Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2012, 11:22 PM   #1
j03h4gLund
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 243
Default Screen Studdering / Skipping issue

While playing online games(BF3 or Rift), every 10-20 secondsish the entire screen just freezes up for a split second. This doesn't affect video's or voice communication. Everything just freezes up for a split second then goes back to normal. The actual FPS is great and looks fine but these studders/skips are driving me insane!!

I recently upgraded my 1GB GTX 460 because of this issue and it has not helped. I tried recording a video to show the issue but the recorded video does not capture the freezes.

My specs:
CPU: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.3Ghz
MB: ASRock Z68 PRO3 GEN3
RAM: Patriot Sig 2x4 DDR3 1600
PSU: Antec 650w Earthwatts
GPU: 2GB MSI GTX 670
SSD Patriot Torqx 2 64GB
OS: Win 7 Pro 64 (licensed)
Connection: 60Mbps x 5Mbps

Here's what I've tried so far:

  • Installed all the latest drivers for my GPU after removing the old ones in safe mode with Driver Sweeper. Also ensured the on-board video card is not being used by disabling it and uninstalling those drivers as well.
  • Installed latest drivers/bios for Mobo.
  • Removed overclock on CPU.
  • Formatted & Installed Fresh Win 7 Pro 64bit + All windows updates.
  • Swapped SATA cable between PSU and SSD.
  • Installing the game on a different drive.
  • Swapped RAM from slots 1&3 to 2&4
  • Turned VSYNC off & set my Nvidia settings for performance
  • Tried running the game in low-render mode w/ everything cranked down(dx9)
  • C: Windows\system32>sfc /scannow
    Beginning system scan. This process will take some time.
    Beginning verification phase of system scan.
    Verification 100% complete.
    Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations.
  • Ran Windows Memory Diagnostics Tool: No Errors
I'm starting to lose my mind - Any suggestions?
__________________
CPU/Mobo: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.8Ghz/ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 w/Hyper 212 Plus
RAM: Patriot Sig 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 (1866;9-10-9-22 CR1)
PSU: Rosewill FORTRESS-750W
GPU/Display: Reference 2GB MSI GTX 670 OC ed./BenQ XL2720T 120Hz 1ms
Keyboard/Mouse: CM Storm Quickfire TK Cherry MX Red/Logitech G9X
Storage: Samsung 830 256GB, (2)1TB Samsung F3's

Last edited by j03h4gLund; 10-22-2012 at 04:37 PM.
j03h4gLund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 01:38 AM   #2
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,758
Default

make sure the gpu card is in properly.
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 02:34 PM   #3
j03h4gLund
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 243
Default

The card is in securely & properly, I have reseated it and also tried it in the other PCI-E slot since my mobo supports SLI. Still the issue remains.
__________________
CPU/Mobo: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.8Ghz/ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 w/Hyper 212 Plus
RAM: Patriot Sig 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 (1866;9-10-9-22 CR1)
PSU: Rosewill FORTRESS-750W
GPU/Display: Reference 2GB MSI GTX 670 OC ed./BenQ XL2720T 120Hz 1ms
Keyboard/Mouse: CM Storm Quickfire TK Cherry MX Red/Logitech G9X
Storage: Samsung 830 256GB, (2)1TB Samsung F3's
j03h4gLund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 03:18 PM   #4
sm625
Diamond Member
 
sm625's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,791
Default

You need to start killing processes and services until you find the one that is causing the issue. Could be an antivirus, could be a service like LogMeIn (LogMeIn has cause a problem exactly like yours for me), could be a printer driver, or it could be genuine malware.
__________________
I am looking for a cheap upgrade to my 3 year old computer.
AT forum member #1: Buy a 4790k

