Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2012, 11:33 AM   #1
SandEagle
Lifer
 
SandEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Middle East Side
Posts: 16,684
Default any cheap laptops with 32gb ram?

need to build a laptop that can handle 32gb ram. want to keep it under $1500 if possible. any good suggestions?
__________________
Fear is what keeps you alive. Never not be afraid.
SandEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 11:53 AM   #2
ericloewe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 258
Default

32GB in a laptop is something probably reserved for stuff like pseudo-laptops with desktop processors. Definitely not cheap.
In most laptops, you'd need 16GB SO-DIMMs, and the processor/mobo have to support that much memory (don't know any laptop ones that do), so don't count on them in the near future.
ericloewe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 12:00 PM   #3
rsutoratosu
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,344
Default

thinkpad w520 - used
quad-core model:
32GB max, four 204-pin SO-DIMM sockets

http://www.lenovo.com/shop/americas/...tech_specs.pdf

or w530 - new/refurb, bring your own memory, lenovo charges arm and leg for memory

Last edited by rsutoratosu; 11-08-2012 at 12:03 PM.
rsutoratosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 12:25 PM   #4
ther00kie16
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,572
Default

Another vote for w520.
Otherwise, just search for 32gb on
http://www.xoticpc.com/custom-gaming...8_100_104.html
ther00kie16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 12:52 PM   #5
SandEagle
Lifer
 
SandEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Middle East Side
Posts: 16,684
Default

thanks. i'll buy my own memory. currently have an xps15 that dell states maxes out to 8gb, but i have 16gb working on it just fine. i'll be running several VMs with SQL Server 2012, Windows Server 2012, etc. 16gb isnt going to cut it anymore.
__________________
Fear is what keeps you alive. Never not be afraid.
SandEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 01:51 PM   #6
pukemon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 850
Default

The Dell Precision M4700 Mobile Workstation has 4 SO-DIMM slots and can take up to 32GB of RAM so that'll work.
pukemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 03:05 PM   #7
SandEagle
Lifer
 
SandEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Middle East Side
Posts: 16,684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pukemon View Post
The Dell Precision M4700 Mobile Workstation has 4 SO-DIMM slots and can take up to 32GB of RAM so that'll work.
sweet, thanks. i looked at dell earlier but must have missed this one. 4700 vs 530 it is.
__________________
Fear is what keeps you alive. Never not be afraid.

Last edited by SandEagle; 11-08-2012 at 03:07 PM.
SandEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:08 AM   #8
Gunbuster
Diamond Member
 
Gunbuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 6,309
Default

Note that on the M4700 you must have a quad core CPU to use 32GB. The dual core cpu config does not support it.
__________________
Committee for the Liberation and Integration of Terrifying Organisms and their Rehabilitation Into Society
Gunbuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 01:52 PM   #9
holden j caufield
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 5,336
Default

I seen some coworkers with w510, w520, w530 with 32gb of ram and 3 SSD in a w520 or w530. It's a virtual machine heaven.
__________________
Heatware rating 43-0 since 1997
holden j caufield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 07:21 PM   #10
Gintaras
Golden Member
 
Gintaras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,888
Default

Why do you need 32G of RAM?
Gintaras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 07:35 PM   #11
gmaster456
Golden Member
 
gmaster456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,610
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gintaras View Post
Why do you need 32G of RAM?
He just said.
__________________
"Those that would trade essential liberty for temporary security deserve neither liberty nor security."-Ben Franklin
Woe to those who make unjust laws and to those who issue oppressive decrees. -Isaiah 10:1
Blaming guns for death is like blaming forks for obesity-Me

gmaster456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.