Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2012, 09:41 AM   #1
QueBert
Lifer
 
QueBert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 20,017
Default Problem with a few games in Windows 8

This is a new build except the video card which I pulled from my old system (Radeon 4850) Z77 MB 3570k cpu & Windows 8 pro. Drivers are all up to date. I don't have a lot of stuff installed yet, but 2 games aren't working. Doom 3 BFG & GTA IV. Both give me a "has stopped responding" message as soon as I run them. I have the latest DirectX, Net Framework & VC++ redistribution installed. The only advice I found Googling this was to try installing older drivers, but the HD 4xxxx cards don't have W8 drivers from AMD. So the built in drivers from MS seem to be my only option here. I did remove them and tried installing some Windows 7 ones, I didn't get an error. But when I rebooted my resolution was stuck @ 1024x768 and nothing was listed in the device manager for video card.

ANy ideas here? Googling both these games + W8 I'm not seeing anyone with the same problem.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TridenT View Post
No, no, they exist. I've seen them.

They're not usually like hot-hot, but they're like hit it and quit it able.

Last edited by QueBert; 11-09-2012 at 09:48 AM.
QueBert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 05:35 PM   #2
jolancer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 469
Default

Im not familiar with any of the software, but i know the original Doom3 was OpenGL if i recall corectly? is the BFG version and GTA also OpenGL? your statment sounds like you imply other games do work on your system? are the other games DirectX# or OpenGL?

sorry cant really help but definitly sounds like a driver or system render issue, If it happens to be only OpenGL though mybe itl give you a starting point
jolancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.