Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2012, 11:33 AM   #1
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,081
Default Got my GTX 670 with a little positive surprise and now a REALLY negative

I had been wanting to upgrade my videocard from a ASUS 6850 for some time, and I would like to go nVidia, but the price/performance wasn't as good as AMD. Luckily I found a guy who had just gotten a GTX 690 from his friend, so he had the ASUS GTX 670 DirectCU II for sale, and we agreed on a price that was similar to the ASUS DirectCU II 7950.

I got the card today, still has 18Months warranty original box etc. So now I of course want to overclock the card. I then discover that the default clocks are much higher than expected. So as I examine the case, it turns out it's the ASUS GTX 670 DirectCU II TOP. That's is pretty nice.

Now for some over clocking.

1100/6500Mhz Seems to be where I score highest in Heaven.
__________________
i5-750 @ 3.8Ghz | 4x2Gb | Gigabyte P55m-UD4 | Samsung EVO 500GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920

Last edited by biostud; 11-12-2012 at 12:35 PM.
biostud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 12:54 PM   #2
FalseChristian
Diamond Member
 
FalseChristian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Oshawa, ON, CA
Posts: 3,305
Default

Congrats! The GTX 670 is the card I want, too. You're overclock is pretty good but it won't reach HD 7970 levels.
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.5GHz (45x100) 1.350v-Asus P8Z68-V/Gen3 (BIOS 3402)-16GB Kingston VR DDR3-1333Mhz @ 1600MHz 1.65v-2 EVGA GTX 760 2GB (1212/7600) ACX-750w Cooler Master GXII-RealTek on-board sound-Intel Onboard 1Gb Ethernet-Rogers Cable Internet 6.6MB/second-2TB Seagate 7200 SATA 6 HD-3TB SeaGate USB 3.0 EHD-22" Samsung SyncMaster 2253BW 1680x1050 67Htz-Windows 7 HP 64-bit SP1
FalseChristian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 01:23 PM   #3
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,081
Default

Bu I would also have to pay more for the 7970, and I would like a nvidia card so I can use PhysX playing borderlnds 2.
__________________
i5-750 @ 3.8Ghz | 4x2Gb | Gigabyte P55m-UD4 | Samsung EVO 500GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920
biostud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:21 PM   #4
Annon2255
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 227
Default

Congrats on the card.

Not to derail the the thread, but is PhysX really worth it? I'm looking to upgrade and find myself torn between Nvidia, which I've used for a long time, and the great price and performance coming from the 7950 and 7970s. The only thing I really see that I'll lose by going to AMD is PhysX. So, again, is it really worth it?
Annon2255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:32 PM   #5
Majcric
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 756
Default

Is 1100 your boost clock? if not, what is your boost clock?
Majcric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 03:39 PM   #6
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Majcric View Post
Is 1100 your boost clock? if not, what is your boost clock?
boost is 1178, but it hits 1254 according to evga precisionX
__________________
i5-750 @ 3.8Ghz | 4x2Gb | Gigabyte P55m-UD4 | Samsung EVO 500GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920
biostud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 03:42 PM   #7
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Annon2255 View Post
Congrats on the card.

Not to derail the the thread, but is PhysX really worth it? I'm looking to upgrade and find myself torn between Nvidia, which I've used for a long time, and the great price and performance coming from the 7950 and 7970s. The only thing I really see that I'll lose by going to AMD is PhysX. So, again, is it really worth it?
It's nice in borderlands, but I wouldn't have gotten this card if I had to pay more than a 7950.