I am looking for a way to get 10 more fps in TF2.
AT forum member #2: Buy a 4790k
sm625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 04:32 PM   #5
j03h4gLund
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 243
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sm625 View Post
You need to start killing processes and services until you find the one that is causing the issue. Could be an antivirus, could be a service like LogMeIn (LogMeIn has cause a problem exactly like yours for me), could be a printer driver, or it could be genuine malware.
It's a fresh install of Windows 7 Pro 64Bit with MSE as the anti-virus. Even if it was something you mentioned, wouldn't it be noticeable when not in 3d games? Because currently I can watch full screen movies with no hiccups at all.
__________________
CPU/Mobo: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.8Ghz/ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 w/Hyper 212 Plus
RAM: Patriot Sig 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 (1866;9-10-9-22 CR1)
PSU: Rosewill FORTRESS-750W
GPU/Display: Reference 2GB MSI GTX 670 OC ed./BenQ XL2720T 120Hz 1ms
Keyboard/Mouse: CM Storm Quickfire TK Cherry MX Red/Logitech G9X
Storage: Samsung 830 256GB, (2)1TB Samsung F3's
j03h4gLund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 09:01 PM   #6
mfenn
Elite Member
Super Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,986
Default

Download the DPC latency checker and run it in the background (or just run the game windowed). See if you can correlate any DPC spikes to hitches in the game.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:06 AM   #7
j03h4gLund
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 243
Default

Ran it for around 5 minutes and the studders happened around 10 times. No spikes in the graphs - heres a screenshot w/ speakeasy speedtest also.

__________________
CPU/Mobo: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.8Ghz/ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 w/Hyper 212 Plus
RAM: Patriot Sig 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 (1866;9-10-9-22 CR1)
PSU: Rosewill FORTRESS-750W
GPU/Display: Reference 2GB MSI GTX 670 OC ed./BenQ XL2720T 120Hz 1ms
Keyboard/Mouse: CM Storm Quickfire TK Cherry MX Red/Logitech G9X
Storage: Samsung 830 256GB, (2)1TB Samsung F3's
j03h4gLund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 08:00 AM   #8
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,502
Default

Have you tried removing MSE to see if it could be causing the problem? Also, does your SSD have the most recent available firmware installed? If you have a spare hard drive available, it might be worth throwing a clean windows install on it and try running without the SSD to eliminate it as a possible cause of the stuttering.

Last edited by Steltek; 10-23-2012 at 08:05 AM.
Steltek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 12:02 PM   #9
Dstoop
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by j03h4gLund View Post
It's a fresh install of Windows 7 Pro 64Bit with MSE as the anti-virus. Even if it was something you mentioned, wouldn't it be noticeable when not in 3d games? Because currently I can watch full screen movies with no hiccups at all.
Uninstall MSE. I had this exact issue years ago and MSE turned out to be the culprit, it's active scanning was scanning every single file and asset games accessed causing frequent stuttering. Of course that was forever ago and they may have resolved the issue or we've all thrown so much extra processor power at the problem that its not noticeable anymore, or it could be something else entirely, but i'd start there as AV software is frequently the cause of stutter in games.
Dstoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 04:43 PM   #10
j03h4gLund
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 243
Default

I will try this when I get home.
__________________
CPU/Mobo: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.8Ghz/ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 w/Hyper 212 Plus
RAM: Patriot Sig 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 (1866;9-10-9-22 CR1)
PSU: Rosewill FORTRESS-750W
GPU/Display: Reference 2GB MSI GTX 670 OC ed./BenQ XL2720T 120Hz 1ms
Keyboard/Mouse: CM Storm Quickfire TK Cherry MX Red/Logitech G9X
Storage: Samsung 830 256GB, (2)1TB Samsung F3's
j03h4gLund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 07:10 PM   #11
mfenn
Elite Member
Super Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,986
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstoop View Post
Uninstall MSE. I had this exact issue years ago and MSE turned out to be the culprit, it's active scanning was scanning every single file and asset games accessed causing frequent stuttering. Of course that was forever ago and they may have resolved the issue or we've all thrown so much extra processor power at the problem that its not noticeable anymore, or it could be something else entirely, but i'd start there as AV software is frequently the cause of stutter in games.
Good point. I had a similar issue with Filezilla and MSE. The whole machine would grind to a halt when it was generating icons because MSE decided that the whole file needed to be scanned.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 04:29 PM   #12
j03h4gLund
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 243
Default

Disabled MSE via msconfig, studdering persists.

