Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Merchandise and Shopping > Hot Deals

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2012, 03:02 AM   #1
mechBgon
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
mechBgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,698
Smile New deal! Refurb 24" IPS touchscreen, 1920 x 1200, $153 + s/h

New and equally tantalizing deal, courtesy of bassoprofundo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassoprofundo View Post
The GEEKBERT code gets 10% off, which would bring the price down to about $167 shipped for me. Again, it has no base, so see KingFatty's suggested VESA stand from Monolink below.




Old deal, now sold out:
http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?inv...BASE-R&cat=MON
Note that it doesn’t come with a base. If you want a wall mount, Geeks.com has a cheap basic one for $8: http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=WLB243&cat=MON

Use the code GEEKBERT for 10% off, which covered shipping for me. $201 delivered.

These are really expensive monitors new. Google Shopping shows them around $1400-$1700. It appears to be a customized Samsung Syncmaster. I picked one up to use at work, not primarily because it's a touchscreen but just because it's a pretty good buy for 1920 x 1200.

The screen surface is an intermediate gloss finish, so it does show reflections. It's got more types of inputs and outputs than you can shake a stick at, and has PIP if you find that useful. Elo has drivers readily available, and you can calibrate the touchscreen alignment (the first system I tried it on was flipped left-to-right). Windows 7/8 regard the touchscreen as a second mouse.

There is an MPA button on the bezel. MPA stands for “make my monitor flicker like mad,” apparently. So turn MPA off.

Anyway, I liked it enough to order a second one, along with a couple of styluses from this outfit: http://www.barcodegiant.com/search.h...rch=D82064-000 I’ll still be mainly a mouse user, but the touchscreen will occasionally come in handy (haha) and I don’t want to touch it with my fingers since I’m a mechanic with perpetually-greasy hands.

Last edited by mechBgon; 11-08-2012 at 11:13 AM.
mechBgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 07:32 AM   #2
Tdavis5432
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 241
Default

Looks like it may be a crap shoot on these, as they may be this cheap from having bad pixels and imperfections.


Disclosure:
LCD displays may have cosmetic imperfections that appear as small bright or dark spots. This is common to all LCD displays used in products by all vendors and is not specific to any vendor or brand. Below are the acceptable amounts of "dot defects" for LCD displays that we sell:
20-Inch to 25-Inch:
Total Defects: 8
Bright or Dark Dots (random): 4
Bright or Dark Dots (2 adjacent): 2
Bright or Dark Dots (3 adjacent): 0
Minimum distance between defects: 15 mm (bright to bright dots)
Minimum distance between defects: 5 mm (dark to dark dots)
__________________
Heatware
Tdavis5432 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:21 AM   #3
KingFatty
Platinum Member
 
KingFatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,355
Default

Is this a capacitive touch screen? If so, how similar to a modern iPhone/Android is the "feel" of the touch interaction for this monitor?

Do you have any feedback for using this monitor with Windows 8? Would you consider installing the demo version of Windows 8 to see how it works on this monitor with the touch gestures etc.?

It's a good price for a 1200p display, and I'm intrigued by the idea of running Windows 8 on it with the touch interface for my center display, flanked by two non-touch 1200p displays for triple screen eyefinity.
KingFatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:42 AM   #4
mechBgon
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
mechBgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,698
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingFatty View Post
Is this a capacitive touch screen? If so, how similar to a modern iPhone/Android is the "feel" of the touch interaction for this monitor?

Do you have any feedback for using this monitor with Windows 8? Would you consider installing the demo version of Windows 8 to see how it works on this monitor with the touch gestures etc.?

It's a good price for a 1200p display, and I'm intrigued by the idea of running Windows 8 on it with the touch interface for my center display, flanked by two non-touch 1200p displays for triple screen eyefinity.
I do have a Win8 evaluation system, and that was the first one I hooked it up to, but I was testing it as a basic mouse substitute (and just making sure it worked). I don't like the stock Win8 UI, so that system has Stardock Start8 installed to take the place of the Win8 "swipe-in from edges" stuff as much as possible.

