Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2012, 11:49 AM   #1
thewhat
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 160
Question SSD - sudden drop in write performance

This is what I got yesterday:



These are the results from today:



All I did was install Windows 8 on it. But after that I formatted the drive, later I even ran the clean command from diskpart, so I don't think that should have anything to do with it.
Also as you can see from HDTune it's the same jumpy performance all along the space on the drive.

Any ideas?

Intel 520 180GB, Gigabyte P55A-UD4, using the "native" SATA-2 controller, not Marvell.
thewhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 12:09 PM   #2
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,710
Default

Did you align the partitions? Diskpart clean clears the disk partition table but does not do any disk wiping. Installing OS's might also require you let garbage collection occur with the drive on but some what idle. I am not sure how aggressive the 510 is with garbage collection.
imagoon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 12:20 PM   #3
thewhat
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 160
Default

Yeah, the partitions are aligned. I didn't do it manually, but AS SSD says it's ok.
I did the HDTune write test without partitions, tho, because it wouldn't run otherwise.

Also, I later also ran 'clean all' just in case and it didn't change much.


AS SSD shows some of improvement for 4k, but a significant drop for sequential writes.
Before:


After:
thewhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 12:28 PM   #4
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,710
Default

Did you install the system board drivers? You don't mention the chipset but getting the actual intel drives for intel chipsets is known to improve performance over the base windows ones. Make sure the SATA cables are latched also.
imagoon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 01:10 PM   #5
thewhat
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 160
Default

Yes, I have installed the drivers and all.
thewhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 03:21 PM   #6
dmoney1980
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,054
Default

AHCI?
dmoney1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 03:53 PM   #7
thewhat
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 160
Default

I also ran a test with Atto (which uses compressible data) and the speed is the same as it was at the beginning, no change in performance.

But after reading this it seems like this performance degradation might be perfectly normal after you write incompressible data on a 520 or an SSD with a similar controller.
And there's nothing that can bring that incompressible write performance back.
But I'm guessing it might not affect the real world usage too much.

If I'm wrong, though, let me know.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmoney1980 View Post
AHCI?
Of course.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tweakboy View Post
Show us your CrystalDiskinfo
thewhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 04:39 PM   #8
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,710
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tweakboy View Post
This is normal "IMO" that is what TRIM is for. It should have brought back your speed, how long has it been slow like that.

Show us your CrystalDiskinfo that will tell us at what percentage health your drive is at,, should be 100 percent and no errors....... This happened to my old mans cheapo a-data 128GB sata 3.0 but 375mbps ,, now crystal shows it at 97 percent and shows wear lifetime exptancy and it transfers now at 300mbps permanatly it has TRIM but that isnt doing.. thats what happens when you get a cheapo ssd... and its slow.......
TRIM has nothing to with this. Your constant babbling about TRIM shows us all that you have no idea what it does. That drive has 12GB of spare area which is plenty to do the small 100MB tests it does.
imagoon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 04:44 PM   #9
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,710
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thewhat View Post
I also ran a test with Atto (which uses compressible data) and the speed is the same as it was at the beginning, no change in performance.

But after reading this it seems like this performance degradation might be perfectly normal after you write incompressible data on a 520 or an SSD with a similar controller.
And there's nothing that can bring that incompressible write performance back.
But I'm guessing it might not affect the real world usage too much.

If I'm wrong, though, let me know.



Of course.


This seems to confirm that:

http://www.anandtech.com/print/5817

Anand's own testing of the 520 showed pretty consistent numbers to what you are seeing. You might see an improvement if you use the Intel tools to clean up the empty space on the drives but the huge numbers seen in some of the testing require compressible data which makes sense since if you count say 2GB text file, compress it down to 1MB and send it over a 1MB/s line then decompress, a meter would show that you transferred a 2GB file in 1 sec and show 2GB/s as the transfer rate.
imagoon is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.