Any other tips before I start replacing pieces of this build?
__________________
CPU/Mobo: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.8Ghz/ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 w/Hyper 212 Plus
RAM: Patriot Sig 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 (1866;9-10-9-22 CR1)
PSU: Rosewill FORTRESS-750W
GPU/Display: Reference 2GB MSI GTX 670 OC ed./BenQ XL2720T 120Hz 1ms
Keyboard/Mouse: CM Storm Quickfire TK Cherry MX Red/Logitech G9X
Storage: Samsung 830 256GB, (2)1TB Samsung F3's
j03h4gLund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 05:45 PM   #13
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by j03h4gLund View Post
Disabled MSE via msconfig, studdering persists.

Any other tips before I start replacing pieces of this build?
Honestly, if it were me, I'd pull the SSD and try running Windows on a regular hard drive before you do anything else to eliminate the possibility that your SSD is causing the problem.

Your stuttering issue could be the SSD freezing up. The Torqx 2 uses a pretty oddball controller (Phison) and there is apparently little or no firmware development going on anywhere for it. The Corsair Nova 2 SSD uses the same controller and is giving owners fits over these exact types of issues -- apparently, some of them are even risking crossflashing of firmware from another company to get some relief (not that I advocate doing this, though -- if it is causing the problem, an RMA would be better if it is still under warranty):

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=700177

Last edited by Steltek; 10-24-2012 at 05:47 PM.
Steltek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 05:52 PM   #14
j03h4gLund
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 243
Default

Thanks for the reply, I am going to try this when I get home. I was thinking the same thing. Luckily I have a spare 1TB F3 that is ready for a fresh installation.

Ill let you know how it goes
__________________
CPU/Mobo: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.8Ghz/ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 w/Hyper 212 Plus
RAM: Patriot Sig 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 (1866;9-10-9-22 CR1)
PSU: Rosewill FORTRESS-750W
GPU/Display: Reference 2GB MSI GTX 670 OC ed./BenQ XL2720T 120Hz 1ms
Keyboard/Mouse: CM Storm Quickfire TK Cherry MX Red/Logitech G9X
Storage: Samsung 830 256GB, (2)1TB Samsung F3's
j03h4gLund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 05:07 PM   #15
j03h4gLund
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 243
Default

So I removed the SSD and formatted installed win7 on fresh 1TB F3. After installing the correct drivers/updates for everything, I loaded up Rift and started with low-render (directx9) and the problem persisted... *sigh*

I removed all drives except the SSD and it appeared to be actually be better but how could the mechanical drives affect the game when the SSD has the games and the OS?

I still need to test as I was very limited w/ my time last night but I think that may have actually been the problem.
__________________
CPU/Mobo: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.8Ghz/ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 w/Hyper 212 Plus
RAM: Patriot Sig 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 (1866;9-10-9-22 CR1)
PSU: Rosewill FORTRESS-750W
GPU/Display: Reference 2GB MSI GTX 670 OC ed./BenQ XL2720T 120Hz 1ms
Keyboard/Mouse: CM Storm Quickfire TK Cherry MX Red/Logitech G9X
Storage: Samsung 830 256GB, (2)1TB Samsung F3's
j03h4gLund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 07:22 PM   #16
LowTech
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Default

Does your MOBO has on board video? If you do, I would pull out the video card, then test the game to see if it still shuttering. Of course, you have to lower the BF game resolution. If it still shuttering, then run the CD driver came with the MOBO. I suspect it most likely the driver for the chipsets.
LowTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 04:50 PM   #17
j03h4gLund
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 243
Default

Turns out with the SSD by itself the game still studders so that eliminates the other drives causing it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech View Post
Does your MOBO has on board video? If you do, I would pull out the video card, then test the game to see if it still shuttering. Of course, you have to lower the BF game resolution. If it still shuttering, then run the CD driver came with the MOBO. I suspect it most likely the driver for the chipsets.
Yah it does, I'll give that a try...

