Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2012, 06:03 AM   #1
sarthakyadav
Member
 
sarthakyadav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: india
Posts: 50
Default fx 4100 performance

hiiii everyone..
Finally i got my fx 4100..and msi g970a-g46 4days back..and paired it with my gtx 550 ti and corsair vengeance 4gb 1600mhz..
and it is quite an upgrade over my earlier one(athlon x2 5200+)...
I am playing Medal of honor warfighter singleplayer at ultra settings(motion blur off) on my native 1366x768 res with avg 35-40 fps...is dat bad?(i really am asking)
though never in my life saw so indulging graphics(i know frostbite 2!)..
though sometimes frame rates drop.but rarely..
i also play fifa13 maxed out(at 1366x768)..

but i don know y but sometimes fifa stutters(vsync on and fraps showing 60fps constant)...
wat do u thing...should i add another 4gb ram....will it give my system a perfromance boost?
and my cpu never goes above 55' celsius...is dat ok tooo?
sarthakyadav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 06:26 AM   #2
inf64
Platinum Member
 
inf64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,059
Default

Games are usually GPU dependent and with 550ti you are looking at a bottleneck in shader heavy games. As for fifa,I know some people have issues with this game so it's not only your system. Maybe it's a swap file,try adding another 4GB or ram.

Also since you have unlocked FX chip,it's practically a shame to hold it down at measly 3.6Ghz . Don't touch the volts and shoot for 4.2Ghz with no Turbo and with power savings on. It takes 3 settings in bios: CPU multiplier change to 21x(21x200), Turbo setting-> off and APM/power saving->on.
__________________
ShintaiDK:"There will be no APU in PS4 and Xbox720."
ShintaiDK:"No quadchannel either.[in Kaveri]"
CHADBOGA:"Because he[OBR] is a great man."
inf64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 07:47 AM   #3
Insert_Nickname
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,903
Default

The FX4100 should be able to reach FX4170 speeds. As inf64 wrote its almost a shame to run it at stock...
Insert_Nickname is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 09:41 AM   #4
sarthakyadav
Member
 
sarthakyadav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: india
Posts: 50
Default

man i jst want to give it a breeze of a time before overclocking it...i know my mobo is gud enough for an overclock...but i don want to experiment with it right now...

about the gtx 550 ti sorry dude upgraded a month ago no possibilities in that region..
anyways thanx for the quick reply frnds...
sarthakyadav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 10:17 AM   #5
Yuriman
Platinum Member
 
Yuriman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,698
Default

Congrats on the system! Come back and share your overclocking stores with us some time.
__________________
3570K @ 4.6GHz 1.29v | ASRock Z77 Extreme4 | Gigabyte HD7850 2GB @ 1125/1575 | 2x 4GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 1.25v | OCZ Agility 3 240GB | WD Green 1.5GB | BFG LS 680w | Skyhawk MSR-4610
Yuriman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 10:51 AM   #6
sarthakyadav
Member
 
sarthakyadav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: india
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuriman View Post
Congrats on the system! Come back and share your overclocking stores with us some time.
thanx...yeeah sure...i just got persuaded and overclocked my system using oc genie 2 (msi overclock utility) since i didnt want to take any risks...it reched 4 ghz with ease...but a lil bit more heat...!!
anyways...
thanx again
sarthakyadav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 01:57 PM   #7
Arkaign
Lifer
 
Arkaign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19,249
Default

I believe that Warfighter uses the same build as Battlefield 3, which I play. It makes a gigantic difference in going from 4GB to 8GB. Loading is faster, less hitching, just a good move for the $.
__________________
Death is the answer.
Arkaign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 04:22 PM   #8
Magic Carpet
Golden Member
 
Magic Carpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,824
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkaign View Post
I believe that Warfighter uses the same build as Battlefield 3, which I play. It makes a gigantic difference in going from 4GB to 8GB. Loading is faster, less hitching, just a good move for the $.
Gigantic difference? Is it like going from single-core to dual-core? ;-p
Magic Carpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 01:10 AM   #9
ArmyVet88
Member
 
ArmyVet88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inf64 View Post
Also since you have unlocked FX chip,it's practically a shame to hold it down at measly 3.6Ghz . Don't touch the volts and shoot for 4.2Ghz with no Turbo and with power savings on. It takes 3 settings in bios: CPU multiplier change to 21x(21x200), Turbo setting-> off and APM/power saving->on.

