Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2012, 08:42 AM   #1
wand3r3r
Platinum Member
 
wand3r3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,511
Default Has anyone tried RadeonPro for microstuttering?

Has anyone tried this yet?
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...2,3329-11.html

It looks nothing short of amazing (on paper) so if anyone has tried it yet let us know how it is.

Will this be the end of the microstuttering complaints, or not?

wand3r3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:50 AM   #2
SirPauly
Diamond Member
 
SirPauly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4,703
Default

That example looks impressive.
SirPauly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:58 AM   #3
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,452
Default

It's a framerate cap. How else would the frametime values be so constant? So it really isn't anything new, this was possible years ago with Dxtory, Bandicam etc.

Obviously, scaling suffers with this. In the beginning of my SLI days I employed a limiter too, but now I don't because the compromise is too severe.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:11 AM   #4
lavaheadache
Diamond Member
 
lavaheadache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 6,307
Default

It's not just a frame cap there buddy. It is also even frame distibution. Not the same thing.

I have crossfire 7970's. When I get home, after I feed the animals, beat the wife and kid, I'm going to try this out and report back. I'm very sensitive to microstutter and always looking to minimize it's appearance.
__________________
Video Card Specialist

sell me your 5950 Ultra

Heat 137-0-0
lavaheadache is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:44 AM   #5
felang
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 524
Default

Is this the same as Nvidia Adaptive VSYNC?
felang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:25 AM   #6
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lavaheadache View Post
It's not just a frame cap there buddy. It is also even frame distibution. Not the same thing.

I have crossfire 7970's. When I get home, after I feed the animals, beat the wife and kid, I'm going to try this out and report back. I'm very sensitive to microstutter and always looking to minimize it's appearance.
I don't know why, but it is the same thing. When I experience microstutter and I employ an fps limiter, the result is exactly the same. Even frametimes, no microstutter. I know it doesn't make sense, but I guess the framerate limiters have some distribution or timing function built in already.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:43 AM   #7
GotNoRice
Senior Member
 
GotNoRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
Posts: 316
Default

So this appears to require limiting your FPS to some value below 60?

As an owner of a 120hz monitor, that would not be acceptable in any way. I try to keep my FPS pegged at 120 whenever possible. So far I've found adaptive Vsync to be very useful in this regard.
__________________
Main Rig: i5-2500K @ 5Ghz - ASUS P8Z68-V - 2x EVGA Geforce GTX680 Superclocked - 16GB DDR3 1600 - X-Fi Titanium PCI-E - Samsung 840 Pro 128G - Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w - Corsair 800D
Server: Core i5 650 @ 3.85Ghz - Asus P7H55-M PRO - 12GB DDR3 - FSP 550w PSU
GotNoRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 11:07 AM   #8
wand3r3r
Platinum Member
 
wand3r3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,511
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GotNoRice View Post
So this appears to require limiting your FPS to some value below 60?

As an owner of a 120hz monitor, that would not be acceptable in any way. I try to keep my FPS pegged at 120 whenever possible. So far I've found adaptive Vsync to be very useful in this regard.
No that's not how it works.
Quote:
First, we have to make a profile for the game in question. It's a good idea, we've discovered, to first come up with an average frame rate using a tool like Fraps. If the average is higher than your screen's refresh rate, then that refresh rate is a good limit for the dynamic v-sync. Otherwise, the average frame rate itself is a good number to use.
wand3r3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 02:12 PM   #9
DiogoDX
Senior Member
 
DiogoDX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GotNoRice View Post
So this appears to require limiting your FPS to some value below 60?

As an owner of a 120hz monitor, that would not be acceptable in any way. I try to keep my FPS pegged at 120 whenever possible. So far I've found adaptive Vsync to be very useful in this regard.
You have 2 diferent features: DVC (adaptavie vsync) e DFC (frame cap)

Quote:
- New: Dynamic Vsync Control (DVC) support. This feature controls how vertical synchronization is applied at rendering time, automatically turning it off when frame rate is below monitor's refresh rate to reduce stuttering and turning it on when framerate is above or equal to monitor's refresh rate, improving smoothness
Quote:
- New: Dynamic Framerate Control (DFC) support. This feature acts like a frame rate limiter with smoothness control, just set a frame rate target and RadeonPro will try to keep it as close as possible while maintaining frame rendering times close to each other to avoid stuttering.
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=322031
DiogoDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 02:37 PM   #10
VulgarDisplay
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,339
Default

