Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2012, 07:06 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Default Cores downclocking under load w/ CnQ

Hey folks, strange prob.

During torture tests with Cool n' Quiet enabled, cores will sporadically downclock to exactly 20.5x regardless of multi (even when running at stock 200x21).

Does not happen during 3-thread tests, only at 100% load.

Is not affected by clock speed. So long as the multi is 20.5 or less it stays steady.

Temps never exceeds ~45C CPU, ~42C MB

Setup at default/careful settings:
FX 4170 (200x21 @ 1.44v)
ASUS M5A88-M (2200 FSB/HT)
DDR3-1866 (1:4 @ 1600)

I've about VRM MOSFET overheat problems with this board and FX-8xxx, but never 4xxx.

Ready to pull the trigger on these but figured I'd run it past the crowd.

Any ideas? Anyone had this prob?

Possibly related, my clock seems to fluctuate a lot; 193-204mhz. Cheap board?
Snachmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 07:40 PM   #2
Platinum Member
richierich1212's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Vallejo, CA (SF Bay Area)
Posts: 2,258

What is your turbo set at? Try disabling it maybe?
Mini-Beast HTPC 4790K Stock @ 1.077v / Zalman CNPS8900 / Samsung Magic DDR3 2x8GB 2133 1.45v / XFX R9 285 / Win 8.1 64-Bit / Samsung Evo 250GB / WD Black 1TB / Rosewill ARC-M550 / Thermaltake Core V1

richierich1212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:31 PM   #3
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2

Same with and w/o TurboCore enabled.
Snachmo is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.