Im so pumped i just built my rig. I have touch Bios on my motherboard and will be attempting my first OC job ever!! on this processor. I cant wait
__________________
FX-4100 3.60 GHz (No O.C yet!)
Asetek 510LC Liquid Cooling System
GIGABYTE GA-970A-D3 AMD 970
8GB 2x4GB G.SKILL Ripjaw DDR3/1600MHz
MSI GTX 660 TF III (Unlocked Voltage)

ArmyVet88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 01:29 AM   #10
skipsneeky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArmyVet88 View Post
Im so pumped i just built my rig. I have touch Bios on my motherboard and will be attempting my first OC job ever!! on this processor. I cant wait
I remember being even more pumped then you back in 2007 when i replaced a pentium 4 and a 7800gs agp with a core 2 duo e6750 and a 8800gts 512mb , it blew me away so much i didn't even bother to oc it,only after i swapped in a Q6600 did i get ballsy and oc it.

Very happy your happy with the new system.
skipsneeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 02:16 AM   #11
ArmyVet88
Member
 
ArmyVet88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skipsneeky2 View Post
I remember being even more pumped then you back in 2007 when i replaced a pentium 4 and a 7800gs agp with a core 2 duo e6750 and a 8800gts 512mb , it blew me away so much i didn't even bother to oc it,only after i swapped in a Q6600 did i get ballsy and oc it.

Very happy your happy with the new system.
Yea boss, to be honest i began my journey into computer hardware about 2 months ago. I got out of the military in 2010 after 2 tours in Afghanistan. Moved back to my hometown with my wife and went right back into construction, (plumbing and heating- i went to a technical highschool) I woke up about 3 months ago and looked at my wife and told her i hated my life (mostly job). My back and knees are shot from jumping out of airplanes, and plumbing is not the best thing for your knees haha. I am only 25 and was kind of sick to my stomach about my future. Then i really just started doing research and what not. I became so thirsty for knowledge. I have been doing nothing but self teaching and an old buddy of mine has a degree in computer science. So well just nerd out for like 2 hours now and bullshit about builds. Hopefully this Fall or next Spring i will be able to enroll in a Computer Engineering Science A.S degree program at my local community college. I have been to many of forums for many different "Hobbies" and this "Scene" has been the most fun and intense in terms of material. If i have a question their is always multiple people with responses. I am kind of gushing right now, its all so new to me. Im just waiting for my PSU to arrive and ill be able to go through "First Boot". with Touch BIOS i should be able to OC the processor in no time
__________________
FX-4100 3.60 GHz (No O.C yet!)
Asetek 510LC Liquid Cooling System
GIGABYTE GA-970A-D3 AMD 970
8GB 2x4GB G.SKILL Ripjaw DDR3/1600MHz
MSI GTX 660 TF III (Unlocked Voltage)

ArmyVet88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:22 PM   #12
nenforcer
Golden Member
 
nenforcer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magic Carpet View Post
Gigantic difference? Is it like going from single-core to dual-core? ;-p
Yes, its like going from a dual core to a quad core in BF3 Multiplayer. It's a requirement.
__________________
nForcer 2
======
AMD Sempron 3300+ @ 2.2GHz Barton Sock A 512Kb L2
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe nForce 2 MB
Seagate 7200.10 7200 RPM 250GB IDE w/ 8MB Cache Perpendicular
EVGA Geforce 7800GS 256MB AGP 8X
BFGTech Ageia Physx 128MB PPU PCI
1GB (512MBx2) Crucial Ballistix DDR400 4-4-4 Dual Channel
nVidia Soundstorm Dolby Digital Coaxial
Sony CPD-E540 21" CRT Monitor 1600x1200 85Hz VSYNC Off
Windows XP SP3
nenforcer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.