Should have thought of this earlier - thanks! I currently have the card disabled and no drivers installed for it but I'll def give it a try. Will let you know tomorrow how it goes.
__________________
CPU/Mobo: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.8Ghz/ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 w/Hyper 212 Plus
RAM: Patriot Sig 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 (1866;9-10-9-22 CR1)
PSU: Rosewill FORTRESS-750W
GPU/Display: Reference 2GB MSI GTX 670 OC ed./BenQ XL2720T 120Hz 1ms
Keyboard/Mouse: CM Storm Quickfire TK Cherry MX Red/Logitech G9X
Storage: Samsung 830 256GB, (2)1TB Samsung F3's
j03h4gLund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 08:19 PM   #18
MTDEW
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Central PA
Posts: 4,007
Default

I'm only replying because i saw your post about buying a new motherboard.
Things i would try before buying any new hardware.
1st Unplug any drives other than the SSD.
2nd Be sure your SATA is in AHCI mode in bios/UEFI before installation.
1: disable the 2500k's video....
In UEFI Advanced/northbridge/ IGD multimonitor - Disable
Primary Graphics adapter PCI Express
2: disable legacy USB 3.0 support in UEFI (for troubleshooting, you can re-enable later)
3: Clean Install of Win7 w/SP1 if possible (see number 5: first!)
4: Install all of the following.
Install Intel INF driver Update Utility Latest INF is Version:9.2.3.1022
REBOOT
Install Intel Management Engine Driver version 8.0.2.1410
REBOOT
Install Intel Rapid Storage Technology Driver Version:11.6.0.1030
REBOOT
Install Realtek Lan driver ver:7048
Install ASMedia USB 3.0 driver ver:1.10.1.0
Install sound driver.... If your using your onboard sound, the latest RealTek Driver is R2.70
5: Check your SSD is properly aligned. (it should be if you used Win7 to create the SSD partition)
Easiest way is to check is to download and run AS SSD benchmark.
Once started be sure your SSD is selected and look in the left top box.....iaStoreA and 1024 k should both be green and say OK.
If you have red, your SSD isn't aligned properly, you can use Gparted to align it without re-installing everything, but it takes awhile.
Or re-install Win7 and delete\create partitions on the SSD during setup of Win7 and Win7 should properly align the partiton on the SSD for you.
6: Install all windows updates.
7: Install latest video driver
8: Verify video card is running x16 using GPU-Z
9: Install and try games and see if problem persists. (allow games to install any directx or Visual C++ updates it needs)

Notice: I was very particular of what to install.
For testing, don't install any utilities, browsers, add-ons or any other programs besides windows, its updates and drivers you need. (well, i know its hard not to install antivirus software, so i'd probably still install that as soon as my Network Adapter drivers were installed)
Don't do any OS tweaks or anything yet, until you've tested.
Dont plug in any USB devices besides keyboard and mouse.,No gamepad controllers, external hard drives, printers etc..etc... NOTHING that isn't needed.

EDIT: Forgot to add, if you're on a router, disconnect it and plug internet directly to pc.
And be sure and test games online and offline to see what differs.
You can always do a Win 7 Clean Boot and start trouble shooting that way after your new installation.
__________________
Win7 64bit / 2600k @ 4.6ghz / Asus P8Z68-V Pro / 16gb GSkill DDR3 1600 / Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X / Corsair HX850w / Samsung 830 SSD / WD Black HDDs / CM HAF X / YAMAKASI CATLEAP Q270 SE 27" 2560X1440 + Tempered glass

Last edited by MTDEW; 10-26-2012 at 08:42 PM.
MTDEW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:35 PM   #19
j03h4gLund
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 243
Default

1st Unplug any drives other than the SSD.
Did this.
2nd Be sure your SATA is in AHCI mode in bios/UEFI before installation.
Did this and did fresh format/install after setting to AHCI.

1:
disable the 2500k's video....
In UEFI Advanced/northbridge/ IGD multimonitor - Disable
Primary Graphics adapter PCI Express
Did this and it did not help.

2:
disable legacy USB 3.0 support in UEFI (for troubleshooting, you can re-enable later)
Did this and it did not help.

3:
Clean Install of Win7 w/SP1 if possible (see number 5: first!)
Did this and it did not help.

4:
Install all of the following.
Install Intel INF driver Update Utility Latest INF is Version:9.2.3.1022
REBOOT
Install Intel Management Engine Driver version 8.0.2.1410
REBOOT
Install Intel Rapid Storage Technology Driver Version:11.6.0.1030
REBOOT
Install Realtek Lan driver ver:7048
Install ASMedia USB 3.0 driver ver:1.10.1.0
Install sound driver.... If your using your onboard sound, the latest RealTek Driver is R2.70
Did all of this and it did not help.

