Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2012, 04:55 AM   #1
AZRoCker42
Member
 
AZRoCker42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 36
Default AHH The Good Old Days Of Barton :)

Funny I was going through all my Old parts Today and found My Old 8RDA3+ Pro board and a 2400+ Mobile Barton put it together just to mess around testing parts anyway can`t remember the volts I should go for on this for OC I got it at 1.575 and it is unstable at 200x10 Does not seem right but it has been years

Last edited by AZRoCker42; 11-09-2012 at 02:52 AM.
AZRoCker42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 05:07 AM   #2
BD231
Diamond Member
 
BD231's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 9,453
Default

Barton was a dream compared to ThunderBird.
__________________
2550k - Asus z68 Gene-Z ROG - GTX460 - 8gb DDR3 @ 2133
BD231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 06:50 AM   #3
Makaveli
Diamond Member
 
Makaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,092
Default

ya thunderbird was an egg cooker without proper cooling when overclocked.

Not to mention the exposed core because of no IHS.
__________________
Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz 1.29v | TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 1600 rpm x2 | Asus P6-T Deluxe V2 | 12GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20 1T | 7970 Ghz Twin Frozr 3GB | EVGA 650 SC Physx | Logitech G15+G500 | Intel 320GB G2 Raid 0 | WD 1TB Black Storage | ESATA 2TB Green | CM 690 II Advanced | Razor Vespula | D-link DGL-4500 | HP ZR24w | Logitech Z560 | X-FI Titanium | Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Makaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:05 AM   #4
Soulkeeper
Diamond Member
 
Soulkeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,898
Default

barton has to be my favorite chip that AMD ever released.
512KB of low latency cache mmmm
If you owned a P4 at the time you were a noob
__________________
A8-3870 @3.3GHz 1.3125v
16GB 1866 9-9-9-23 1t 1.35v
Linux software/gaming exclusively
linuxsociety.org
Soulkeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:13 AM   #5
dpodblood
Diamond Member
 
dpodblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 3,963
Default

2500+ was boss. Especially the mobile variant that could fit into a desktop socket. Overclocked like a champ, and blew everything Intel had out of the water in both price and performance.
dpodblood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:14 AM   #6
Makaveli
Diamond Member
 
Makaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,092
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulkeeper View Post
If you owned a P4 at the time you were a noob
Or misled by a best buy employee!

__________________
Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz 1.29v | TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 1600 rpm x2 | Asus P6-T Deluxe V2 | 12GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20 1T | 7970 Ghz Twin Frozr 3GB | EVGA 650 SC Physx | Logitech G15+G500 | Intel 320GB G2 Raid 0 | WD 1TB Black Storage | ESATA 2TB Green | CM 690 II Advanced | Razor Vespula | D-link DGL-4500 | HP ZR24w | Logitech Z560 | X-FI Titanium | Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Makaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:15 AM   #7
WhoBeDaPlaya
Diamond Member
 
WhoBeDaPlaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 5,505
Default

Aaah EPoX, how I miss thee
(and ABIT, DFI, AOpen)
__________________
BlueSmoke.net
Silverstone Temjin TJ09S - 4770K @ 4.55GHz - MSI Z87-GD65 - 32GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 1866 CL9 - 2x MSI Twin Frozr 780 - X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - BFG EX-1000 - Antec Kuhler 920 - 6x Noctua NF-P12 - Samsung 840 500GB - Samsung F3 1TB - OptiArc 7261S - Logitech G19 - 2x Klipsch Promedia 2.1
WhoBeDaPlaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:37 AM   #8
kernelc
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulkeeper View Post
barton has to be my favorite chip that AMD ever released.
512KB of low latency cache mmmm
If you owned a P4 at the time you were a noob
Mmm... while the Barton core was a very well executed product (I owned two Barton: a 2500+ @ 2100 MHz and a 2800+ @ 2500 MHz), the best P4 were faster than AMD chip.

See here for detail: http://www.anandtech.com/show/1117

Anyway, the price/performance ratio of Barton Athlon XP 2500+ was exceptional...

Regards.
kernelc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:01 AM   #9
skillyho
Golden Member
 
skillyho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,315
Default

I missed the Barton boat...my first self-built rig was a s754 Sempron 2800+ (1.6GHz) that clocked to 2.2 on a budget ECS board. That plus my ATI x800.....I never knew Unreal Tournament 2004 could look so lovely.

I miss those days.
skillyho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:08 AM   #10
SlowSpyder
Diamond Member
 
SlowSpyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 7,948
Default

Run cinebench on it.
__________________
Steve
FX 9370 @ 5017MHz (223 x 22.5)/ MSI 990FXA-GD80 / 8GB x 2 ADATA XPG 2400 @ 1784MHz / Radeon 7970 @ 1100/1425MHz / 2 x 160GB Intel 320 SSD's RAID0
SlowSpyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:10 AM   #11
Zor Prime
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 171
Default

My last PC was a mobile Barton 2500+ box that I used for years, and years ...

