Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2012, 03:20 PM   #1
Denis54
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 167
Default Should I use my Vertex 2 or get a new SSD

I want to upgrade my computer from my old C2D. I am retired and I use my computer 2 - 4 hours a day to surf the web, read emails and do some simple Word and Excel work. My needs are pretty basic but I want a FAST machine.

Should I move my 2 years old Vertex 2 to my new machine or should I get a new SSD such as a Samsung 830?

Will I see a difference in speed with a newer SSD?
Denis54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 04:03 PM   #2
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,936
Default

A new SSD will be faster, but you won't notice a night and day difference.

I would replace the Vertex 2 more because they had a ridiculously high failure rate.
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05. NAS: Foxconn D-70S-P (Celeron 1037U) / 4GB DDR3 / Mess 'o Toshiba Drives, / APEX MI-008.
dave_the_nerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:49 AM   #3
zCypher
Diamond Member
 
zCypher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,510
Default

It's a smaller difference than HDD to SSD, but you will see a difference. When I moved from Vertex2 to Vertex3, it was noticeably quicker. When I moved from Vertex3 to another SATA3 SSD, it was a negligible difference.

I'd go for it.
__________________
1100T, Biostar TA870U3+, 16GB DDR3, 240GB Mushkin Chronos Deluxe, 2x1TB Black, 2x3TB Green, 3GB XFX 7970, Antec 650W, CM690, Dell U2713HM & Samsung 2343BWX
zCypher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 11:38 AM   #4
Elixer
Diamond Member
 
Elixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,299
Default

While there should be no more firmware issues with the Vertex 2, I would use it as a scratch drive, like for installing some games on.
Then get a new SSD for the OS.
__________________
The truth is incontrovertible, malice may attack it, ignorance may deride it, but in the end; there it is.

The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter.
Elixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.