
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 608
Default

Can someone tell me what kind of power consumption they're seeing? Not sure if my 80W picopsu can power this.
__________________
?Hello supernintendo Chalmers. I?m lernding.? --- Ralph Wiggims
Shaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 06:04 PM   #10
gbeirn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaka View Post
Can someone tell me what kind of power consumption they're seeing? Not sure if my 80W picopsu can power this.
I just built 4 machines using the A4-3300 and Asrock A75 boards. With 1 HDD (Seagate) and 1 DVD-RW I measured no more than 50w using a Kill-A-Watt meter.
gbeirn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 06:47 PM   #11
Shaka
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gbeirn View Post
I just built 4 machines using the A4-3300 and Asrock A75 boards. With 1 HDD (Seagate) and 1 DVD-RW I measured no more than 50w using a Kill-A-Watt meter.
Cool, thanks. I saw a review that said ~35W idle, with max around 100W. I'm guessing as long as I'm not running prime95, I should be OK. Also, with picopsu, that kill a watt reading might be lower.
__________________
?Hello supernintendo Chalmers. I?m lernding.? --- Ralph Wiggims
Shaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 06:57 PM   #12
SimMike2
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,469
Default

Mine has maxed out at maybe 55W, with lower being more normal. I think I have a 400W power supply in mine. Sleep mode uses almost nothing. I did replace the stock 70mm fan with a Logysis I got at Newegg for $5. The stock fan was a little too noisy for me. This thing stays really cool.
SimMike2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:13 PM   #13
Nessism
Golden Member
 
Nessism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 1,601
Default

CPU is out of stock at the Manhattan Beach Fry's. Was going to buy this but all they had was an opened box CPU and I don't trust people that return processors.
__________________
"If at first you don't suck seed, suck again until you do suck seed (succeed)."
Curly Howard

HEAT
Nessism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:30 AM   #14
Peanuthead
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 244
Default

Anyone want to pick me up one?
Peanuthead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:57 PM   #15
wirednuts
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaka View Post
Cool, thanks. I saw a review that said ~35W idle, with max around 100W. I'm guessing as long as I'm not running prime95, I should be OK. Also, with picopsu, that kill a watt reading might be lower.
sooo 2012 as soon as i can get more raspberry pi's, the power my server draws will be equal to the devices connected to it. ill have 1 pi for hdd's/fileserv, 1 pi for phone server, and 1 pi for multimedia like shoutcast streaming. all 3 modules will just be added to my existing e350 system, which only uses 15w at idle as it is... but i use it for win7 media center too.

i figure if i can remove 15w more watts at idle, and have more stability (redundancy in the host logic), why not? it will be about a $100 upgrade in hardware too
wirednuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:55 PM   #16
Shaka
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wirednuts View Post
sooo 2012 as soon as i can get more raspberry pi's, the power my server draws will be equal to the devices connected to it. ill have 1 pi for hdd's/fileserv, 1 pi for phone server, and 1 pi for multimedia like shoutcast streaming. all 3 modules will just be added to my existing e350 system, which only uses 15w at idle as it is... but i use it for win7 media center too.

i figure if i can remove 15w more watts at idle, and have more stability (redundancy in the host logic), why not? it will be about a $100 upgrade in hardware too
Good points. I like my 24/7 appliances to use as little energy as possible. Last I heard, raspberry pi availability is pretty low. Not sure why they can't ramp up supply. I'll just continue using my power hungry phenom x3 system in the meanwhile.
__________________
?Hello supernintendo Chalmers. I?m lernding.? --- Ralph Wiggims
Shaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.