Still have it.

Just last year I finally upgraded to an Athlon II 3.1GHz system.
__________________
Montani Semper Liberi
Zor Prime is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:40 AM   #12
Makaveli
Diamond Member
 
Makaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,092
Default

I had a mobile 2500+ on a abit N7s motherboard great system for its time.

Had a few processors on that socket a 2700+ prior to that. Been so long.... Think I had a duron 900 on a previous board before I picked up the abit one.
__________________
Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz 1.29v | TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 1600 rpm x2 | Asus P6-T Deluxe V2 | 12GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20 1T | 7970 Ghz Twin Frozr 3GB | EVGA 650 SC Physx | Logitech G15+G500 | Intel 320GB G2 Raid 0 | WD 1TB Black Storage | ESATA 2TB Green | CM 690 II Advanced | Razor Vespula | D-link DGL-4500 | HP ZR24w | Logitech Z560 | X-FI Titanium | Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750

Last edited by Makaveli; 11-08-2012 at 09:51 AM.
Makaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:39 AM   #13
Arkaign
Lifer
 
Arkaign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulkeeper View Post
barton has to be my favorite chip that AMD ever released.
512KB of low latency cache mmmm
If you owned a P4 at the time you were a noob
Hahah I agree that probably most people (non-tech types) that had a P4 setup were noobs

If you had a P4 northwood and stock vs stock, or even overclocked vs. overclocked though, it was as fast or faster than AXPs, even Barton. This was especially true in gaming benches.

And god forbid you have an AXP and be stuck with a crappy VIA chipset. Ugh. At least OP up there along with the smart folks, had the Nforce2 FTW!
__________________
Death is the answer.

Last edited by Arkaign; 11-08-2012 at 10:43 AM.
Arkaign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:40 AM   #14
Arkaign
Lifer
 
Arkaign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli View Post
I had a mobile 2500+ on a abit N7s motherboard great system for its time.

Had a few processors on that socket a 2700+ prior to that. Been so long.... Think I had a duron 900 on a previous board before I picked up the abit one.
Abit had my favorite Nforce2 boards! I loooved mine, ran a 2500+ and even a mobile 1700+ at or beyond 3200+ stock speeds.
__________________
Death is the answer.
Arkaign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:48 AM   #15
guskline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 2,633
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AZRoCker42 View Post
Funny I was going through all my Old parts Today and found My Old 8RDA3+ Pro board and a 2400+ Mobile Barton put it together just to mess around testing parts anyway can`t remember the volts I should go for on this for OC I got it at 1.575 and it is unstable at 200x10 Does not seem right but it has been years
As I recall, (had a 2500+, 2400 mobile etc) the mobile chips could have the fsb clocked to 166 from 133 or 100. I think this was done to allow more flexibility due to cooling issues. Supposedly the mobile chips were built to higher standards. I would back the fsb to 166 and hike the multiplier. Moreover be sure your ram is in sync. I know the 2500 would run at 200fsb with pc3200 BUT pc2700 was a no-no. For the 2400+ Mobile try the 166 fsb and a 12 multiplier.
__________________
3930k @ 4.5 - SaberTh X79 - 780Classy EVGA Hydro Copper block
16G DDR3-1600 - Intel 530 SSD - 2560x1440 Achieva Shimian
Win 8.1 - PC P&C 950W - CM HAF 932 Adv - Custom WC
guskline is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 11:11 AM   #16
WT
Diamond Member
 
WT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: York, PA
Posts: 4,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AZRoCker42 View Post
Funny I was going through all my Old parts Today and found My Old 8RDA3+ Pro board and a 2400+ Mobile Barton put it together just to mess around
I still have mine as well !! Its sitting on top of a speaker on the workbench. I want to toss it at least once a month, but I keep waiting for some poor sap to come along begging for a freebie such as that, and I could pass it along to them instead.
It even sports a fresh NB heatsink to replace the failed original one ... they always failed on that board.
__________________
For long you live and high you fly.. And smiles you'll give and tears you'll cry.. And all you touch and all you see.. Is all your life will ever be.

Heat - One man's FS is another man's WTB
WT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 11:23 AM   #17
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,116
Default

Only noobs are misled by best buy employees.
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 11:39 AM   #18
Makaveli
Diamond Member
 
Makaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,092
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaksheytalwar View Post
Only noobs are misled by best buy employees.
Agreed.