5:
Check your SSD is properly aligned. (it should be if you used Win7 to create the SSD partition)
Easiest way is to check is to download and run AS SSD benchmark.
Once started be sure your SSD is selected and look in the left top box.....iaStoreA and 1024 k should both be green and say OK.
If you have red, your SSD isn't aligned properly, you can use Gparted to align it without re-installing everything, but it takes awhile.
Or re-install Win7 and delete\create partitions on the SSD during setup of Win7 and Win7 should properly align the partiton on the SSD for you.
Did this and it did not help. All were green. Ran quick and full tests.

6:
Install all windows updates.
Did this and it did not help.

7:
Install latest video driver
Did this and it did not help.

8:
Verify video card is running x16 using GPU-Z
Verified this. Also tried both PCI-E slots. Did not help.

9:
Install and try games and see if problem persists. (allow games to install any directx or Visual C++ updates it needs)
Tested and issues remain.Also I feel its important to note that the sound is not affected by these glitches
__________________
CPU/Mobo: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.8Ghz/ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 w/Hyper 212 Plus
RAM: Patriot Sig 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 (1866;9-10-9-22 CR1)
PSU: Rosewill FORTRESS-750W
GPU/Display: Reference 2GB MSI GTX 670 OC ed./BenQ XL2720T 120Hz 1ms
Keyboard/Mouse: CM Storm Quickfire TK Cherry MX Red/Logitech G9X
Storage: Samsung 830 256GB, (2)1TB Samsung F3's
j03h4gLund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 12:37 AM   #20
jolancer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 469
Default

Sorry if i missed it but i didn't see you mention or anyone ask... If the stutter happens within these games Online Only?(cause you mention online) but what about offline completely?... Does it stutter at all offline?

My first assumption(after you listed that compitent list of troubleshooting you initally went through. Thats a breath of fresh air for most probably. Thx for that) was your internet connection(Located Far away from the game server your using??), or simply perhaps a connection related bug for the game if not internet issue related alone.

more random assumptions - someone correct me if im wrong but the weak part of your system also is that Motherboard, ASrock? Iv been outa hardware for few years now but isnt that one of the generic brands, cheaper then the mainstream players such as Gigabyte, MSI, DFI etc?... On cheap boards in the day i sometimes had boards that the onboard ethernet controller wouldnt even function, but plugging an aftermarket one in would work fine after disabling the onboard in BIOS.
jolancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 01:22 AM   #21
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jolancer View Post
more random assumptions - someone correct me if im wrong but the weak part of your system also is that Motherboard, ASrock? Iv been outa hardware for few years now but isnt that one of the generic brands, cheaper then the mainstream players such as Gigabyte, MSI, DFI etc?... On cheap boards in the day i sometimes had boards that the onboard ethernet controller wouldnt even function, but plugging an aftermarket one in would work fine after disabling the onboard in BIOS.
Asrock is now considered to be a lower-tier high-end brand now, right up there behind ASUS and Gigabyte, and makes some very good motherboards. They originally were a subsidiary of ASUS but was spun off as a separate company several years ago. The technology and engineering transfers at the spinoff made their first boards look a lot like ASUS boards, but they've really hit their own stride in the last 12-18 months. There are some very credible rumors that ASUS made a serious offer to buy Asrock back last month - we'll see how that turns out.

Last edited by Steltek; 11-09-2012 at 01:26 AM.
Steltek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 03:55 AM   #22
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,502
Default

How is your internet connected? Is it wireless, wired ethernet, or USB? Does the modem connect directly to the system, or does it go through a router? Also, when you speed test your internet connection as it is currently connected, does it test out near the rated speed (or at least where past experience tells you it should be) or is it appearing to be a lot slower than it should be?

One final thing: if you check the homegroups on your machine, is your machine a member of a homegroup? If so, try leaving it. I had a situation yesterday where membership in a homegroup on a clean Win7 install was limiting my normal 13-16 megabit connection to less than 2 megabits/s and internet browsing was literally all over the place (page delays, page loading hangups, etc). Leaving the homegroup totally eliminated the problem.

Last edited by Steltek; 11-09-2012 at 07:44 PM.
Steltek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.