I've been wondering about this too. That review showed it outperforming Nvidia's Frame Metering in SLi. Which is actually good for both camps because this is a software solution so I'm sure someone will get something similar going in SLi.
VulgarDisplay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 02:52 PM   #11
exar333
Diamond Member
 
exar333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 6,312
Default

Not to start a flame war, but leave it to AMD to rely on a third-party to solve the issue. They should really build something like this into a real driver release. Even though there isn't an 'AMD' 7990, this would still be a big help for those with 7970 and 7950 CF setups. The results speak for themselves, and I wonder how many people have no idea this exists. I just heard about it when reading the same review the OP linked to.
__________________
My Cars:
-2011 DGM WRX Limited
My [Interim as I wait for Haswell-E] Rig:
4670K @ 4.0 Ghz w/ CM 212
GTX 670 @ 1250Core/6772mhz memory
3600x1920 (portrait) Display
exar333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 02:53 PM   #12
lavaheadache
Diamond Member
 
lavaheadache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 6,307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxleitnerb View Post
I don't know why, but it is the same thing. When I experience microstutter and I employ an fps limiter, the result is exactly the same. Even frametimes, no microstutter. I know it doesn't make sense, but I guess the framerate limiters have some distribution or timing function built in already.
Just to test out your theory, I will use Afterburner tonight and employ a frame limiter and post my objective results
__________________
Video Card Specialist

sell me your 5950 Ultra

Heat 137-0-0
lavaheadache is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 02:56 PM   #13
lavaheadache
Diamond Member
 
lavaheadache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 6,307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExarKun333 View Post
Not to start a flame war, but leave it to AMD to rely on a third-party to solve the issue. They should really build something like this into a real driver release. Even though there isn't an 'AMD' 7990, this would still be a big help for those with 7970 and 7950 CF setups. The results speak for themselves, and I wonder how many people have no idea this exists. I just heard about it when reading the same review the OP linked to.
AMD does kind of blow when it comes to support. I have a lot more faith in their actual hardware though. You know how many nVidia cards I have baked back to life?
__________________
Video Card Specialist

sell me your 5950 Ultra

Heat 137-0-0
lavaheadache is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 03:50 PM   #14
Bryf50
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 1,193
Default

Wow. This looks great. Can't wait to try it out.
__________________
Desktop: i7 4770k@4.6ghz, Asus Z87-Pro, XFX R9 290, 16GB DDR3 1600,
250gb Samsung 840 Evo & 2x1TB Samsung F3s Raid 0, NZXT Hale90 750w, Win 8
Laptop: Acer P645, i7 4500u, Radeon 8750m, 256gb SSD
HTPC: Pentium G3220, Asrock H81 mini-itx, 4GB DDR3 1600
Bryf50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 05:50 PM   #15
Final8ty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 945
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExarKun333 View Post
Not to start a flame war, but leave it to AMD to rely on a third-party to solve the issue. They should really build something like this into a real driver release. Even though there isn't an 'AMD' 7990, this would still be a big help for those with 7970 and 7950 CF setups. The results speak for themselves, and I wonder how many people have no idea this exists. I just heard about it when reading the same review the OP linked to.
Most AMD users do know it exists and Nvinspector is also third-party.
__________________
AMD Piledriver FX-8350, 4.8Ghz
NEC's 2560x1600 2x1600x1200 PLP 4960x1600
2x5970 Sapphire Toxic 4GB @ 945/1225 Quadfire
3xMSI HD 7950 OC BE @1065/1465 stock volts.
32GB Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Creative Sound Blaster ZxR, Corsair AX1200 PSU
Final8ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 06:39 PM   #16
Phynaz
Diamond Member
 
Phynaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6,066
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Final8ty View Post
Most AMD users do know it exists
Most? Not a chance.

Some enthusiasts, sure.
Phynaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 06:44 PM   #17
sontin
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,892
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lavaheadache View Post
It's not just a frame cap there buddy. It is also even frame distibution. Not the same thing.
It's exactly the same thing. What do you think is limiting the frames to a number under the full performance? Right a "even frame distibution" because the gpus are not the limiting factor.
sontin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 06:51 PM   #18
Final8ty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 945
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phynaz View Post
Most? Not a chance.

Some enthusiasts, sure.
The link to It has been on AMDs site for years and the reason the author has taken it up again is because AMD is sponsoring him..

