Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Home Theater PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-26-2012, 05:56 PM   #1
cybrsage
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13,021
Default Win 8 Media Center install problems info

Just so everyone knows, Microsoft is currently experiencing issues where many people cannot install the Media Center add on for Windows 8. The install fails and the system rolls back. There is no ETTR.
cybrsage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 07:30 PM   #2
wirednuts
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,121
Default

what is it anyway? anything like win7mc? i havent even read about it...
wirednuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 11:39 PM   #3
cybrsage
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13,021
Default

It is the exact same one as in Win7. It is a paid add on unless you get it quickly. MS has a site where they are giving it away for free until January. Also, you must have Win8 Pro to install WMC at all.

An update. I used the live chat again today - the first tech I spoke to actually lied to me. If it does not install then something is broken on the PC - it is not a known issue. The tech spent 4 hours trying to fix it (remotely controlling my PC) and failed, so he is having a tier 2 tech call me and work on it on Monday...that is if PA is still around after the hurricane hits.
cybrsage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 11:45 AM   #4
wirednuts
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,121
Default

pay for the same thing we already have? :/
wirednuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 11:47 AM   #5
notposting
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SE MI
Posts: 2,872
Default

Exact same although I remember reading earlier that the option to start it automatically at boot (and something else I thought) were removed. Ugh. Sticking with my working 7MC setup for now.
notposting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 01:41 PM   #6
piasabird
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 15,269
Default

So did you get win 8 Pro?
__________________
Asus Memo Pad 7 HD. Quad Core Tablet.
piasabird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 04:44 PM   #7
EZorb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Default Win 8 Media Center install problems info

att Uverse using Cisco STB ipn330hd & Hauppauge HVR-1600 tuners

My issue with WMC8 is the following:
MS data base in WMC8 Set Up does not list either Motorola or Cisco STB that Uverse uses. (How old is this)
Then you must use the Manual IR Learn method. WMC8 will not accept any of the remotes code numbers. (It appears that they want IPTV locked out for some reason) WMC8 in earlier setup steps testing signal will produce sound and picture.

MS elevated this issue to higher level support who called at 4:00 pm and worked on my system remotely until after 10:00 pm. Finally quitting to do more research and will call back today at 4:00 pm. Will post the results,

So what was the results of the original post where MS working on issue?
EZorb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 10:31 AM   #8
thestrangebrew1
Golden Member
 
thestrangebrew1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,547
Default

I got my WMC8 keys like 2 weeks ago and installed them just fine. I don't use wmc very often, just made sure I got them free with both my w8 installs. It plays my movies just fine though.
__________________
Rig: i7 2700k, asrock extreme 4 gen3, 60 gb OCZ Vertex ssd, 128 gb Plextor M3 ssd, samsung spinpoint 1tb hd, 16gb gskill sniper series, EVGA GTX 670 FTW, antec hcg 750w psu

Server: Intel g630, Biostar H61, 4gb gskill ram, antec 400w eco psu
thestrangebrew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.