The problem is not that the 7950 might be slightly faster that the 670, the problem is that the 670 is too expensive compared to what you get.
__________________
i5-750 @ 3.8Ghz | 4x2Gb | Gigabyte P55m-UD4 | Samsung EVO 500GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920
biostud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:04 PM   #8
badb0y
Diamond Member
 
badb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,776
Default

Nice catch, how much did you end up paying for it?
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.4 ghz with NH-D14 - GTX 780 SLI (Stock) - 12GB DDR3 1600 G.Skill Ripjaws RAM - SilverStone SG10 - NZXT Hale90 750W PSU -ASUS Maximus V Gene - Crucial MX100 512GB
Heatware: badboydiablo 23-0-0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil deGrasse Tyson
God is an ever-receding pocket of scientific ignorance.
badb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 11:30 PM   #9
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badb0y View Post
Nice catch, how much did you end up paying for it?
~$427, but the normal price in Denmark is ~$572 for the TOP version.
__________________
i5-750 @ 3.8Ghz | 4x2Gb | Gigabyte P55m-UD4 | Samsung EVO 500GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920
biostud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 11:34 PM   #10
badb0y
Diamond Member
 
badb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biostud View Post
~$427, but the normal price in Denmark is ~$572 for the TOP version.
Damn that's pretty good man, enjoy it.
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.4 ghz with NH-D14 - GTX 780 SLI (Stock) - 12GB DDR3 1600 G.Skill Ripjaws RAM - SilverStone SG10 - NZXT Hale90 750W PSU -ASUS Maximus V Gene - Crucial MX100 512GB
Heatware: badboydiablo 23-0-0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil deGrasse Tyson
God is an ever-receding pocket of scientific ignorance.
badb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 02:33 AM   #11
BD231
Diamond Member
 
BD231's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 9,527
Default

U sure its not a direct CU II flashed to the TOP bios?
__________________
2550k @ 4.7 - Gene-Z ROG - 7970 - 8gb @ 2133

DEATH TO GANGSTALKERS. MAY YOU ALL DIE A SLOW AND PAINFUL DEATH.
BD231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 04:04 AM   #12
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BD231 View Post
U sure its not a direct CU II flashed to the TOP bios?
The box says TOP, so unless the seller forged the box as well...
__________________
i5-750 @ 3.8Ghz | 4x2Gb | Gigabyte P55m-UD4 | Samsung EVO 500GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920
biostud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 05:31 AM   #13
BD231
Diamond Member
 
BD231's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 9,527
Default

Oh that's what you meant by case. Congrats.
__________________
2550k @ 4.7 - Gene-Z ROG - 7970 - 8gb @ 2133

DEATH TO GANGSTALKERS. MAY YOU ALL DIE A SLOW AND PAINFUL DEATH.

Last edited by BD231; 11-08-2012 at 05:34 AM.
BD231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 05:44 AM   #14
Borealis7
Platinum Member
 
Borealis7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,100
Default

it's interesting, the GTX670 pricing in europe...
where i live, the 670 costs 550$ BUT the GTX660 costs 275$ exactly half.
if i were to buy 2 GTX660s and SLI them i would get far better performance than a single 670 and even better than a 680 according to this:
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages...review,25.html
it sounds too good to be true. ofc you have to deal with all the issues that SLI brings and have supporting hardware to run the setup at full capacity and not choke it with a weak CPU. but just think about it...
__________________
Jesus Saves. The rest of you take 2d10 Fire Damage.

Rig:
i5 2500K @ 4.4GHz / Noctua NH-C14 | GA-Z77X-D3H | ZOTAC GTX680 | 8GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill | Samsung S23A700D 120Hz | SeaSonic 650W PSU
Borealis7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 06:55 AM   #15
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,900
Default

Borealis7 that's how it always is. The premium GPU's are never as good bang for buck as the midrange ones.

Also, regarding some of the charts in the link you posted, it looks like there is some serious CPU bottlenecking going on. The AVP and Sniper Elite V2 charts look fine but in Anno and Crysis 2, 660 SLI is nearly as fast as 680 TriSLI.
__________________
System specs

Last edited by lehtv; 11-08-2012 at 06:58 AM.
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:06 AM   #16
Borealis7
Platinum Member
 
Borealis7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,100
Default

true, but still it won't make a 680 faster than 660SLI
i'm seriously considering this for my potential Haswell build, pending on AMD's 8XXX series...
__________________
Jesus Saves. The rest of you take 2d10 Fire Damage.