I can't remark on how it compares to the iPhone since I've never tried one. I may be visiting work today, and I'll see if it allows multitouch photo zooming... that would be handy.

In my own case, the possible pixel defects aren't too big a deal. It's a work tool. I currently have it in portrait mode so I don't have to scroll up and down the page as much when setting up an Ebay auction.
mechBgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:58 AM   #5
jackstar7
Diamond Member
 
jackstar7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,939
Default

From the PDF
"VESA mounting option"
"100 x 200 mm VESA mount"

Just to be sure you find the right replacement stand or mount.
__________________
ASUS P8Z77-WS + 3770K@4.1@1.07v + 4x4GB 1833 + Sapphire 7990 + 2x512gbM4 + X-Fi Forte
in an FT02 with an X-1250w + X270OC+XL2720T + Realforce 87U-Silent
jackstar7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 01:09 PM   #6
mechBgon
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
mechBgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,698
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackstar7 View Post
From the PDF
"VESA mounting option"
"100 x 200 mm VESA mount"

Just to be sure you find the right replacement stand or mount.
It also has the common 100 x 100 VESA mounting. For the moment, I've installed it onto the base from one of my other monitors that is VESA 100.
mechBgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 04:58 PM   #7
yhelothar
Lifer
 
yhelothar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 17,861
Default

According to this link on ebay, these are Samsung PVA screens.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Samsung-ELO-...item564d6577b8

Also from looking at similar models on their site, it says these are using "intellitouch" technology. It doesn't say if it's capacitive or resistive, but maybe one of you guys can deduce what it is based on the description on the site?
http://www.elotouch.com/Technologies...ch/default.asp
__________________
My Heatware
yhelothar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 08:59 PM   #8
Throckmorton
Lifer
 
Throckmorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16,583
Default

So we don't know if you can use a stylus?
__________________
K&N air filter = 45x as much dirt in your engine (working link)
http://i52.tinypic.com/50lf0y.gif
"It has already been proven that the concept of a "living wage" is a liberal fantasy." - Patranus
Throckmorton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:37 PM   #9
SparkyJJO
Lifer
 
SparkyJJO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 12,172
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Throckmorton View Post
So we don't know if you can use a stylus?
Any touch screen can. On a resistive you can use almost any blunt instrument as a stylus. Capacitive needs a particular type of stylus but they work too.
__________________
Heatware

CO2 is evil. Stop breathing

"I have never understood why it is greed to want to keep the money that you've earned, but not greed to want to take somebody else's money." - Thomas Sowell
SparkyJJO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:01 PM   #10
Throckmorton
Lifer
 
Throckmorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16,583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SparkyJJO View Post
Any touch screen can. On a resistive you can use almost any blunt instrument as a stylus. Capacitive needs a particular type of stylus but they work too.
I mean the resistive type, where you can use an actual sharp point stylus rather than something that approximates a fingertip
__________________
K&N air filter = 45x as much dirt in your engine (working link)
http://i52.tinypic.com/50lf0y.gif
"It has already been proven that the concept of a "living wage" is a liberal fantasy." - Patranus
Throckmorton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:39 PM   #11
SparkyJJO
Lifer
 
SparkyJJO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 12,172
Default

Yeah, just don't make it too sharp of a point
__________________
Heatware

CO2 is evil. Stop breathing

"I have never understood why it is greed to want to keep the money that you've earned, but not greed to want to take somebody else's money." - Thomas Sowell
SparkyJJO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 11:31 PM   #12
mechBgon
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
mechBgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,698
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Throckmorton View Post
So we don't know if you can use a stylus?
This is Elo's recommended stylus for it, part number D82064-000.