And sadly 95% of their customers are because they don't know any better.

or care to know any better.
__________________
Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz 1.29v | TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 1600 rpm x2 | Asus P6-T Deluxe V2 | 12GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20 1T | 7970 Ghz Twin Frozr 3GB | EVGA 650 SC Physx | Logitech G15+G500 | Intel 320GB G2 Raid 0 | WD 1TB Black Storage | ESATA 2TB Green | CM 690 II Advanced | Razor Vespula | D-link DGL-4500 | HP ZR24w | Logitech Z560 | X-FI Titanium | Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Makaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 01:23 PM   #19
MentalIlness
Platinum Member
 
MentalIlness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: With my dog Dawg
Posts: 2,149
Default

I have the ASUS A7V8X and a GIGABYTE 7VAXP boards here, along with a AMD 2500+. And a 9800 Pro. I bet it will chew right through Grim Fandango.
__________________
~ Gina ~
FX-8120 @ 4.4Ghz ~ H80 ~ Sabertooth 990FX ~ EVGA GTX 760 SC ACX ~ 8GB 1666 ~ Acer 24" 19x10

~ Skylar ~
C2D E7200 ~ CM Hyper 212 ~ GB UD3P ~ Bart's XT ~ 4GB 800 ~ LG 20" 16x9
MentalIlness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 01:43 PM   #20
Rvenger
VC&G Moderator
 
Rvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 4,870
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MentalIlness View Post
I have the ASUS A7V8X and a GIGABYTE 7VAXP boards here, along with a AMD 2500+. And a 9800 Pro. I bet it will chew right through Grim Fandango.

My Pentium MMX 166mhz Toshiba Satellite Pro ran Grim Fandango just fine
__________________
i7-4770k @ 4ghz - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H - 16gb GSkill 2133mhz - Powercolor R9 290x - 128gb Sandisk Ultra Plus - 256gb Adata SP900 - 2tb WD Green - NZXT 850w Modular PSU - CM Storm Stryker
Rvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:07 PM   #21
Soulkeeper
Diamond Member
 
Soulkeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kernelc View Post
Mmm... while the Barton core was a very well executed product (I owned two Barton: a 2500+ @ 2100 MHz and a 2800+ @ 2500 MHz), the best P4 were faster than AMD chip.

See here for detail: http://www.anandtech.com/show/1117

Anyway, the price/performance ratio of Barton Athlon XP 2500+ was exceptional...

Regards.
I guess it just felt faster with peltiers and water cooling
I remember the goal being "get the real 2500 then it'd smoke intel's $1000 cpu's"
Intel really didn't close the gap in my mind untill the northwood-b

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkaign View Post
Hahah I agree that probably most people (non-tech types) that had a P4 setup were noobs

If you had a P4 northwood and stock vs stock, or even overclocked vs. overclocked though, it was as fast or faster than AXPs, even Barton. This was especially true in gaming benches.

And god forbid you have an AXP and be stuck with a crappy VIA chipset. Ugh. At least OP up there along with the smart folks, had the Nforce2 FTW!
I owned both nforce and via chipsets at the time.
To be honest I actually liked via chipsets (kt133/kt133a) although they became weaker in later versions. asus a7v was a great board.
I remember the guy who sold it to me actually apologized a few weeks later, but I had modded it and was overclocking bartons near 2.6GHz so I just smiled.
I think via chipsets got a bad rap for a few key reasons:
win modems
creative sound cards issues (irq conflicts)
and cheap/flaky motherboards/bios like FIC
__________________
A8-3870 @3.3GHz 1.3125v
16GB 1866 9-9-9-23 1t 1.35v
Linux software/gaming exclusively
linuxsociety.org

Last edited by Soulkeeper; 11-08-2012 at 10:15 PM.
Soulkeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 11:26 PM   #22
AZRoCker42
Member
 
AZRoCker42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 36
Default

I finally swhitchet to a P4 northwood 3.4 in 2009 before that I had been with AMD since the first Thunderbird sloted came out You could not beat them at the time. WOnder when they will catch up with Intel they seemed to always be neck and neck
AZRoCker42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 12:02 AM   #23
OVerLoRDI
Diamond Member
 
OVerLoRDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 5,081
Default

Ah Barton. The first computer I built was an Athlon XP 2500+. Fond memories.
__________________
TROOPER: Caselabs M8, i5 3570k, 16gb DDR3, 2x7970, X-1050
TARDIS: 750D, i5 2550k, 8gb DDR3, 7970, AX850, 8TB storage
CUBE: INWIN BQS656, Celeron something?, 4gb RAM, 32gb SSD
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=73710
OVerLoRDI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 01:22 AM   #24
SPBHM
Platinum Member
 
SPBHM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,083
Default

I never had any Barton, all my K7 were Thoroughbred B, apart from one 1GHz Duron (Morgan I think, the Palomino based model with 64k l2 cache)

but Tbred B was also great for OC.
SPBHM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 02:00 AM   #25
Arkaign
Lifer
 
Arkaign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPBHM View Post
I never had any Barton, all my K7 were Thoroughbred B, apart from one 1GHz Duron (Morgan I think, the Palomino based model with 64k l2 cache)

but Tbred B was also great for OC.
Haha yeah Tbred B was good. Tbred A was terribad though. I seem to remember it having trouble even overclocking 100mhz
__________________
Death is the answer.
Arkaign is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.