Rig:
i5 2500K @ 4.4GHz / Noctua NH-C14 | GA-Z77X-D3H | ZOTAC GTX680 | 8GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill | Samsung S23A700D 120Hz | SeaSonic 650W PSU
Borealis7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:15 AM   #17
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Borealis7 View Post
it's interesting, the GTX670 pricing in europe...
where i live, the 670 costs 550$ BUT the GTX660 costs 275$ exactly half.
if i were to buy 2 GTX660s and SLI them i would get far better performance than a single 670 and even better than a 680 according to this:
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages...review,25.html
it sounds too good to be true. ofc you have to deal with all the issues that SLI brings and have supporting hardware to run the setup at full capacity and not choke it with a weak CPU. but just think about it...
Maybe if my computer wasn't situated in my living room in a mATX case

And price is too high for gtx 670 and 680, specially here in Europe.
__________________
i5-750 @ 3.8Ghz | 4x2Gb | Gigabyte P55m-UD4 | Samsung EVO 500GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920
biostud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 12:37 PM   #18
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,081
Default

Now the card does this:









__________________
i5-750 @ 3.8Ghz | 4x2Gb | Gigabyte P55m-UD4 | Samsung EVO 500GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920

Last edited by biostud; 11-12-2012 at 12:40 PM.
biostud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 12:52 PM   #19
Raghu
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 369
Default

^ At stock clocks? Can you try lower frequency on the RAM?

If that doesnt fix it, then time to RMA.
Raghu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 12:54 PM   #20
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raghu View Post
^ At stock clocks? Can you try lower frequency on the RAM?

If that doesnt fix it, then time to RMA.
stock clocks, it starts as soon as I boot into windows.
__________________
i5-750 @ 3.8Ghz | 4x2Gb | Gigabyte P55m-UD4 | Samsung EVO 500GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920
biostud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:25 PM   #21
Qbah
Diamond Member
 
Qbah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Posts: 3,380
Default

Wasn't the original TOP BIOS a bit too aggressive with the clocks? I remember something about it.

Try checking ASUS for an updated card BIOS and see if that helps?
__________________
Q9450 | GA-EP35-DS3R | 8GB RAM | X25-M | P182 | HX520W | Win8Pro 64bit | GTX670 | 40" 1080p HDTV | Z-2300
Qbah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:33 PM   #22
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qbah View Post
Wasn't the original TOP BIOS a bit too aggressive with the clocks? I remember something about it.

Try checking ASUS for an updated card BIOS and see if that helps?
I've tried, won't install says it's a incorrect videocard.
__________________
i5-750 @ 3.8Ghz | 4x2Gb | Gigabyte P55m-UD4 | Samsung EVO 500GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920
biostud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:36 PM   #23
aaksheytalwar
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,134
Default

A single 7970ghz is easily comparable to 660 sli and close to 660 ti sli considering that sli needs higher fps for a similar experience.
__________________
3770k @ 4.3 with H100i, Asus Z77 Deluxe, Samsung 30nm 4x4gb ddr3 @ 1866 9-9-9-28 1T, MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G, Coolermaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300 watts, Crucial M4 512gb, 3x Seagate 7200.14 3TB each
aaksheytalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:37 PM   #24
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6,975
Default

I wonder if it's over-heating. Have you checked the application of thermal paste?
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:37 PM   #25
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaksheytalwar View Post
A single 7970ghz is easily comparable to 660 sli and close to 660 ti sli considering that sli needs higher fps for a similar experience.
wrong thread?
__________________
i5-750 @ 3.8Ghz | 4x2Gb | Gigabyte P55m-UD4 | Samsung EVO 500GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920
biostud is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.