http://www.barcodegiant.com/search.h...rch=D82064-000
mechBgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 03:55 PM   #13
bbhaag
Golden Member
 
bbhaag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,167
Default

Any body get theirs yet? Without the stand I just can't pull the trigger on it. Besides the wall mount option is there a stand available for it anywhere?
__________________
The more it hurts the better it feels.
bbhaag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 12:01 AM   #14
mechBgon
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
mechBgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,698
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbhaag View Post
Any body get theirs yet? Without the stand I just can't pull the trigger on it. Besides the wall mount option is there a stand available for it anywhere?
In my case, I just stuck it on a pivotable stand from another monitor that also has the VESA 100 x 100 square pattern, then pivoted it to Portrait mode since that's most useful to me at the moment.
mechBgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 10:12 AM   #15
UThomas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 250
Default

got mine in. Seems good - older generation ELO monitor. Looking for a VESA stand now - seem to be easy to grab one for ~$50. The monitor runs surprisingly HOT btw.
UThomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 10:55 AM   #16
KingFatty
Platinum Member
 
KingFatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,355
Default

FYI I'm quite pleased with this $20 monitor stand:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

It's very sturdy and strong, just feels well-made?


KingFatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 01:29 PM   #17
bbhaag
Golden Member
 
bbhaag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,167
Default

I think I am going to try this one from mono price. It looks more in line with what I had in mind and the price isn't to bad. http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2


__________________
The more it hurts the better it feels.
bbhaag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 10:52 PM   #18
mechBgon
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
mechBgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,698
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UThomas View Post
got mine in. Seems good - older generation ELO monitor. Looking for a VESA stand now - seem to be easy to grab one for ~$50. The monitor runs surprisingly HOT btw.
Yeah, get your marshmallow
mechBgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:39 PM   #19
bbhaag
Golden Member
 
bbhaag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,167
Default

I think I'm in love with this monitor especially after I paired it with Win8.
Thanks mechBgon for posting a link to it and thanks KingFatty for that monoprice link that led me to find a stand that I liked.

This hot deal introduced me to a whole new way of interacting with my PC.
bbhaag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:34 AM   #20
jalaram
Lifer
 
jalaram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Posts: 12,893
Default

Sold out.
__________________
Take care,
JC

"My friends call me Keith, but you can call me John."-Keith Moon
Heatware: 2xx-0-0
jalaram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:25 AM   #21
bassoprofundo
Golden Member
 
bassoprofundo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: STL Area
Posts: 1,709
Default

Similar one here... http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?inv...-2411-NOBASE-R

Anyone know how this compares other than that relative lack of inputs?
bassoprofundo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:33 AM   #22
SunnyD
Belgian Waffler
 
SunnyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Waffle House
Posts: 30,410
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassoprofundo View Post
Similar one here... http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?inv...-2411-NOBASE-R

Anyone know how this compares other than that relative lack of inputs?
That's an IPS panel that does 85hz refresh @ 1920x1200 with a capacitive touchscreen and VESA mount...

About the only "sucky" thing is that the USB cable is fixed, so you can't swap it out with one of a different length/color of your choice without some "modification".
__________________
It's a long story... and trust me, no, you really don't have time.
PoolMineWith.Us - AT's unofficial mining pool
Need VPN? Cheap hosting? I can do that.
so payments. dogecoins. wow. DU2Qq9ioEP6unPSJJnR4oY4bBG2hATiQMS

Last edited by SunnyD; 11-08-2012 at 10:38 AM.
SunnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 11:16 AM   #23
mechBgon
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
mechBgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,698
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassoprofundo View Post
Similar one here... http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?inv...-2411-NOBASE-R

Anyone know how this compares other than that relative lack of inputs?
Whoa! Smokin' deal, I've updated the original post & title for that one.
mechBgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 12:12 PM   #24
bassoprofundo
Golden Member
 
bassoprofundo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: STL Area
Posts: 1,709
Default

I went ahead and bit on two of these... had some $$$ burning a hole in the pocket that is my Paypal acct. Hoping I can scavenge some stands from burnt-out panels around the office...
bassoprofundo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 01:37 PM   #25
gorcorps
aka Brandon
 
gorcorps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South Bend
Posts: 24,762
Default

I have no idea what I'd do with it but I kind of want one anyway
__________________
-So sayeth Brandon, knower of things
360: GORcorps|||PS3: gorcorps|||Steam: gorcorps
HEATWARE
gorcorps is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.