There has not been a single enthusiasts forum i that i go to that does not have threads about it and im talking about enthusiasts as others don't know there ass from there elbows and they would not know how to use it anyway.
The same goes for Nvinspector, Afterburner, ext cc these enthusiasts tools.
__________________
AMD Piledriver FX-8350, 4.8Ghz
NEC's 2560x1600 2x1600x1200 PLP 4960x1600
2x5970 Sapphire Toxic 4GB @ 945/1225 Quadfire
3xMSI HD 7950 OC BE @1065/1465 stock volts.
32GB Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Creative Sound Blaster ZxR, Corsair AX1200 PSU

Last edited by Final8ty; 11-08-2012 at 07:16 PM.
Final8ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:00 PM   #19
SPBHM
Platinum Member
 
SPBHM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,086
Default

I only have a single card, but I also used a framerate limit to have smoother gameplay in some occasions, using dxtory, or years ago "FPS limiter 2.0"
SPBHM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:24 PM   #20
cmdrdredd
Lifer
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 18,000
Default

I'm sorry but limiting your framerate because you get microstutter is unacceptable. Now Nvidia doesn't have 100% elimination of micro stutter in SLI but it's a ton better than AMD without limiting your fps. This solution is not good enough IMO.
__________________
Asus Maximus V Gene | 3570k @ 4.5 | 8GB Samsung 30nm @ 2133 | EVGA GTX 670 FTW SLI @ 1230/6765
2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD | WD 300GB Velociraptor | Lite-On HBS212 BD-R | Corsair HX1000 PSU
Cooler Master HAF 932 | Yamakasi Catleap Q270 | Windows 8.1 Pro
cmdrdredd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:28 PM   #21
lavaheadache
Diamond Member
 
lavaheadache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 6,307
Default

I have no problem limiting my frame rate if it is above what my monitor can display. What is the purpose of 150 fps if you can't see them?
__________________
Video Card Specialist

sell me your 5950 Ultra

Heat 137-0-0
lavaheadache is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:34 PM   #22
omeds
Senior Member
 
omeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lavaheadache View Post
It's not just a frame cap there buddy. It is also even frame distibution. Not the same thing.

I have crossfire 7970's. When I get home, after I feed the animals, beat the wife and kid, I'm going to try this out and report back. I'm very sensitive to microstutter and always looking to minimize it's appearance.
It's a frame rate cap. This method has always cleaned up microstutter fairly well, either by using in game console commands, inspector (Nv), and now radeon pro for AMD.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GotNoRice View Post
So this appears to require limiting your FPS to some value below 60?

As an owner of a 120hz monitor, that would not be acceptable in any way. I try to keep my FPS pegged at 120 whenever possible. So far I've found adaptive Vsync to be very useful in this regard.
Use a 125fps cap for 120hz
omeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 11:10 PM   #23
exar333
Diamond Member
 
exar333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 6,312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phynaz View Post
Most? Not a chance.

Some enthusiasts, sure.
This.

It SHOULD be an option for the card in the official driver. The fact that you need a third party is ridiculous. Kudos to the author for making it, but shame on AMD for slacking on not making it available for everyone.
__________________
My Cars:
-2011 DGM WRX Limited
My [Interim as I wait for Haswell-E] Rig:
4670K @ 4.0 Ghz w/ CM 212
GTX 670 @ 1250Core/6772mhz memory
3600x1920 (portrait) Display
exar333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 11:51 PM   #24
boxleitnerb
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
I'm sorry but limiting your framerate because you get microstutter is unacceptable. Now Nvidia doesn't have 100% elimination of micro stutter in SLI but it's a ton better than AMD without limiting your fps. This solution is not good enough IMO.
In the beginning of my SLI days I would have disagreed, being overly enthusiastic about minimized microstutter. Now I agree. You would have to set the limit to your lowest fps, otherwise it won't work all the time. That simply destroys scaling.

But there is one exception:
If you're playing with vsync anyway and still get stutter, you could limit to 60fps which can also help.
boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 11:53 PM   #25
lavaheadache
Diamond Member
 
lavaheadache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 6,307
Default

a hah hah hah hah haaaaaa yes!!!! Just ran crysis 2 maxed out @2560 with crossfire 7970's with zero detectable microstutter (to me anyways). Just used a simple frame cap in Afterburner and voila!!!!! Finally after all these years of me bashing multi gpu I will actually start recommeding it. I am a believer. I'm actually going to go back and fire up some of my old rigs to see if this will work for them too.
__________________
Video Card Specialist

sell me your 5950 Ultra

Heat 137-0-0
lavaheadache is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.