Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2012, 09:00 AM   #1
vcarpio2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 243
Default Help cloning "partitioned C: drive" to SSD

Hi.

My "C:" drive is actually a 60GB partition in a 500GB drive. The drive has two other partitions: my "E:" drive where I install all my software and a "System Reserved". I'm running Win7 ultimate 64-bit.

I just bought a 120GB SSD. I would like to transfer my "C:" drive to the SSD so I can boot Win7 from the SSD without reinstalling everything (and also gain additional 60GB freespace).

How do I do it?

I understand I would need to copy the "C:" partition and the "System Reserve" partition. I also think I cannot just do a disk copy because the HD is 500GB while my SSD is only 120GB. Or can I?

I have EASUS Partition Master Pro 6.1.1. Not sure if this is an issue but the "Disk Operations" options are grayed out including a "Disk Copy" under it. I only have "Partition Operations" options available with a "Partition Copy" under it.

Thanks for any leads!

EDIT: I didn't do a thorough site search before posting -- I just now found all other SSD discussions under "Memory and Storage" and am looking through it -- sorry. Still, any leads appreciated. I had actually tried migrating for the past two nights without success. But I'm confident I'm just not finding the right info online. Thanks.
__________________
Fun. What else is there?

Last edited by vcarpio2; 11-08-2012 at 10:09 AM.
vcarpio2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:39 AM   #2
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,560
Default

Using Acronis True Image might help you in doing this.

The principle is to use the Boot DVD, creat an image of the partitions that you want to use on the new drive to an external drive, then install the Image onto the New SSD Drive.


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.

Last edited by JackMDS; 11-08-2012 at 10:43 AM.
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 07:50 AM   #3
nk215
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 179
Default

Paragon has a free product called HHD to SSD. Give it a try. It works great for me
nk215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 09:06 AM   #4
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 24,292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMDS View Post
Using Acronis True Image might help you in doing this.
The principle is to use the Boot DVD, creat an image of the partitions that you want to use on the new drive to an external drive, then install the Image onto the New SSD Drive.
This! I recently cloned my laptop HDD to a SSD. It had FOUR partitions - all cloned perfectly. The advantage of TI is it can do proportional cloning and get correct alignment between different size drives. Have seen recent reports of EASEUS failing to do this.

An important point Jack makes is that it is best done with bootable media - not from within Windows.
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

“Excuses are the nails used to build a house of failure” - Don Wilder
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 11:53 AM   #5
vcarpio2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 243
Default

Thank you, Jack. Thank you, too, nk215, corkyg. I'm still halfway through following Jack's advise (reinforced by corkyg) so still holding breath.

I actually found the same advise earlier online but buried under so many others didn't see it as the underlying principle. It makes sense. I am still using my EASEUS Partition Master Pro since Acronis TI would set me back $50. I created the Boot CD from EASEUS, booted into it, then imaged my "C:" partition and the "System Reserved" (don't know if I need this but just in case) onto a USB HDD outside Windows. It took all of last night imaging the 60GB so tonight I'll try restoring it to my new SSD.

I will try HHD-to-SSD if unsuccessful.

Thanks again. I will update this with my results.
__________________
Fun. What else is there?
vcarpio2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 11:16 PM   #6
vcarpio2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 243
Default

I got it working. The steps were as Jack described:

1) Create boot disk from EASEUS Partition Master Pro.
2) Shutdown then connect SSD.
3) Boot with boot disk created in #1.
4) Copy partitions "System Reserved" and "c:" from HD onto SSD (using boot disk "copy partition")
5) Shutdown - disconnect HD - reconnect SSD using the HD's SATA cable.
6) Boot Windows installation DVD then click "repair". Let Windows do whatever repairs it thinks are needed. This step makes the SSD bootable I think.
7) Reboot -- new SSD now boots up Windows.

I then reconnected my old HD to another available SATA connection.

Those were what made it work. One time, however, I got a blue screen after the "Starting windows" tried to switch to my desktop I think. I did the steps all over again.

I also committed some simple mistakes like not setting the SSD as the 1st boot device in BIOS which I spent a lot of time troubleshooting. I've been switching a lot between the SSD, CD, and HD as first boot device hence my confusion.

So I guess the lesson is, there are many manual steps of transferring OS to SSD (unless maybe you buy Acronis TI) so there is plenty of opportunity for error.

Thanks to the suggestions.
__________________
Fun. What else is there?
vcarpio2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.